Help to begin planning and planting for a food forest and other tasks in West Coast New Zealand


Nueva Zelanda

37 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    My name is Bev and I own and run a local coffee cart and pie house for the town of Waimangaroa that is located adjacent to a beautiful sculpture garden and gallery. I live on a five acre farm with my husband Johnny that has a garden, chickens, sheep and the occasional cow right off the main road. Waimangaroa was once a coal mining town in the early part of the century and our goal is to revitalize the community through coffee, homemade pies and good conversation amongst locals. Because the business takes up much of my time I need help both on the farm and at the cart.

    There are many things to do on our property and we are looking for one/two independent, quick-learning and creative volunteers to get their hands dirty their with some farm and community improvement projects that they would be excited to see through to the end.

    We are located right beneath the lush West Coast of New Zealand, with access to the famous Denniston Plateau, 2kms from the beach, rivers galore and beautiful mountains for trekking and biking right in our backyard. The nearest city Westport is a short 15 minute drive away for your basic amenities like groceries and gas or if you want to catch a drink with some locals at a pub or restaurant.

    We are a open and welcoming community and locals would be sure to show you around the native bush or invite you over for an evening of fishing or other fun activities like an ocean bbq. If you are looking for an authentic kiwi experience in the South Island, then you've come to the right place!

    Note: this workaway is intended for help with the farm and house, not for work at the cafe.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you are traveling through New Zealand looking for a genuinely Kiwi experience, Waimangaroa and the West Coast is a great place to stop. The people here are incredibly friendly and eager to share their stories, food and time with travelers. The hospitality of the South Island is not an exaggeration and all are welcome.

    In addition, because we have a small farm there is a lot to be learned in terms of a hands-on, farm experience. I have also worked in a dairy for many years and can share my knowledge about farm life overall. I have spent many years in this area and am excited to share it with others.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Farm and house chores: taking care of the chickens, landscaping the garden, begin planning and planting for food forest, gardening chores, repainting the deck and lots more!

    The cafe: gardening

    Sculpture gallery: landscaping and possibly some help in the woodshop with the local wood carver

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    A small, private camper outside the main house that could fit 1-2 people with access to the house for the bathroom and shower.

    We also have a separate private room attached to the garage that needs some cleaning up but could be used for a very comfortable accommodation.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are a ton of local sights in the area and most do not have the crowds that you might find at other New Zealand attractions. The Denniston Plateau and Incline is a few kms from the farm. The beach is a 2km walk or drive away. There are more beaches closer to Westport used for BBQs and fishing. There is the Waimangaroa river and many others for fishing, swimming or trekking. The town of Westport also has a vibrant community and the locals are incredibly friendly.

    The nature here is exquisite and there are many outdoor activities within a 25km radius. We are between two national parks, a three hour drive from one of The Great Walks (The Heaphy), and surrounding by lush native bush and rainforest.

    There are taxis and hitchhiking is available but having a car would make getting around to all of these places a lot easier.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 566749594272