Building a self-sustaining lifestyle in Őrség, Hungary



32 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Dear Workawayers,

    After 15 years of a beautiful, meaningful, joyful and spiritual wandering in the world, I decided to settle down and start a self-sustaining lifestyle in my beloved country, Hungary. In August, 2018 I was very fortunate to be able to purchase a beautiful piece of land in one of the most attractive part of Hungary, in Őrség. Őrség is located in the West at the border of Slovenia and Austria. The area has been announced as a World Heritage thus it is a very ancient, powerful and energetic part of Hungary. The village - where I own a 3300 m2 land with a river at the hedge - called Szőce. It is a very small village but with a very big heart.

    This area is full of touristical attractions, lakes, rivers, thermal spas, tracking places and very high energetic places. I would mention here the Energy Field in Dobrovnik/Slovenia that has 26 energy spots where just by sitting tremendous healing can be experienced by the visitors. So indeed, Őrség is full of magic and attractions.

    My dream is to start a self-sustaining living on my land. I already have a yurt and a mobile home that will serve as my home. Besides these things the land and the whole project have to be started from scratch. Basically I have no experience in farming, plantation, ground working, building compost toilet, shower, etc so I would love to host anybody and everybody who can help me in all this. In a longer term I wish to host retreats on the land and build a community as well, but this is for the more distant future.

    I'm planning to start the field works in June and can host 2 Workawayers at the same time. As the project starts from scratch, all the tools, machines, etc need to be rented or purchased, depending on the possibilities. I'd be very happy to share this project work with anyone and everybody who has skills, experiences and knowledge about self-sustaining living, and in return they can discover the beauty of this World Heritage called Őrség.

    Personally me I have no experience or knowledge about self-sustaining living. I wish to exchange your knowledge with mine that concerns yoga, health, vegan life style, etc. The most important is that we both learn something new on the way and spend quality time together.

    I hope to host you soon!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    All the Workawayers can benefit from the beautiful sightseeings in Őrség, thermal spas, tracking, lakes, nature, touristical attractions, energy and healing fields located very close to the land. This is one thing.

    The other thing is that I'm very happy to share everything that I learnt during the 15 year of wandering in the world:

    *️️️️️️️️️️ Yoga daily practices
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Meditation techniques
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Kriyas
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Breathing techniques
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Inner work methods
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Vegan lifestyle
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Hula-Hooping

    I wish to work on this project with Workawayers who would be happy to work and also spend time in nature and do daily yoga/meditation practices together with me.

  • Ayuda


    I'm searching for Workawayers who have experiences, knowledge and skills in the following fields of work in this project.

    1. Working on the land:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Cutting grass
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Building a natural fence around the land
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Constructing (digging, ground work) 3 steps on the ground, it requires a machine for moving the ground
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Creating a garden
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Planting vegetables and herbs
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Maintaining the river bank
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Maintaining the trees

    2. Yurt
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Putting together the yurt
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Constructing a wooden stand for the yurt
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Placing this wooden structure on the 2nd step of the field and place the yurt (6m Diameter) on it

    3. Mobile Home:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Making a flat platform for the caravan
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Placing the caravan on this part of the land
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Building a fence around the mobile home
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Creating a small garden and sitting area around the caravan

    4. Yoga activities
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Building a wooden outdoor platform for yoga activities. Platform with high legs
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Placing this wooden structure (like a pagoda without walls) on the 3rd step of the field, right next to the river

    5. For remaining self-sustained:
    *️ Compost toilet
    *️ Compost area
    *️ Outdoor shower
    *️ Digging a well
    *️ Creating the water system for collecting rain water

    If you have any skills and experiences in these activities, I'd be very happy to host you in Szőce.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Hungarian: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    I can accommodate 2 Workawayers at the same time. It is optional:

    *️️️️️️️️️️ Tent for the most adventurous ones. The tent would be placed on the land.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Bed in the Mobile Home that is placed on the land.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Bed in a room for 2 persons on the neighbouring land, with shower.

    At the moment the situation is quite nomadic on the land so I can provide only these possibilities to sleep. In all cases the shower can be taken in a small house next door. The food will be prepared on the land. As I follow a vegan lifestyle, the food I will provide will always be 100% plant based, either raw or cooked outdoor. I have to inform you that non veg food can be taken by the Workawayers only outside of the land and it would remain the responsibility of the guest. As my philosophy is based on non-violance, I do not support non veg eating on the land. But I can promise you that all the food will be prepared with love and will be very tasty and delicious...

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    To reach Szőce from Budapest or Vienna is possible by bus. There are major cities around this village such as:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Sopron
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Szombathely
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Zalaegerszeg
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Graz

    *️️️️️️️️️️ Energy park in Dobrovnik/Slovenia
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Vadása tó - one of the greatest lake in Hungary
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Thermal spas
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Tracking & Biking ( Bikes will be provided)

    Bus stop is located not far from the land.

    Workawayers would be picked up by me in any of the big cities around the village. This has to be arranged before arrival.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 519975837396