Beautiful Gabriola Island. British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canadá

120 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/03/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    OUR FAMILY HAS HAD A TRAGEDY AND WE WILL NOT BE HOSTING VISITORS THIS SEASON.


    We are a friendly community-engaged couple living on beautiful Gabriola Island. We love our island paradise for its gorgeous beaches, wooded walking trails, and its wildlife. We are lucky enough to see seals, river otters, sea lions, and bald eagles on a daily basis. On especially lucky days, we might see a pod of orcas travelling past or a pair of humpback whales feeding offshore.

    Chris is an accomplished photographer who mostly creates photo-based encaustic wax pieces. He also creates rustic furniture using driftwood found on our beaches. Margy is a silversmith who produces jewellery and small silver objects in her studio.

    We have hosted international guests for 5 years with Wwoof Canada, and this is our 3rd year with Workaway. Most of our guests have become friends who we keep in touch with, and several have made repeat visits.

    Accommodation is in a tiny sleeping shed, so we can accommodate just one guest at a time (we will consider couples).
    We provide healthy food, as much locally-grown as possible. Guests are responsible to prepare their own meals, with food we provide. We may share outdoor meals and picnics from time to time...covid has changed our usual meal-sharing arrangements.

    We try to expose our guests to the island lifestyle as much as we can...kayaking, boating, fishing, swimming, and hiking are just a few of the activities. We have bicycles and kayaks available for guests to use to explore on their own, too.

    We try to provide a great experience for you, but please recognize that this arrangement is a "give and take", and we have specific tasks we need to get done. The skills we are looking for are listed in a section below.

    Our schedule is to work from 8:30am until 1 or 1:30pm with a coffee break. That leaves afternoons and evenings free for you to explore the island. Weekends are free time unless we have a specific project that can only be done then.

    Come check out our little piece of paradise in the Salish Sea...we think you'll fall in love with it!

    (Please check our availability...I try to keep our calendar up to date.)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Chris is a strong kayaker and can guide you in exploring the shoreline and experiencing marine mammals close up. We have a small powerboat and like to visit other islands in our area. We can take a picnic, go beachcombing, and try to catch fish, crabs, or prawns for dinner.

    Gabriola is blessed with a great series of easy to moderate hiking trails that are maintained by a dedicated group of volunteers. We have great swimming beaches close by.

    Our beautiful island makes it easy to enjoy nature while still having appropriate physical distancing during covid.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    These are the skills we are currently seeking:

    - General help: we are building a new home on another property, and will require help moving materials, doing site cleanup. Woodworking skills are definitely an asset.
    - Painting: re-staining the exterior of a two-storey building and painting trim, doors, etc. (requires ladder work)
    - Gardening: weeding flower and vegetable gardens, maintaining compost bins
    - Firewood prep: Splitting and stacking wood for next winter
    - General yard maintenance skills: clearing blackberry brambles, pruning branches, cutting and raking grassd, and so on.
    - Assist in mixed-media studio, assist with building rustic furniture

    Work is usually for 4.5 to 5 hours a day with a coffee break, 5 days a week. We start working at 8:30am, so afternoons and weekends are generally free time to explore the island.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in a small studio. For this reason, we prefer to have one guest at a time.

    We have a basic cooking set-up and will provide your groceries. We may share outdoor meals and picnics from time-to-time.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We provide a bicycle for our visitors, and there are several places of interest (beaches, rock formations, parks) that are an easy bike ride away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a reliable internet with good speed.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Able to accommodate camping vehicles.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 533244786884