English teacher needed for an amazing group of teen girls in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

73 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/05/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an organization that supports young Guatemalan women as they complete high school and learn English in a safe and nurturing setting. 10-15 girls aged fifteen to twenty-two live here in the house and receive English classes in the mornings before they go to school. The girls are smart, kind, easygoing and fun. Next door live Dora and Nelson who cook our meals and look after the girls.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living with these girls is an amazing opportunity to connect with not only Guatemalan but also Mayan culture. Three different Mayan dialects are currently being spoken in the house, as well as Spanish and English. In addition, downtown Coatepeque is easily accessible by microbus for only 2 quetzales (about 25 cents US) and there you can find restaurants, stores, gyms, an outdoor market and lots more. Also we are just an hour from the beach if you'd like to go on the weekends!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for a female English teacher who speaks Spanish and is ready to commit to at least a month living and teaching at the house. We want the volunteer to speak Spanish so that she can communicate easily with Dora and Nelson, the other adults who live here.

    In general she will be teaching about 3.5 hours a day, Monday-Friday. In exchange she will get a room plus three meals a day.

    Volunteers who stay for 3 months will receive a cash bonus equal to what a Guatemalan teacher would earn in a 3 month period.

    Plus she will gain a bunch of new friends with these girls. They are wonderful roommates!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private room with wifi in the house with the girls. Everyone shares a big bathroom that has 3 toilet stalls and showers. Hot water is available for showers. There is a full kitchen, a rooftop terrace and a big yard. The entire property is inside a big wall so it is very secure.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 527761959671