Help out our family in the village of Walton, Cumbria, England

Country

Gran Bretaña

415 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    28  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    274

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello!

    We are Joss and Rebecca. We would be delighted to welcome you to stay with us in Walton. We live in a quiet village in the pretty rural county of Cumbria. We have a daughter, age 7 and a dog, age 3. We run a Bunkhouse for walkers, cyclists and tourists visiting the UNESCO world heritage site Hadrian’s Wall between April and October. We have a bunkhouse situated in our garden, and we live next door in a small cottage. We are looking for one or two workawayers to help out the family mainly with laundry, cleaning and meals and, occasionally, dog walking and childcare.

    You will be staying with us in a spare room in our cottage. We try and make a simple, homely and relaxing atmosphere in our cottage as we have a contrasting sociable and lively atmosphere in the bunkhouse. Workawayers staying with us over the past couple of years have enjoyed visiting Edinburgh, Liverpool, Newcastle, The Lake District and The Northumberland Coast whilst they have stayed with us and we can take you to visit some of the local towns and historical sites and point you in the direction of some lovely walks and bike rides.

    We are looking for workawayers that want to stay with us for 3-4 weeks. Four weeks is the maximum length of time that we can host you. Basic knowledge of English is essential for the experience to run smoothly.

    Please contact us for more information and to let us know more about you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We would be delighted to host workawayers from anywhere around the globe and hope that we can learn some of your language as you will become more fluent in English.

    We host lots of hikers in our bunkhouse and there will be lots of time that can be spent socialising with others from all around the world.

    You will be treated as one of the family and we will offer day trips and evenings out togetheror we can find you opportunities to do sporting and cultural activities. We hope that you will take the opportunity to walk some of Hadrian's Wall yourself, and learn about our region.

    Last year our trips out with Workaway guests included Walking Hadrians Wall, visiting the Lake District, Sea Kayaking, Film nights in the bunkhouse, Traditional pub Sunday dinner amongst other things. Our Workaway guests were also able to take advantage of city breaks to Edinburgh, Glasgow and Newcastle.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We will have a lot of fun together learning about construction, eating together and it is a very sociable place to be. The environment is relaxed and a great place to improve your English if required.

    There may be some cleaning tasks in the family home when needed.

    Our previous Workaways have travelled to us numerous ways, by plane, train and bicycle. Whatever you choose getting to Walton is fairly easy with the airports of Newcastle, Manchester, Glasgow and Edinburgh all being quite close and served with trains to Carlisle. We will be able to meet you at Carlisle train station which is a short drive back home to Walton.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Own Bedroom staying in our house
    Wi fi
    Cooked meals and plenty of food

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Cumbria is a beautiful county with many outdoor activities available. As we are based right on Hadrian's wall this is a wonderful opportunity to see a remote and wild historic land. Visit Roman forts Birdoswald and Housesteads.

    You can use our bikes if you would like to see the countryside on two wheels and we can advise on some great rides

    We are also close to the Scottish border and the English Lake District so the countryside is great but there is good train links to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Newcastle and Manchester.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day (max 25 hours/week)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 516439371344