Cultural and language exchange, help me with DIY and gardening near Enschede, Netherlands

  • 17 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 abr 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hello there, my name is Alexandra. Together with my 12-year old cat Skippy, I live in a house with a garden in Enschede. Our place is a 25-minute walk from downtown and the train station. Just around the corner is a bus stop. A shopping center is within walking distance. Enschede is a medium-sized city with theater, music, cinema, museums and outdoor entertainment in summer time.

    The environment is rurally beautiful with forests and countryside. The border with Germany is very close. As a plus, there’s a good train connection to cities such as Münster and Dortmund.

    I’m a workawayer myself and I find this idea of cultural exchange a wonderful inspiration to open up my own home. I have many interests, play the piano (at beginner’s level, so I have to practice half an hour daily) and I sing in a semi-classical choir. I get my vegetables weekly from my local food farm: it’s always a surprise which recipes you can cook with them. At this farm, by the way, I volunteer several hours per week. If interested, you’re welcome to join my leisure activities (singing, farming). If not, it's totally okay. Other than that, I like to hike and travel.

    Normally I work during the week, though with varying hours because I’m a freelance language trainer and give in-company trainings. My schedule can change quite a bit, so you will have a lot of free time for yourself to explore the city, take the train to Amsterdam or elsewhere. I myself am open for a walk or bike ride together; or an evening at the cinema.

    To keep some personal flexibility, I prefer the shorter stays, like 1 to 2 weeks. Also, it works better for me if the time between establishing contact and your visit is no longer than two months. This is because I don't know what my schedule will look like in two months’ time.

    I don't drink alcohol, do drugs or smoke and would appreciate to host like-minded people.

    Helping time will be around 20 hours a week which give you enough time to explore the region and meet people.

    Sometimes I’d like to change things in my garden, so it would be great if you could help me, for instance planting the border. Some things are better done together. Often enough I’m too lazy to start myself. With someone’s help my motivation is really encouraged.

    I could use some help indoors with painting various wooden elements such as doors and wooden stairs. It’s basic maintenance. It would be nice if you’re good at this.

    Can you do other things as well? Let me know! It's important to me that you do things that suit you.
    If you’re by any chance someone who has knowledge of website optimization or online communication, then maybe I can use your help too. I’d also love to improve my English and French.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here’s what I offer in return. If you want to learn or improve your German or Dutch, I can help you with that. I can also learn you a lot about both cultures because as a German citizen, I’ve been living in The Netherlands for 20 years now.
    Depending on your interests, I have tips for you as cinema, theater, visiting other cities, exploring the region...
    I take care of the daily groceries and cook the evening meal according to your wishes. Of course you’re welcome to buy groceries for yourself.

  • Ayuda


    It’s basic maintenance. Sanding, painting wooden elements.
    In the garden: Gardening, preparing beds (this might be some strong tasks)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I like to practice English and French I'm interested in learning bascis of any other (your) language

  • Alojamiento


    There is an attic room all for yourself. Keep in mind that Skippy (the cat) likes to keep you company. Bathroom and toilet are shared, like the rest of the house. Since there is no dishwasher I like to use the motto "The person who cooks doesn't have to do the dishes". It's up to you to choose ;-)

    The attic room is your domain, but you can also chill in the living room downstairs (no TV here, but a piano). If you stay for more than a week, I will appreciate your help in housekeeping (vacuuming, keeping your own room clean, cleaning the bathroom). We agree of course who does what: obviously, you don't have to clean the whole house for me.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The most important thing for me is that there’s a good vibe in my house and that you feel comfortable here. I’d like to think of it as a kind of living community so to speak where everyone has their privacy when needed, but where you also engage in cultural exchanges to enrich your life.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    very good wi-fi connection

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 648721585922

Comentarios (1)



We are looking for a garderner to help us in Tiel, The Netherlands
Be part of our loving family in Beetsterzwaag, Netherlands