Lend a hand on a passionately organic land project full of vision in the Faraway North of New Zealand


Nueva Zelanda

177 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hello. We are Jo and Amira.

    Our land is in the gorgeous Faraway North of New Zealand.

    We open our home and hearts to co-create to support human community and symbiosis.

    We live in a bit of a magical place. It is a lush 50 acres featuring river, springs, bush, gardens, and clearings. We are working on many exciting projects on the land. The land is passionately maintained organically, with no sprays or toxic chemicals used.

    We grow many things and are continuously planting more, so there is much to do on the land! We have a large amount of invasive plant species to manage also. Currently we are maintaining the garden and preparing beds for planting. This involves collecting Horse poo, making compost, weeding, digging, and planting.

    We are Artists and Musicians and are always willing to teach our skills when we can make the time. We have taught Felting, woodwork, and music to many visitors.

    This is land we are developing to be shared and have Roundhouse courses and all sorts in the vision plan. (Jo builds roundhouses and teaches.) There will be building projects on from time to time.

    We are creative and fairly easy going, while being high integrity and particular about the way we live and work. Very committed to an Organic, natural lifestyle. We have a Gluten free, plant based, organic diet and mainly organic or at the least spray free food home and eat very healthy. We make many things from scratch and can pass on some ideas and recipes for healthy food. We are passionate about beneficial Herbs, and have knowledge to offer in this area also.

    We have five beautiful horses. One is a new addition, just born in October! We are working with them the natural way. They also provide great compost. This is one of the perpetual jobs on the land. We also have 3 cats who are a key part of the family and organic pest control. (We cannot host people with cat allergies.) We also have a whole lot of birds and wild life on the land.
    The land features a private campground with a covered kitchen, compost toilet, and outdoor fire shower and bath for our guests. We provide accommodation in the form of tents. Great if you have your own accommodation such as van or camper.
    We are full time business owners working towards the utmost in sustainability with our Kombucha business.
    This land is cigarette, hard drug, and alcohol free.

    We have a growing vegetable garden and many fruit trees, as well as big patches of medicinal herbs that need harvesting regularly.

    We are making renovations and building a new Kombuchery in the future. Constant building projects of a creative nature happening. Jo is an inventor and designer, as well as wood worker. He likes to build with others.

    Our home easily becomes a gathering place. We do ask for high amount of respect and privacy around this being our home and sanctuary. We also ask for respect of our space and place.

    Internet use is limited. We prefer not to have people on the internet on gadgets in our private space but we have internet available at certain times and there is internet down the road at the local shop. If you need a lot of internet time, there may be a more suitable place for your visit. Please do not come expecting to spend your evenings on a gadget searching for your next place. We encourage healthy living and eating while enjoying your stay here. We provide great food and herbal medicine.

    We prefer people with patience, self awareness, and who seek to share an organic lifestyle and be part of a family style work philosophy. We need people who aren't afraid of physical work, as there are invasive weeds to pull, horse poo to collect, and building jobs to do. Also, domestic chores and garden work. We share most meals and cooking is a part of sharing life together. Healthy eating is a must here and cooking/ food prep skills are welcome.

    We are currently also seeking people experienced with Horses, particularly natural horse work. We are seeking carpenters and builders or those willing to learn. Tree work is a bonus. Passionate gardeners, domestic sorters, lovers of the outdoors, and people with a passion for learning and positive attitude are invited. Knowledge of Permaculture as a lifestyle is also a bonus!

    Thanks for your interest!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are Artists and Musicians as well as small business owners. We teach Felt making, Vocals, Guitar, Percussion, Painting, and Sculpture. Jo builds reciprocal frame Roundhouses and bamboo structures. He is keen to pass on this knowledge. We are passionate Kombucha brewers and fermenters willing to share our knowledge. We can offer knowledge and information about beneficial Herbs, organic living, and many other things.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We have organic gardens going and need help with maintenance, planting and harvesting. We have a large amount of invasive plant species to manage also.

    We have 5 horses. All untrained. Two are wild mustered, but close to tame. The others are tame, but hasn't been started. One is a foal. They are very people friendly. We would like to have help with the horses, as well as input training them the natural horsey way.
    We have a vegetable garden and many fruit trees, as well as big patches of medicinal herbs that need harvesting regularly. With the harvesting of herbs, we pass on knowledge of the medicine. We always have new beds to create and trees to plant.

    We have a few current building projects that require assistance. Jo likes building with others and is very creative and inventive. He is a great teacher and is happy to pass on his skills.

    We also need help in the domestic department, as we have a lot going on and things can get away from us. We are a gluten free and plant based household. Cooking rosters are a usual around here. Help with sorting and tidying is always a bonus.

    From time to time help with creative projects such as Felt making and sculpture is appreciated. We are open to teaching our skills in exchange for this help.

    Thanks for your interest!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a great private campground with a covered kitchen, compost toilet, and fire shower and bath. The kitchen space is self contained in the campground. We have a large and small tent available. There are spaces for vans, caravans, and house trucks. We provide healthy, high quality organic or spray free foods. We share meals in the house and eat organically and gluten free. The household is gluten, dairy, and pesticide food free. The campground is more relaxed with food restrictions, although we always require pesticide free food, as our compost is organic. We ask all guests to pack out what you bring in. If you bring food here, please take the packaging when you leave. These are the kind of steps we are taking here for self responsibility.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The beach is 20 minutes from our home. River runs through our land. Down the road is a waterfall and beautiful swim hole. We do 3 or 4 markets per week which are in Kerikeri, Bay of Islands, and Kaitaia. We are very organic in our home and ask for that to be practiced by all. This means no chemical food, hygiene products and such. We offer alternatives. This is a cigarette and alcohol free land. We have lots of Kombucha on offer.

    Our internet access is very slow. We prefer not to have gadgets on in our space much of the time. There is an internet place 7ks down the road. You can get basic emails and communications through ethernet. If you need a lot of internet time, there may be a better place for your visit. We encourage healthy living and eating while enjoying your stay here.

    We go to town two days a week minimum and can take people with us. We go to the local markets every weekend with our Kombucha.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 645268698417