Help Us Create Our Eco-Retreat, Forest Regeneration Projects and Kiwi Protection at our Eco-Friendly, Off-Grid Property in Okaihau, Northland, New Zealand

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a Canuckiwi family - Nicole is from Canada, John is a Kiwi, and in June 2022, we welcomed our newest member to the family -- a wonderful baby girl named Kalani.

    We met at Burning Man in 2013 and began our life together almost instantly. We were married in Hawaii in 2018 and traveled Central and South America for 18 months until summer weddings brought us back to NZ, and Covid made us stay.

    We turned lemons into lemonade and shifted our focus from travel to a shared vision of starting an eco-retreat where we would welcome guests to disconnect from technology and reconnect with themselves and nature. We purchased a property on 25-acres of native forest, complete with freshwater springs, Kiwi birds, and glowworms. The land is right on the Twin Coast Cycle Trail between Opua and the Hokianga Harbour. We live completely off the grid (aside from the internet), using solar power, spring, and rainwater, and working on growing our own vegetables and fruit.

    We want to protect our land and the Kiwi that live here and work to grow our own food and give back to the environment. We are aiming to create a yoga and nature retreat over the next 12 - 24 months where people can come to get away from the city, reconnect with nature and themselves, and learn how to unplug, reset and restore.

    Nicole works full-time as an executive with an e-commerce company, and John is a physiotherapist by trade but sold his physiotherapy company to pursue his dream of being a writer and start this eco-retreat! He just won an award in America for his debut novel and is now seeking a publisher in New York to get his novel published in the States.

    We have three rescue animals: a beautiful Huntaway dog, named Rosa, a Labrador/Mastiff cross named Machado, and a lovely Burmese cat named "Baby". All animals love coming on forest walks and will happily snuggle up with you or give you your space if you'd prefer!

    We both love to do yoga and meditate every day, usually at sunset, and one of the projects we will be undertaking will be a yoga deck in our meadow.

    John loves to surf and heads at least once a week to beaches on the east coast, or point beaks and reefs on the west coast. If you are a Workaway surfer, let us know! John would love to have a surfing buddy to go with and has extra boards if needed!

    We also do "at home" workouts each morning, mostly bodyweight training with kettlebells and TRX, and runs to the river with our dog Rosa, and would love to assist with training programs with Workawayers if they wish or collaborate (or stay sleeping, whatever you want!)

    We also love to play music and have several guitars, a ukelele, a banjo, and harmonicas.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Utakura Valley is a special place in NZ. The farmer who sold us the land (who goes by the name of "Snow") is a lovely man and still operates in the Utakura Valley. His great grandfather was one of the first European colonizers in the area and got along very well with the local Maori Chief.

    The Chief learned about cattle farming and agriculture from Snow’s great grandfather, and Snow's great grandfather learned from the Chief about sustainability and showing respect for the native forest and its animals.

    The evidence of this relationship is clear throughout the property in the old, crumbling stone walls seen throughout the land which used to serve as fences for their cattle. The mature native bush, bountiful fauna and flora, and drinkable freshwater springs shows that sustainable farming has clearly been utilized throughout this valley from the start.

    Our goal is to take this forest to the next level and help the beautiful Kiwi and native birds throughout this forest to thrive, and protect them and their home for future generations. We would love to teach and learn from our Workawayers about living in balance with nature, learning from the plants, science, and indigenous wisdom.

    Our home has a view like no other. It looks over a valley with river and swimming hole access and backs onto the Twin Coast Cycle Trail between Opua and Hokianga Harbour.

    There are at least four kiwi birds immediately around the property and our main priority with the property is to protect them and their habitat. We also have many Ruru (moreporks), Kereru (native wood pigeons), Piwakawaka (fantails), Tuis, Silvereyes and Waxeyes, peacocks, and turkeys.

    There are also walking tracks around the property and glow worms visible at night along the creek lines.
    We are very comfortably 'off the grid' and passionate about protecting the native forest and teaching others about how to live sustainably and learning from others about their methods of sustainable living.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Main projects we will be looking to undertake in the next few months are as follows:

    - Gardening: Assisting with garden creations around the property and maintenance of current gardens, including weed whacking, maintaining the banana forest, weed control, planting etc

    - Vegetable Garden: Assisting with building and planting fruit and vegetable gardens in a greenhouse.

    - Building: Helping with land clearing/leveling for accommodation pods and building decks and platforms for glamping tents. Helping with building chicken coop. Helping with creating walking tracks throughout the bush.

    - Artwork: Creating signage for walking tracks around the forest and down to the river.

    - Forest Regeration: Helping with clearing forest creek lines, clearing for walking tracks, and planting of new native trees to regenerate forest.

    - Pest Control: Helping with possum, rat and stoat trapping.

    - Cooking & Cleaning: We now have a little one so help with cooking dinner would be hugely appreciated and general cleaning around house.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We travelled through Central and South America for almost two years so would be very interested in continuing to keep our Spanish sharp!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The guest room is private, separated from the main house, with its own entrance, ensuite, and a beautiful view over the Utakuru Valley & river (it's the best view in the house - see photos below!). Queen bed with bedding included.

    Main kitchen and living spaces to be shared. Unlimited internet access.

    We will provide breakfast, lunch, and dinner 5 days/week. We have limited fridge space, but there is ample pantry space. Cooking dinner for the group may be part of the hours some days (with food provided).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    A 4 wheel drive vehicle is recommended, as we do live down a bit of a wild driveway -- or at least 4wd or country-road driving experience. 2wd cars have no problem on our driveway, but people with no experience driving on country roads may feel nervous driving on it. People with experience have had no issues whatsoever with 2wd cars on the driveway.

    We spend our weekends exploring the Far North, there are plenty of things to do, like walking trails, private beaches, surf spots, restaurants, cafes, and of course, the cycle trail.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We also work online from home and have unlimited Starlink internet which runs fast and can be accessed throughout our home.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 518717358317

Comentarios (2)


Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.5)




Stay in a small, establishing community near Kaitaia in the beautiful Far North New Zealand
Help around the house on a beautiful rural property near Mangawhai, New Zealand