Build better communities with us in Lusaka, Zambia

Country

Zambia

33 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Vanessa, 25year old Zambian. I am a single mum of a cheerful 2year old girl, student on the self study route and founder of the foundation; a legally registered nonprofit nongovernmental organization. We are disability inclusive and all our activities and premises are a discrimination free zone, this means we work with and serve people from various walks of life.

    AIM
    The Foundation will be a link between the health care system and the hard to reach rural population as well as the urban poor through a basic “mobile health care and information” scheme. In all our programs, we prioritize the teenage mother and her child/children as well as orphans and vulnerable children as the prime beneficiary, such programs may include counseling, advocacy and nutrition, skills training and capacity building. We aim to promote and protect the rights of people living with HIV, advocate for the rights of the disabled and create opportunities for the less privileged. In doing so we hope to give our beneficiaries a chance to realize their worth and reach their maximum potential in our society and community in which they live.

    OUR MISSION STATEMENT
    Standing in unity and love to improve lives one heart at a time.

    OUR TARGET GROUPS
    1. Teenage Mothers
    2. Incarcerated community
    3. Victims of child marriage
    4. School leavers
    5. HIV/AIDS community
    5.1 HIV/AIDS in the workplace
    5.2 HIV/AIDS and special needs

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our organization serves the urban poor and rural underprivileged sectors of our society; volunteering with us will give you the opportunity to experience diverse cultures and learn as many as 72 languages, 20 annual traditional ceremonies and taste home cooked Zambian cuisines. Zambia is a safe and peaceful country rich in minerals and culture with 10 provinces assigned into 72 districts with beautiful languages and beautiful people. It is also the home of the Mighty Victoria falls locally known as Mosi-o-tunya "the smoke that thunders" one of the worlds natural wonders. We have wildlife in 20 national parks. We have 3 major river, many smaller rivers, vast lakes and the enormous man made Kariba dam. Other than the tourist factor associated with volunteering in Zambia, there is a feeling of gratitude and fulfilment in changing lives that you can only experience through the help you render. We are excited and absolutely looking forward to meeting you!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    FUNDRAISING: Our foundation is non funded, we basically manage our activities through contributions and donations from volunteers and well wishers. My personal income has been a great source of support to the foundation but of course that means foregoing certain personal needs and responsibilities owed to my family. We need all the help we can get in resource mobilization in order to scale up our activities and reach our goal. We not only need financial but technical assistance too. Kindly message me for more information or what we need.

    GARDENING: We started a nursery garden with a variety of vegetables, we desperately need people with agricultural knowledge to farm and care for a potion of land that we have dedicated to our nutrition for all project. We hope to grow this into a commercial venture to support the foundation.

    ANIMAL CARE: We intend to rare dairy cattle and other animals both for consumption and commercial purposes. We need expert help in breeding and treating diseases. This includes poultry.

    DIY BUILDING: Earth bag building, DIY crafts and furniture, recreational facilities i.e. swimming pool, play park etc.

    SKILLS: Leather tanning and leather products such as shoes, bags and belts. Designing and sewing clothes. Starching, embroidery and weaving of fabric and other materials. Weaving of baskets and mats etc

    Many more, your ideas are more than welcome.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Depending on the type of help you rendering, you may be accommodated in the city of Lusaka or Chongwe town.

    LUSAKA: a shared room with 2 beds, to be occupied by a maximum of 2 people. This is for administrative volunteers who need easy access to government offices and relevant administrative facilities.
    AMENITIES
    -3 meals per day
    -Electricity with backup
    -WiFi
    -office desk and printer
    -running water (hot water available)
    -full bathroom with standing shower
    -full kitchen
    -Patio
    -Gym (15minutes away)
    -TV (DStv) (Netflix on personal gadget)
    -Blow drier
    -House keeping
    -Hand washed laundry and steam iron
    -closet
    -parking

    CHONGWE: A shared room with 2 beds, accommodates a maximum of 2 people. Suitable for hands on volunteers i.e. gardening, animal care and health related volunteers.
    AMENITIES
    -3 meals per day
    -Solar powered lighting
    -Solar/genset powered charging station
    -WiFi and office desk
    -Running water (hot water not available)
    -Kitchenette with brai stand
    -Fresh picked vegetables
    -Blow drier
    -Pool table and Deck of cards
    -Netflix on personal gadget
    -Parking

    Meals are provided. Kindly note that you are required to carry your own items for personal hygiene.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your free time you may explore the city, visit the national parks and other tourist attractions such as the kariba dam and victoria falls. mode of transport is public transport or hired cars. you may also be interested in activities such as zip linning, swimming, canoeing, scuba diving, hicking, fishing, sports, socializing with a game of pool or a deck of cards, local events and party. Or simply catch up with your favourite TV shows on Netflix.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We would absolutely host a digital nomad, this way we everyone regardless of their lifestyle get the opportunity to be a part of our community.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We are situated on a fairly large sized property and there is plenty of space for campervans and more.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have three friendly dogs, their names are Gad, Bear and Sky. They'd be happy to make new friends. We are currently constructing them a house with room for more.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 617434235398