Help me with some garden projects in the heart of Queensland's amazing Sunshine Coast, Australia

Country

Australia

20 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My fur-baby Dodi and I live on 18 acres in the Sunshine Coast's beautiful hinterland region.

    After spending 25 years away - mostly overseas - I moved back a couple of years ago to the land I grew up on, quite literally. I have big dreams for the place but find it difficult to get my head out of the weeds (again, quite literally!). I'm very much at the start of my journey, both in learning and in action, and looking for some help to take off.

    The land I am custodian of is not at all remote but is surrounded by green on all sides so it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere (even if it doesn't sound like it). I generate my own power and have my own water, have a number of fruit trees as well as a couple of old orchards, and want to create a place that is productive, self-sufficient and kind to nature. This includes regenerating along my rainforest edges to help protect native wildlife from all the nearby development. In the meantime there is plenty of basic upkeep to do!

    I've always loved to travel, to explore new places and meet new people: now my feet are a little more firmly planted I welcome you to come to me instead :). Every day is a potential new learning experience!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I've picked up a few farm skills in the last couple of years, which I'm happy to share. My dad comes around to help me twice a week and is definitely the one to learn from! I see this exchange as us 'learning together' as we enjoy living on - and caring for - a beautiful piece of land :).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I'm still in the planning/design phase but realise that I need more help just to maintain my land, let alone improve and enhance it. As I am only just starting to open my house up to guests I am initially looking for someone with basic building skills (non-structural) to get the place ready for (hopefully!) others who will come behind. This includes building some temporary walls and knocking down some others. In the medium term help will consist of general maintenance and upgrades inside the house and out (ie painting, weeding, mowing, maintaining an old fruit orchard, regenerating the rainforest, maintaining the driveway etc). While none of this is particularly technical or difficult, you will need to have a basic level of fitness and a positive, will-try attitude (the quickest way to learn is to do!).

    I'm looking for 3 hours help a day in exchange for accommodation only. Hours are negotiable depending on the task, however early mornings and Saturday's should be expected if it's a two-person job as these are the times that I am available.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Principiante
    Indonesian: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is presently quite basic: you will have a small room in my farmhouse, and access to bathroom facilities and a kitchen for you to prepare your own meals, all of which will be improved with your help! This is an old house and NOT a place for you if you are scared by harmless creepy-crawlies.

    Outside, however, is heaven: a gorgeous tree for you to sit under and while away the hours listening to the sounds of the local birds.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I am in the heart of Queensland's amazing Sunshine Coast: 15 minutes up the road to Montville and all the gorgeous bushwalks and waterholes the range has to offer, and the same amount of time to the beaches of Maroochydore and beyond. The Sunshine Coast is one of Australia's premiere tourism locations and there is plenty to see and do both on the water, in the water, in the towns and in the mountains. It is only 5 mins to the nearest town which has all the basics and a number of fabulous cafe's and restaurants. While having a car would give you more flexibility, the nearest public bus stop is only just over a kilometre away (also the best fruit and veg shop), and I have bikes you can borrow if you can face my steep driveway! The local town also has a train stop if you want to travel further afield (a couple of hours to Brisbane).

    I'm an open and flexible person, but I tend to live a quiet life. I also work from home during standard business hours so am looking for people that can respect the limitations that imposes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs that are well-behaved and friendly (ie that get on with my fur-baby ;) ) are very welcome. Dogs that are prone to wandering will need to be tied up at all times, and all dogs must either be tied up or inside overnight in order to protect local wildlife.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 hours/day, 5 days/week, timings flexible but dependent on task, accommodation only


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 564946238336