Help on a small organic Alpaca farm in upper Austria

Country

Austria

137 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/09/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an Austrian/Swiss family running a small hobby Alpaca farm in upper Austria. Sigrid and Thomas are retired artists/sculptors, I am their daughter Flora (26).
    On our little non-commercial farm we have 5 Alpakas, chickens and a few cats. Also we grow our own organic vegetables and produce hay for the animals in the summer.

    Since the farm has been taking a lot of space besides my parents actual profession as artists, I spend the summer and autumn helping them with the farmwork. There is always a great variety of everyday-tasks during the summer and autumn with which we would appreciate some extra help!

    Everyday-tasks on our farm are taking care of the alpacas (cleaning the barn, training them to walk on a leash and get used to humans, feed them, ...), cooking lunch/dinner, watering the gardens, harvesting vegetables and fruits, make products out of fruits (like jam, dried fruits, ...) and many more. Beside these tasks there are several projects to work on at the farm: one of the tasks for this summer is to create a small shop for hikers and produce some organic products that we can sell there. Another task is making an interactive information board about alpacas and our farm for families and children going past our place.

    The four main buildings of our farm are built in the 19th century and renovated by ourselfes when we bought this place over 30 years ago. As mentioned before, Sigrid and Thomas work as artists, with diverse materials. Thomas is professionally working with stone and wood, while Sigrid works with plenty of materials apart from stone, such as clay and other natural materials. We have a lot of workingplaces and plenty of professional equipment, so if you are interested in trying making small sculptures or other objects out of stone, wood and many other materials, you have the perfect opportunity here!

    We are open minded and would love to meet interresting people from all over the world. You will be a part of the family, eat with us, maybe share international dishes? :) We are looking forward to meeting you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am very much into traditional crafts and music. I have studied Norwegian folkmusic on the fiddle and know a lot about Scandinavian traditional crafts, which I am happy to teach you something about. I am very interested in cultural exchange and would be so pleased if you also played some music or knew some crafts from your country (or another one). Also, language exchange would be great; I can teach german and norwegian/basics in some other scandinavian languages and would be happy to learn something new!

    I would not consider our family as a traditional austrian or swiss family - we are not religious and don´t follow any specific national traditions. We are very open for other cultures and other ways of living and eager to learn something new.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Work depends on the seasons. But there is always work with the Alpacas, cleaning the barn, bringing them food and general animalcare. It would be great if you could spend some time with training the Alpacas getting used to headcollars and walking with a leash, so you can take walks with them.
    There also is plenty of work in the gardens, that need to be weeded and new plants need to be grown in spring. In summer the lawns need to be mawn and we need help with the hayproduction and harvesting berries and fruit.
    Additionally there always is work in the house with cleaning and so on. Cooking will be a shared chore, depending a bit on how keen you are on cooking. We would very much appreciate to have some help with cooking.
    There are always some projects to work on beside everyday tasks like mentioned before!

    It would be practical if you had a driving license, as public transportation is poor, so you can do some shopping as well and are more flexible if you want to go on a trip on the weekends.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Italiano: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are speaking an Austrian and a Swiss dialect at home and are happy to teach some of it to you! Also, teaching some standard German is possible. We are interested in all sorts of languages and would be happy if you shared your language with us if you feel like it! I would be happy if i could practice norwegian, danish, italian or spanish. But also all other languages are exciting for me.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our farm has four houses; depending on availability and season you will either have a room or a little flat in one of our houses. The rooms are heated by woodstoves. If we host more than one person, the workers will share these rooms, but there is enough space for everyone to have their privacy. You are not supposed to cook for yourselfes, unless you want. Usually we will share our meals. You don´t need to bring sleeping bags. You will have your own bathroom and we can provide towels.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you like to spend time in nature this is a good place for you! We live very near to a forest and many fields you can take walks in. You also have plenty of opportunities concerning art on our farm, if you are interrested. We can show you how to work with stone and wood and you can use the materials we have if you like. We can also show you how to spinn alpaka wool by hand. If you like making music - perfect! I am very active concerning music, i play different kinds of music on the fiddle and other instruments, and It would be great to have some other musicians here to play together!

    If you want to spend your time off in a city doing some shopping, visiting museums or going out you can take the train to the nearest really big city called Linz, where there are many opportunities. It takes a little more then an hour to get there, and you need a car (or a lift) to the trainstation to get there.

    We have two cars, if you want you can borrow one sometimes to visit some places on the weekends, or you can go by train. The nearest trainstation is 6km from our farm, only 10 minutes by car. To Vienna and Munich you need about 2,5hours by train, a little bit less to Salzburg. The nearest City is Ried im Innkreis, which is about 15 minutes by car.

    We also have some bikes you could borrow.

    We are smokers but do not smoke inside the house.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a parking place in front of the house that can be used for all kinds of vehicles.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    It depends on the pet! But if you have a pet you need to take with you, we can talk about it :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 645535551859