Come and help out at a small, creative school in Ayer Keroh, Melaka, Malaysia



70 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 12 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hello! We are a very small-scale home based daycare for school kids aged 7-10 years old, located at Ayer Keroh, Melaka (Malacca).

    For the moment, I am doing this with my sister but some of the time she is not available to assist me. Hence, we would like to invite female volunteers/au pair/nanny/housekeeper who love mixing around with kids and are able to do some house chores ( it would be fantastic if you are a good storyteller, the kids love to hear stories!) to stay together with us in a double-storey house, at a peaceful neighbourhood in Ayer Keroh.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    While helping us, you will be able to learn more about the different cultures in Malaysia, especially Chinese food and culture. You can learn languages of your choice, choose from Malay, Chinese and English. If you are an art & craft lover, feel free to express yourself and have fun with air dry clay at our DIY corner.

    During weekends I can bring you around my neighbourhood areas and Muar town (1 hour journey) to see the view, people and food. Malacca is a historical city which had been declared as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2008, famous for its unique Baba & Nyonya culture. Stadthuys, St. Paul Hill, Jonker night market are few of those must-visit, 20 minutes drive from Ayer Keroh. Other attractions around Ayer Keroh are Bear Hill for hiking, recreational forest for jogging/biking, Zoo Melaka, Butterfly & Reptile Sanctuary. If you prefer to travel alone, I can share with you some useful travel advice and tips too! During your free time, you can go around our peaceful neighbourhood with our bikes. There are malls/grocery shop within 5 - 10 mins walk too. Bus stop is only 7 mins walk away.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Currently we need to take care of around 3 - 4 kids from Monday-Friday, 12.30pm -5.30 pm. I would need help from you to prepare the ingredients for lunch (e.g. peeling/cutting/wash dishes), 1 hour before 12 pm. I can share with you how to cook Chinese food too if you are interested :) If you do not like or used to have Chinese food then you'll have to buy or cook your own food. For vegetarian, please provide me the details of your dietary requirements and I will see whether I can cater your needs.

    After lunch 2.30 pm - 4 pm, the kids would start doing their schoolwork and revision, you can take a short break OR we welcome you to join us if you want to learn our local languages (Malay/Chinese/English) with them ^_^ We would like you to conduct some games/storytelling/other suitable activities with them on every Thursday & Friday (4.30 – 5.30 pm, not more than 1 hour), feel free to share with us if you have any interesting ideas on that. You will have few short break in between the mentioned working time, though you need to start early to prepare cooking ingredients, average time taken would not exceed 5 hours/day, please take note.

    During school holidays, we will do some FUN art & craft activities for the kids too. This means that we will start early and finish early, 9.30 am - 2.30 pm. Other house chores include sweeping and mopping floor, cleaning bathroom, dusting (weekly), kitchen (daily after cooking) and some simple ad-hoc job when necessary. Average 5 hours/day, 5 days/week, off days on Sat & Sun and all public holidays. These are the months where we need help most: March, May-June, August, Nov-Dec. If you plan to come other time than these, please do ask too as we might also need help that time.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Malay: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    In exchange, we will provide free accomodation and meals (breakfast, lunch & tea break only). You will get a single bed in a triple sharing room (you will stay alone in the room if there is no other helpers around). The room is equipped with wall fan, air-conditioner, and an attached shared bathroom with water heater (basic bathroom amenities are provided except towel, toothbrush & toothpaste). You can enjoy unlimited WIFI at the speed of 50Mbps (morning till midnight), watching TV in living room, refrigerator to share, washing machine, and kitchen to cook your own meals if you need. You are welcome to use the common space in the house, try to make yourself home. We do not mind sharing things with you and help you if you need
    but please try to respect the host and others who might stay in the same house.

    We only accept workawayers that are able to commit within normal hours. Although working time starts a bit late like 12 pm or 1 pm, you are advisable not to wake up too late like 11 am. Please wake up early to take your breakfast as after that you will need to help in the kitchen. We expect some discipline from you. We expect those who are interested to volunteer are mature enough to manage your time well. Please make sure you have enough sleep and rest (no heavy alcohol or clubbing until late night, you have to be at home before midnight). You can use the air-conditioner for 6 hours/day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I used to go backpacking previously and love meeting new friends from around the world. Hence, I would very much love to share with you things that you are interested to know or learn.

    It will take 20 mins drive to the city, grabcar would costs around RM 12. For the city area (UNESCO heritage), you can visit your own as it is pretty easy. But for the places nearby my neighbourhood (Ayer Keroh), I can show you around.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 521436813433