Building an ecological/self-sustainable finca in the South of Spain

Country

España

45 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello everybody, I'm Petra from the Netherlands and since seven years I've been living in Spanish speaking countries. Last autumn I bought a 4-hectare piece of land "Finca Rustica" in the small and charming village of Fuenteheridos in Huelva (Andalucia). It's situated in the Sierra de Aracena y picos de Arroche. My little ecological forest/farmland is filled with chestnut trees, (cork) oaks, pine trees, an orchard, a small vineyard (my dream is to make a bigger one next winter), two vegetable gardens (under construction), wild fruit-trees and bushes, many herbs and flowers, birds and bees in spring, chestnuts and wild mushrooms in autumn and many things more. I live in a tiny house, with a drilled well, a small bathroom and for visitors/volunteers there is my campervan (a pink old VW LT 35, with a good bed!). My short-term plans are extending the house, constructing a dry toilet and outdoor shower, a good working irrigation system and as a consequence a flourishing vegetable garden. Long-term plans contain a vineyard, a natural swimming pool (which also functions as a reservoir to use for irrigation) a sauna, a tree house, keeping bees, making natural artworks, a music/yoga dome etc...At the moment I'm doing most things on my own, which I love, but it gets heavy at times (advantage: free gym!). Sometimes, if my wallet allows, I contract people to help, but I mainly try to exchange hours for hours and live self-sustainable. I have many nice ideas and dreams I would like to fulfil here and hopefully you can come over for a while to help me and at the meantime enjoy your stay in this beautiful, peaceful and versatile part of Southern Spain. I'm an overall energetic and positive person with many hobbies (play football with the village-men, make music/sing, cook, travel) and interests (everything related to self sustainability, nature, creativity, spirituality, natural therapies). If you like to work hard, are physically fit and enjoy a good (mainly veggie) meal with an even better glass of wine or homemade cider, then don't hesitate to contact me. I have little space for volunteers, so just one at a time and only when I'm not having friends or family over from Holland. Flexibility is required :)

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Projecto artístico

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As a foreigner living in Southern Spain I find it fascinating meeting new people, getting to know the culture and participating as a member of their society. We can share stories about our countries, languages (I am also a licenced language teacher), alternative medicine (I've studied Psychology, Traditional Chinese Medicine (acupuncture) and Family Constellations) and travelling (I've travelled a lot since I was 18 years old and would love to hear your experiences).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    At this initial state I mainly need strong arms, people with knowledge and experience in bio/eco-construction, gardening, forest maintenance, planting a vineyard etc. Preferably between 25 and 45 years old (around my age).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Dutch, English and Spanish (plus a little German and French)

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As I haven't been able to build more yet...you would sleep in my wonderful and quite comfortable, warm and cosy camper van (with use of my bathroom that has a separate entrance from outside). If you have your own van, I have an even parking space made, especially for visitors!
    We will cook/eat together, mostly from the land, by making our own bread etc. I’ll provide three meals and basic drinks, obviously as you're here to help. Yet, If you want special things, have a specific diet or like to drink or eat loads of special things, you are welcome to bring what you want! My budget is small, but I've never had complaints of guests yet :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you're getting here by public transport, there are usually two direct buses a day to and from Seville (Plaza de Armas) - Fuenteheridos (village centre). Timetables can be found online (they can change). You take the bus towards "Rosal de la frontera" and tell the driver you want to get off at Fuenteheridos.
    In the area there are many nice things to see and do. Rural/low mountain hikes, biking, climbing, sight seeing, a beautiful cave in Aracena (Gruta de las maravillas), concerts, festivals, markets etc.
    Of course in your free time you can also just relax at the "finca" and read a book or something :)
    I have certain obligations outside of the finca from time to time, so we won't have to spent every second together, no worries! Plenty of time to be on your own, doing whatever you like.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 527738963468