Enjoy a language exchange and learn new skills with our German/English family in North Devon, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

537 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    35  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    56.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We moved to Devon more than 8 years ago. The house we bought needed lots of renovation work, which we are slowly doing. I had to learn the hard way, that this is a kind of "life" project. Our 4 children have grown up, and apart from Lars, our youngest son, aged 17, have all their own life elsewhere.

    We are Germans, living in England since 26 years. That means, that our children speak very good English, while my husband and I have an accent, and although our English is not too bad, it is definitely not native. The culture in our household is a bit mixed, so you get the chance to sniff a bit of English and German culture at ours!
    My husband Michael is a medical doctor. I, Beate, am a care-giver doing some night shifts in elderly peoples homes and want to return to build up my art therapy business. During day-time I work on the farm and on the house. Lars is mainly working as an arborist: felling and processing trees; and secondly still a student at college.

    Our house with barn and stable is situated in the outskirts of Barnstaple, in beautiful countryside. We share our house with a friendly dog and a cat, and the garden with many chickens, geese and ducks. I am building up a small hobby farm, with sheep, weaner pigs and the poultry. Our garden is neglected, but still quite beautiful, and we get a lot of fruit from it.

    Barnstaple is close to several beaches, some of which are supreme surfing beaches, some are fantastic for walks and or swimming, kite surfing etc. They are reachable by bus or bike, (for those strong legged ones, we can provide bicycles!) Our sons sail, surf and windsurf, weather permitting, not hardcore! Where the opportunities arises, it may be possible for you to have a go at these, and usually we invite you along to outings, when we do them. (Our building project is very time consuming, so independence is appreciated) We cannot, however, provide lifts everyday!

    We would love to get help with some small building tasks at the house and some chores in and around the house. We need help in the garden, and sometimes farm-related help. Again, we don't expect you to have any previous knowledge, just the willingness to help, to get dirty, and to get involved.
    We offer a family setting, shared meals, and conversations. If you are trying to learn English or German as a foreign language, we are quite patient and willing to help you. We look forward to meeting you!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Getting a glimpse of normal family life in a German/ English household. Learn English or German if wanted and experience semi rural life. You will be practically involved in problem solving, DIY tasks and almost certainly learn new skills.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As well as general gardening tasks, we will harvest and process our fruits of the garden. During autumn we collect lots of apples and press apple juice. We have built an extension to the house and need to finish decorating and some small general building tasks. We have sheep and sometimes pigs in the field and loads of poultry. All tasks are "hands-on", but you don't need to be a specialist. We will teach you or learn together! We expect you to be willing to learn and engage in new tasks, take on responsibilities and most importantly: show initiative.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will sleep either in our caravan in the garden or in the guest room in the house. You will be part of our family meal times and share the bathroom and the living space with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Barnstaple is a nice little town in North Devon, offering a wide range of shops, a leisure centre and along the river lots of bird wild life to watch. The beaches are within 15 to 30 mins car drive, some are reachable by public transport. Exeter and Bristol are interesting university towns, which are reachable by train from Barnstaple. Dartmoor and Exmoor are as well within reach, but easier with a car. Barnstaple's train station offers mostly hourly trains to and from Exeter. Exeter has an international airport, although very small. Gatwick and Heathrow and Bristol have train connections to Exeter. The coach companies "National Express" and "Mega bus" go to Barnstaple too. Car sharing could sometimes be arranged through companies like "Blabla car" or face books "Pasty connection". If you come by plane, it would be advisable to find an early flight arrival in order to manage the journey in one day! Otherwise you can stay some time in a hostel or similar. Both Bristol and London are interesting cities. We usually have a continental type breakfast and cooked evening meals, which we normally share. Our house has internet connection but no TV licence.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    In the yard

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 613671779141