Help us finish our house that we designed and built in the French foothills of the Pyrenees, France

Country

Francia

48 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/02/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Stan and I are a retired couple living in the French foothills of the Pyrenees in a house that we designed and built. Our house is two and a half hours from Barcelona, forty minutes from the university town of Perpignan and the Mediterranean, and two hours from Andorra (for keen skiers).

    The project is to finish small jobs in the house such as tiling, hanging cupboards and such like, and the big job is to establish a garden on this beautiful but stoney south facing hillside site.
    This is a very peaceful location. If nature is your thing, this is it! It is the perfect place to enjoy barbecues, the local wines, swimming in the pool and sight-seeing. It does not, however, have any local night life.

    An ideal place to practice your French or Catalan.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The opportunity to learn and be involved in a small French village where plant and animal life abounds. There are lots of opportunities to ramble, cycle and pony-trek. The region is rich in history, with ancient archaeological sites, including Romanesque and Phoenician as well as Pre-historic, eg Tautavel.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need enthusiastic helpers to do some of the heavier jobs we can't do anymore. Experience in small DIY jobs, and the strength to move heavy objects are prerequisites. Skills with power tools would be advantageous.

    Jobs could include: landscape gardening, carpentry, chopping wood, cleaning the pool, cleaning windows....... pouring wine at dinner ;)

    Own transport (bike/car/motorbike) would be ideal as there are no local transport services, however pick up from a local town/airport could be offered.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Very comfortable single or double room with ensuite shower and WC, own private terrace (with a beautiful view of snow-capped Canigou), use of swimming pool (in season), excellent food and wines.

    All bed linen and towels are provided, and you would have access to the washing machine and the Internet.

    You would join us for meals as and when you wish; mealtimes will be relaxed and food freely available. All home comforts really.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Own transport absolutely essential as we are 15 minutes by car to the nearest town and there is no local transport. Taxis are exhorbitantly expensive, but we could help with lifts and some sightseeing.

    Perpignan, the nearest major city at 40 minutes by car, is great for seeing French life at its best. Its red marble paved streets throng with people on summer nights and there are a lot of music festivals, street théâtre, etc. The nearest resort of Argeles sur Mer has clubs, casinos, music nights, bars, tennis courts, etc. Scuba diving, sailing and other water sports are all available along the Costa Brava, just over the border in Spain.

    We would enjoy welcoming you as very helpful guest and hopefully future friends.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, flexible






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 553584275149