Help make a difference at our permaculture project in Anton, Panama

  • Panamá
  • 303 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 16 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más



  • Descripción


    I firmly believe that we need to change how we live on this planet if we want to leave a planet for future generations. So, I'm founding an EcoVillage and am looking for support with two key areas (medium to long term) as well as a few small projects.

    I'm from the US, living in Panama for the past 18 years and have done a bit of traveling. I have a background in Sustainable Community Development, Business, Economics, and in Training / Development (facilitating learning). I also have a Permaculture Design Certificate.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a rural farming community, 20 minutes from a small town which is outside of the normal 'tourist' areas, so when you come here you experience 'the real Panama'. There are lots of places nearby to visit by public transportation - mountains, beaches, other small towns, etc. There are touristy beaches and remote beaches. Mountain trails to waterfalls that you need to find a local person to guide you to, and well-marked tourist areas in the mountains. The town itself is a friendly place - people love to sit out and chat in the evening when the sun goes down. There's a local museum, park, fresh veggie/meat/fish market. It's a pretty cool place. Oh and when the town parties -- it really parties!

    Personally - I'm from the US so that's my cultural background but have lived/traveled/worked in Latin America for most of my life. I speak fluent Spanish and nearly fluent Portuguese (Brazilian), understand French & German. I'd love to share / study together about Permaculture & related topics.

  • Ayuda


    Our EcoVillage Project has several opportunities for long-term (preferably 3+ month) volunteers. The learning potential here is enormous, as we are building an intentional community from scratch!

    We live at Finca Ubuntu, 21ha of land mostly in its natural state – a mix of rolling grasslands, highly eroded areas and forested gullies, escarpments and galleries along the river and stream. In the past 3 years we built a road and access bridge, planted a 1/2Ha food forest garden, established a number of swales, and built the Bunkhouse in our Rainbow Realm with compost toilet, rainwater capture for shower and sinks and an outdoor kitchen. We also created other water catchment systems, including a lake and installed a well with a pump that services most of the area in which we’re currently working. We start and tend seedlings in our plant nursery, grow annual vegetables and fruits in our raised bed area, and tend fruit trees, root crops, and more in our 1/2Ha food forest garden.

    An interest and/or prior experience designing Permaculture interventions in one or more of our areas of need is extremely helpful, and preferably also interest in participating in a Permaculture Design Course (if we happen hold one) while you're here. These courses are quite affordable and while we’d like to hold them regularly, we’ve found it hard to work that into our schedule.

    We are pleased that Workaway is now looking at the legalities around this service, and are happy to report that none of the work that we ask of our workawayers take jobs from local people. We have always been very conscious of this. We have 1 person on salary and occasionally employ day labor. This is a very small operation with a very big goal. Depending on the project you work on, you'll be interacting with Rebecca (US), Daniel (Panama – farm helper), or Luis Carlos (Panama – farm helper).

    In addition to the key needs which require long-term commitments, there are some smaller projects.

    KEY NEEDS -- preferably a 3+ month commitment (1 month minimum):

    *️Technology: Website, Positioning, Marketing*️ (Max 2 positions)
    These positions require knowledge and experience in Word Press website design and maintenance, SEO, digital/online marketing including social media outlets such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (and other emerging outlets). Tasks include updating and improving the website, improving and implementing marketing plans, creating/editing content, interacting on social media platforms to increase engagement and followers, troubleshooting technology issues. Ideally also includes taking photographs and videos, and administrative support (e.g., replying to emails, replying and creating engagements on social media platforms).
    3-5 hrs per day – 3-5 days/week. Number of hours, days, and meals to be agreed together with scope.

    *️Finca Projects; food forest gardens, food production, water systems, power systems*️ (Max 4 positions)
    We need to tend the existing food forest, help on water systems and start to look at options for generating electricity. We’re also planning some structures like a ‘rancho’ or ‘gazebo’ type shelter for meetings and training events, swales, dams made of recycled materials, clay, rocks, etc. with spillways, ponds and irrigation channels. We also need detailed topographical maps showing contours, vegetation, paths/trails and roads, and other features of note such as streams, springs (if any), gullies/run-off ditches, changes in elevation, etc. Food production is also a key area for us, as we move from our experimental raised beds to a more formalized and consistent food production scheme.

    We hope that people helping at the finca will take primary responsibility for one area and will collaborate with one another as needed. The main areas we need help with are food production, mapping (so we can develop a comprehensive site plan), water systems/swales, etc, buildings, and electricity.

    Special Finca Project – starting in April 2023 when the rains start, we’ll be implementing the Zones 1 & 2 design around Rebecca’s home on the finca. It will include swales and other water features, live fences (hedges), compost, kitchen garden, chickens & ducks, perhaps an herb spiral and banana circle.

    3-5 hrs per day, 5 days/week. Number of hours and meals to be agreed together with scope.


    * cooking & general support - especially if there are multiple workaways here, it would be great to have someone support with the cooking. but even on a daily basis, i would enjoy having someone to share healthy-cooking with as i often don't make the time

    * painting – the bunkhouse and the fencing around both the raised bed area and the plant nursery are ideal canvases for amazing murals. This is definitely not a *need* but a really cool *want*.

    * ask us if we have any small projects available if you're looking for something shorter term. These projects can vary widely depending on our needs.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Rooms in the bunkhouse are rustic. Each has 3 beds (1 bunk and 1 single). There's a covered deck for relaxing, an outdoor kitchen, shower, and compost toilet. The bunkhouse has an amazing view of the sunset and faces the raised bed area. Tents are also available and can be set up near to the bunkhouse.

    There's a cellular phone signal booster on the bunkhouse. Be sure to ask us which carrier gets best coverage. Internet is available at Rebecca's house during daylight (waking) hours.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    What can you do with your time off -- well, beaches, mountains, permaculture studies -- public transportation here is good - you can get anywhere on a bus or chiva or taxi. There is a lot to see within a few hours of here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 579127767189

Comentarios (7)



Caribbean paradise hostel stay in Bocas Del Toro, Panama
Help our community preserve the culture teaching english! Santa Fe, Panama