Come and help us with projects on a one acre micro-farm in beautiful Mount Shasta, CA, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

130 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, my name is Sherril, my husband Kim and I live on a one-acre micro-farm with our two dogs, 2 cats, and chickens in beautiful Mount Shasta, CA. Mount Shasta is a small, rural town of 3,500 population located on the forested slopes of volcanic Mount Shasta in Northern California about an hour south of the Oregon border. Our home is right on the edge of the town/forest boundary and about one mile to the town center. I manage the garden, greenhouse, animals, and help Kim in his consulting business. Kim is a consulting ecologist and runs his business from home. We have two grown children that have fledged the nest.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to participate in a variety of useful homestead and practical skills. These include how to plant, grow and harvest foods from a garden, raise poultry, can foods, make soap and work on construction projects. More specifically things we do include, composting green waste, gardening in raised beds, irrigation using rain capture, germinating and starting plants in a greenhouse and transplanting, drying and canning foods, feeding and watering a chicken and goose flock for both eggs and meat, care of pets, pruning fruit trees, pulling weeds, cutting and splitting wood for winter use. This summer we will be building fences, more garden trellises and painting our house.

    Other cultural activities include the variety of things going on in the town and area around Mount Shasta. These include a strong spiritual/psychic energy element that has drawn over 100 different religious or spiritual groups to the town and draws spiritual seekers from around the globe. The mountain itself is a recreational draw for climbers, back country skiing, and day trips. The local rivers: the Upper Sacramento, the McCloud, Klamath are world-class trout, steelhead, and salmon rivers and offer whitewater rafting and kayaking. The area is also known for it rock-climbing and mountain biking. Within a 100-mile radius are eight wilderness areas and the two national wildlife refuges offering bird-watching and hunting. Mount Shasta a 14,179-foot high strato-volcano with seven active glaciers. The nearby Klamath Range rises to over 9,000 and is home to the highest conifer tree species diversity on the planet and has a variety of endemic plants based on the unique geology of the area. There are a number of glacial carved lakes to explore and the Pacific Crest Trail runs along the ridge tops. There are a number of active Native American tribes in the area. And the area to the west is very remote and has legends of Bigfoot sightings.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for one or two energetic folks to help us with chores and projects around the property such as: general maintenance, cleanup and repairs, building fences, gardening, setting up water systems, raising poultry, painting, and updating an older bus conversion. Any experience with gardening or construction would be helpful but in no way necessary, we are happy to share our experience and and help you learn new skills.

    We are asking for a two week minimum stay from helpers. This allows for time to complete a project. We prefer to work collectively on projects in the morning for about 4-5 hours per day, five-days per week.

    Due to our weather, we don't have outdoor projects going on during the months November - February. But, we often have a need for pet and house sitting during those months.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying a converted, 40-foot long, school bus that is a bit funky but super cozy.

    It is completely self-contained with hot and cold running water, water pressure is on the low side but it is enough to do what needs to be done, electricity, shower, small refrigerator, gas range and composting toilet. I repeat, the bus has a composting toilet. This means that you must be willing to manage your own waste. If you are unfamiliar with composting toilets, please do some research. We will give you guidance and all the supplies needed, but you will be responsible for emptying your waste and helping to maintain the human manure compost pile.

    The bus is suitable for one person, a couple, or two people that are comfortable sharing a small space. There is one full sized bed and a couch that can sleep one person. The bus is located in a semi-private setting amongst our big trees on the edge of our property. The bus has its own entrance and off-street parking available next to the bus.

    In the photos you will see the painted bus we call, Wilma. The interior pictures of Wilma are also included in the photo album. We are in the process of switching to a different composting toilet setup and will update that photo when we are finished.

    We provide enough food for 3 basic meals a day for you to cook on your own in the bus. We do like to have an occasional shared meal to relax and visit when it works for everyone. The bus is supplied with basic staples: such as rice, beans, grains, pasta, cooking oils, spices. You will have access to fresh eggs, sprouts, microgreens and veggies if they are in season. If we do not have veggies available here on the property, we will get them from a local or other reliable source. Any additional groceries or special treats can be purchased by you in town. The stores are one-mile from our house. We provide toilet paper, towels, soaps and other cleaning supplies.

    There is Wi-fi on the property, but access within the bus can be limited. We do not have a land-line phone, but expect that visitors will generally use their own cell phones.

    There is no public transportation in town. If you wish to explore further out such as hiking forest trails, the mountain, or lakes and rivers, you should arrange your own transportation.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live a pretty quiet life here and ask that you respect that. Our property is within walking distance of downtown but if you plan to explore the surrounding areas you will need your own vehicle. There is no public transportation.

    We do offer private off-street parking.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 586496639126