Help with my project restore land and re-wild naturally in Little Swanport, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

4 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/02/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello travelers! I’m Derek and I’m inviting you to join with me to create a home paradise on a large (1,200 acres) and privately owned conservation reserve. I purchased it over a decade now and it’s been a joy to watch a previously overgrazed sheep farm re-wild naturally. Come and enjoy the place and be a part of the experience! I’m a marine mammal biologist and consult internationally on conservation and welfare projects, so love the natural world passionately. If you’re also that way inclined and willing to put in a small amount of required work, then you’ll be free to explore the forests, the hills, gullies and sedgy plains, the river with its gorgeous swimming waterholes and rocky outcrops for sunbathing, plus the breathtaking views of the east coast from the high ground at your leisure and with complete privacy!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I’ve travelled extensively for work and leisure (and have lived in South Africa, India, NZ, the UK and US) and invite people from all corners of the globe! I’m fascinated by all cultures and hope to impart deep knowledge of the landscape and ecosystems, the natural and human history, the contemporary social and conservation challenges. I look forward to the exchange of ideas through thoughtful conversation. I’m also a capable amateur builder and gardener, so I look forward to the exchange of practical skills! You’ll have plenty of privacy, but no doubt we’ll catch up on occasion for a chat, by the river or around a camp fire!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I’m looking for capable singles and couples who have the ability to work sometimes alongside me but often independently, following a task list for the day. Depending on weather and season, there will be a variety of building projects (so being handy with power tools and understanding building processes is a big plus), but also roadside maintenance and gardening (so green thumbs will be welcomed!). But there’s an endless list of things to do, so tell me about your capabilities and interests, as I’m sure there will be something you can do!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Hindi: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    At present there are two ways to approach this. There’s a well equipped and very tidy and clean caravan, with a nearby composting toilet and bath house, although visitors are welcome to bring their own caravan/camper/tent and be independent. Either way, visitors will need to bring their own food and cook themselves. Those deciding to use the accommodation and facilities provided would be asked to work 4 hours per day, while those providing their own would be asked to work 2 hours per day.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Happy to have one well behaved dog that will get along with my well behaved older dog.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2 to 4, depending on accommodation used


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 612549243214