Inviting DIYers to our townhouse in the heart of Veliko Tarnovo

Country

Bulgaria

actualizado  

6 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple from Belgium and India crafting a life for ourselves in Bulgaria. New to Workaway but been hosting people via another website since over 10 years now.

    I am Karishma- an Indian living with my husband Arne (A Belgian) in a 110-year-old revival house in the Picturesque area Lyaskovets in Veliko Tarnovo region (14 km and 15-minute bus ride from our place in Lyaskovets to the main City of Veliko Tarnovo. We also adopted an 11-month-old street dog- Burphy who completes our current happy family.

    Cooking is my first love and eating and feeding are my second. Hence they go very well with each other :) While me and Arne both have hosted and surfed galore on Couchsurfing (you can ask us for the link to check out the references ) over the last 10 years, we are now moving away from it, and looking at hosting people more long term rather than for a day or two.

    What we're looking for:

    Updated 8th June: Starting Mid-June (or even earlier( -June, our Veliko Tarnovo townhouse projects needs quite some love and involves clearing out the backyard of overgrowing grapevine and well, weeds and then replacing them with plants. If you like to see a small space transform in front of your eyes and don't mind getting your hands dirty, you will love this. Since the overall space is not massive, lot of ground can be covered with basic tweaks with a short period.

    You will be able to have full privacy since we only visit the place temporarily and will be free to explore the many spots around this old medical town. However since we do not always live there, you may be on your own multiple days and
    do your own cooking (happy to provide a stocked fridge as per your basic dietary needs)

    As a separate project, we are also looking for volunteers who want to help with electricals and basic woodworking (we have the tools) in our tiny house project in the yard of our permanent home with a garden in Lyaskovets. It is 14kms away from Veliko Tarnovo. We can give you a ride to Veliko Tarnovo when we go there every Fridays as well.

    This tiny house has the house part completed but is yet to be connected to electricity, (the wires are installed) and needs someone handy with power tools to convert it into a home. Some basic shelves and building a basic bed (which we will be involved in, and it will be ready for future Workawayers and couchsurfers :)

    BUT the most important thing: you should LIKE to help 2-3 hours a day mostly outside).
    Some knowledge of general maintenance is also helpful. We ask all our volunteers not to smoke inside the house (only outside in the garden) outside

    We would like to highlight a few things in advance:
    - As a cross-cultural couple- you will receive hospitality which will be a mashup of cultures and food diversity
    - We are digital nomads ourselves and live and work online, in the main house in Lyaskovets during the weekdays where you shall also live unless you prefer to stay in our townhouse and help out there.
    - We are not an ecological farm and not skilled in permaculture.
    - We are flexible with seasons- In summer you can be involved the art of Building, execute your own ideas. In winter, we can engage in other activities inside the house.
    - We can not guarantee that you can always work with others or alone. All depends on the season, weather, and our circumstances
    - We can have varied tasks, sometimes exciting, sometimes maybe boring.
    - We cultivate friendly relations with volunteers -the idea is to meet other travelers for a sustained amount of time each and create something lasting together with an exchange of culture and ideas,.

    If the above fits your vibe- you are welcome!

    If you are interested PLEASE send us some information about you and why living with us for a short while will be valuable. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Language- We speak 6 languages together- Me- Hindi, English, Bengali, and Arne- Dutch, French, English, Bulgarian.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help in completion of the small studio guest space (one apart from where you would be staying)

    At the moment- as of 20th March

    Options one and most urgent:
    In Lyaskovets:
    - finishing the internal flooring of the tiny house to accommodate other workawayers. The basic outer walls (1 wall currently left) are going to be built by the 25th of March.

    We would appreciate people who can help us with the internal part-- finish the internal walls, the floors, the insulation, and some finishing work.

    Option 2: Not so urgent but since a lot of people In Veliko Tarnovo like to visit Veliko Tarnovo- we can offer our small townhouse located in the old town of Veliko Tarnovo (near Samovodska Charshia) to stay in and explore the city on the weekends.

    We do not expect one person to be able to help in all, but depending upon capabilities, tackle what is possible.
    Hence we are excited to host work away Volunteers who have a bit of expertise and knowledge in Construction including Flooring because we don't know everything about DIY and building...

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Bengali (Bangla): Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido
    Bulgarian: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are right in the middle of the country. If you like nature, walking, biking, birdwatching, etc... this is the perfect place. The city of Veliko Tarnovo- the Medieval capital of Bulgaria is a 15-minute bus ride away from our main home in Lyaskovets.

    We have several accommodations for our helpers, depending on the weather and if we have guests or not.
    You can choose between 3 options- 2 of which are currently active:
    1. ACTIVE: Live in the Countryside with us in Lyaskovets: In our 110 revival house (Picture of the house and the room in the photo section) with your own Private Bathroom.
    2. CONSTRUCTION UNDERWAY AND NOT Currently open for living: Live in a Tiny House in our backyard of the above house (Under construction currently and where we need a majority of help) with a private bathroom inside the main house (Picture added in the photo section)
    3. This is currently a postponed project but we can host you here for weekends: Live in the heart of the city: Our small 3-floor bedroom Veliko Tarnovo House which is also sometimes our weekend home- and is a renovation project ( Gorgeous and unobstructed view of Tsaravets Fortress and 5 minutes walk away from the Old centre-Samovodska Charshia street) with a shared kitchen and bathroom depending upon if we are staying there to work on the house or not. However, since we do not live here, while we are happy to host you for the weekend,we cannot offer food in this space and that has to be something you will have to take care of.

    All three options above have at least one complete Kitchen, bathroom, and electricity and heating.

    We are nonvegetarians but I do cook a lot of Vegetarian food and am open to learning more and teaching where I can :)
    Meals can be together, I love cooking Indian food and Arne rustles up great pastas. We also enjoy experimenting with others cuisines.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You can explore the whole country from here alone via the Bulgarian Railway. There are lots of Waterfalls, hikes, nearby. Veliko Tarnovo is 14 kms away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    As digital nomads ourselves- we understand the importance and requirements that come with the territory. We have fast internet for this and can set you up with a work corner in the house as well.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Parking of cars and Campervans is easily possible outside the house- we live in a quite part of the town.- 100 meters away from our front gate- since we live down a lane.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    This is possible but with prior discussion to ensure all pets are comfortable. :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 633129286845