Learn and practice organic gardening in Sastamala, Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 132 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 3 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    We are a biochemist and engineer couple in their 40s, who after having travelled and volunteered a lot, found a new path in life to follow.
    We learnt plenty during our volunteering tours, and we would like to give something back.
    We would love to host people with open minds and souls, willing to help in the first steps into our new lifestyle. Who knows, maybe it turns out to be also your path!

    We want to live surrounded by forest, a slow life, tending to self-sufficiency and in deep respect, especially to nature and environment.
    So we got an antique abandoned wooden house, and we have been fixing it to make it more comfortable to live in, without disturbing the nature around. There is 1,5ha of land in which we set self-made greenhouses and we are experimenting in growing our food using ideas of permaculture/ companion planting.

    We use mostly recycled materials and do most of things with our hands, improvising, solving and learning on the way.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn farm skills & creativity when more or less everything is done with recycled material. You can also learn about Finnish countryside life & culture as well as our way of living. You can train your Spanish, Finnish or Labrador skills :)

  • Ayuda


    There are lots of projects always going on. From building / upcycling to gardening / greenhouse, general tidying, painting, walking the dog, etc. Let's see what is going on and what interests you!
    ..some tasks might be physically demanding, but we won't ask you to do anything we won't do.
    5hs/5days/week in exchange for accommodation and food. On your days off we can offer you a ride to the bus stop (bus going to Tampere or to Pori) or even taking you to Tampere if we need to drive there.
    Planned projects for summer 2023: Erecting a greenhouse, this time a big one, and all the work that is needed inside. Hopefully we would get to organizing our barn, the roof needs lots of work. Roofwork won't be asked from the volunteers, though. Our natural pond still needs work on it. Then there is a bunch of small things in the garden, the greenhouses, etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We can offer accommodation in a modest room outside of the house, we also have a caravan parked in the patio, or a parking spot for your campervan. We have electricity, water from the well (biologic way of waste water handling.) and dry-toilettes.. We have a shower and traditional sauna, to experience in a very Finnish way!

    Our house is surrounded by nature and there are good hiking possibilities, natural parks nearby, a small village with services a bit over 1km from us, lake and little swimming beach, etc. We can lend a bike for you. Tampere city is 40min away to the east, Pori with its nice Yyteri beach a little further to the west.

    We try to eat healthy and ethically, but we don't have enough time or money to cook specific diets differently. Basically "we eat what we have''.

    Please note, we are really happy to provide you with fresh, healthy, but basic food, as we eat ourselves. If you require an expensive/specific diet, special foods or wish to eat abnormal quantities of anything then we kindly ask that you buy these yourself. Cooking & washing dishes shared equally among everyone - we expect you to participate.

    We have a communal lunch together on working days. Meal time is a very important part of the day, so please join us.

    Please note the location is remote. We take volunteers for about a week at a time. This is not for you if you like to party.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We use internet from our mobile phones, but we will be able to figure out how to share the connection. We have 4G.

    We generally take volunteers for about one week at a time.

    We like a balance between shared & private time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We only have 4G internet connection.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Plenty of space. Tanks can be emptied about 15 km from here.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Our dog has to approve the visitors :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 582273667664

Comentarios (6)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help out at our hundred year old ranch with construction, maintenance and around the house in Satakunta, Finland
Help with looking after my home and permaculture garden while gaining an ecological mindset in Rovaniemi, Finland