Join me in creating a beautiful home in the Archipelago of Southern Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 450 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 26 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    I am a young woman bubbling with energy, creativity and inspiration. I'm passionate about creating harmony and kindness within myself, my life-style and with my friends and family.

    In 2017 I embarked upon my dream! Building a beautiful house and home in the Archipelago of Southern Finland. The house will be built using natural and recycled materials as much as possible. A roundwood timber frame with a reciprocal roof, natural stone foundation, strawbale insulated and clay covered walls. I have been hosting volunteer guests since 2018 and it has turned out to be a wonderfully enriching experience!

    Now in 2023 the main house of Loitsukallio (that is the name of my place) stands as a bare timber frame with the foundation of the fireplace ready and the ceiling nearly ready. I have a huge goal in mind for this year, as I wish to have the house "livable" before the next winter. This means finishing the roof, building the chimney, fireplace and walls with the clay cover at least on the outside and the first floor with insulation.

    So this year I am particularly calling out to those workawayers who are skilled in building and preferably ones who wish to stay for more than two weeks. The main building months are May till September. There is also help needed in cooking, cleaning and some gardening.

    So when writing a message please let me know what kind of work you are interested/skilled in. :)

    The week will have 5 days with work. About 5-6 hours a day. These 5 days include breakfast and lunch. During weekends there will be food in the house to use for cooking and if we all like we can cook and eat together on those days too. The food will be vegan or vegetarian and the ingredients will include harvest from our garden and forest.

    During your stay it is possible to enjoy the peace of the forest, the heat of the sauna, sitting by a campfire, heart-sharing circle, yoga or playing music together or alone. I have a lovely guitar and love singing! It will depend on what we are interested in enjoying together. There is also a lovely lake 3 km from the place for swimming in the summer. I live as part of a community village, about 70 inhabitants, so meeting other community members and joining in community activities may be possible to.

    For those who are interested I have written a blog about the building project and I can send the link on request. The blog is in Finnish but with lots of photos.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    A visitor may experience the beauty of the Finnish archipelago, the relative silence and calmness.
    The fresh air and beautiful sounds of the forest.
    Visitors will get to experience the Finnich sauna as well as locally and personally grown food.
    I am happy to share my life experiences and all I have learned about natural building.
    If a visitor requests I am happy to speak Finnish to them. :)

  • Ayuda


    There are lots of different ways to help out in the project such as:
    -Building with wood
    -Handing me materials while I build
    -Moving big and small rocks and building walls
    -Carrying lots of building materials
    -Repairing old windows
    -Painting windows and doors
    -Cleaning the building site and house
    -Chopping & stacking firewood
    -Cooking, cleaning, gardening

    There are tasks for every level of craftmanship! :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Volunteers can choose between a few sleeping options.
    1st option is sleeping in the main house that I currently live in in. I have a small room for myself and I can host a few guests in the living room. There is currently one bed in the room and another mattress.
    2nd option if it is warm enough (which in summer it probably will be) is outside in one of the outdoor buildings. It is not heated but I have lots of warm blankets to borrow.
    3rd option is a tent in the forest at Loitsukallio (the building site). At Loitsukallio there is a campfire spot and an outhouse toilet.

    Workawayers will primarily be dinning with me. I will provide vegetarian food or ingredients for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Workawayers will need to buy their own food for snacks . There is a small village shop very near by and bigger food shopping is done about once a week in town by car.
    There is an ok shower in the house and a sauna where one can wash with warm water and/or hot sauna.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I live in a community village, half and hour from Naantali and 1 hour from Turku.
    Visitors may wish to spend their free time at various village events.
    If it is summer swimming, cycling and sitting outside by the fire are nice past times.
    If one wishes to visit the town or city, busses go every weekday and hitchhiking to town is something I encourage, because it works wonderfully here, especially in summer.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have had a few volunteers stay in a campervan at the building site. So it is possible.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 619197351523

Comentarios (16)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Experience relaxing and a simple life in the pure nature of Finland
Join us in the country and help with gardening, renovation projects and childcare in Suomusjärvi, Finland