Help welcome around the house and garden in Ponta Delgada, Azores

Country

Portugal

98 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    65.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hey there!

    We are Petra and Georg, a german couple in our early sixties that has been living on this beautiful island since six years. We live on the slope of the big crater of the extinct volcano sete cidades, on the western tip of Sao Miguel island. It's a beautiful place with a big ornamental garden, a small orchard/greenhouse and some young fruit trees, all with great seaviews. The property is a bit outside and above the small town of Ginetes, a very quiet and natural area. Thanks to the subtropical climate of the island our garden thrives all year long, and so do the weeds! thats why we would like some extra help every now and then. We have bulit an independent bungalow in the garden to host helpers and visiting friends
    We also have a very friendly dog and two cats that are part of the family. So we can only host people that like both, altough they will not be in your bungalow.
    We are looking for freindly, open and reliable people that like to help with plants and nature and can take good care of the space they live in. Sometimes we will do tasks with you, but we also want someone responsible who can do tasks independently.
    If you are interested to come live and help us for a while please send us a message and tell us a little bit about yourself. Before you come, we would also like to have a short skype call to get to know you a little bit and see wether we are a good fit.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are happy to share our knowledge of azorean culture, nature and geology. You are also welcome to join the Yoga classes that we do with our wonderful neighbour and yoga teacher Katrin (she's really good!). Or the Kung Fu class that we go to, also great! (whenever Covid allows it...)
    We also like to go hiking on the weekends and you are welcome to join

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is our property and a bungalow for helpers also a big ornamental garden with pool and a small orchard/greenhouse.

    The kind of help that we need inculdes:

    gardening (mowing the lawn, pulling out weeds, harking, cutting back trees and bushes, planting new things...)
    building some fences
    cleaning the pool
    Giving a fresh coat of paint to the wooden houses or garden furniture ( because of the proximity to the sea and the strong winds here this is something that we have to do every year)
    Walking or taking care of our dog Knut, ocasionally if we are out for a longer while
    Help around the house, sometimes (cleaning, maintenance etc)
    Ideas for small DIY projects, like building something out of bamboo or decorating some of the existing structures are also welcome!

    It's not very hard work, but you need a certain strenght/fitness and readiness to get somewhat sweaty and dirty! So bring some old clothes.
    It would also be great if you were able (or open to learn) to handle tools like the ride-on lawn mower and the electrical hedge trimmer.

    Since we live in the middle of the atlantic, the weather is unreliable and changes quickly, it's basically eternal spring. Therefore if it rains a lot you will either do something in the house or be free for the day. Likewise you really have to take advantage of the sun when its there, so you can arrange your hours pretty flexibly according to the weather. You can also work more on one day to have another one off. But we definitely recomend bringing a good rain jacket and ideally waterproof shoes!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We can offer german and would like to practice our english and portuguese

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We recently bulit a bungalow of about 30 sqm on our property that you will have to yourself. It's fully equipped with a bathroom, kitchen and king size bed. It also has beautiful seaviews and an outdoor sitting area in the garden. And of course you can use our pool as well.
    So you will be completely independent, but can come to our place across the garden any time.

    Our wifi just barely reaches the bungalow, so it's enough for emails but nor for streaming or zooming. You can either come to our place or borrow our mobile internet device (it has a simcard and you can charge it for 15 days = 15€ or 30 days = 30€ in order to have realiable and fast internet)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We offer accomodation in exchange for maximum 4h of help, 5 days a week. We don't offer food and would ask you to cook for yourself, but we are happy to share anything that grows in the garden, or what we make ourselves (marmalade, bread...).
    We are also happy to cook together sometimes and share meals whenever it fits for both sides.

    Since we are only fluent enough in english and german, we can only host you if you speak one of those two.
    We also can't accept any pets.

    The Azores have a subtropical climate, meaning that it never gets really cold but it rains quite often and is very humid, especially in winter. It can also get quite windy, since it is in the middle of the Atlantic. So we recomend to check what the weather is like in the time of the year that you want to come, and definitely bring good waterproof clothes, ideally rubber boots or other rainproof shoes and a warm sweater! We usually have a dehumidifier for the bungalow.

    Also note that Ginetes is a really small town with only one little shop that has everything you need, but nothing fancy. In the capital, Ponta Delgada (~30min by car/bus), you will find big supermarkets with some organic, vegan, glutenfree, laktosefree aso. foods. There is also a daily market with fresh lokal produce.

    There are daily buses that can bring you almost everywhere on the island inexpensively, but they are not so frequent and also not terribly reliable. The island is definitely best explored with an own car. Unfortunately our cars are very old and break down often, so we don't like to lend them to others. You can rent a car in the capital, the prices depend a lot on the season, in the winter you can find really cheap offers.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week (food not provided)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 562893336649