Help at my windmill and land at the atlantic coast in central Portugal

Country

Portugal

144 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi :) I have a small old windmill and a piece of land close to the atlantic coast in central Portugal.
    It is a beautiful simple place with open view to the surroundings, placed a bit remote on the countryside. There are a couple of beaches and little villages 5 km from here and the biggest town is 13 Km away, where i live most of the time.
    As it is at the coast and placed on a higher windy place, the weather here is many times fresh and cooler than in inland. That is something nice for some people but not as attractive to others, if you are looking for the typical hot weather of Portugal, this might not be the best place.

    The windmill has been emptied, so it doesn't work anymore as a windmill ;) the roof has been renovated years ago but it needs improvement and maintenance in several areas. I am at the very beginning of this life project, but with the help of workawayers we have been making it a lovely tiny house!
    It is my wish to keep this place an ecological retreat where nature is respected. There is no electricity and no tap water.
    I want to keep it with no use of those resources, but i need ideas and some skills to have some water and some light brought through renewable energy methods.
    I am looking for help from people that are willing to do some work with love and joy.
    If you have skills, good energy, love for nature and you would like to come, you will be very welcome! :)
    Thank you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will find a beautiful simple place here, if you love to be in nature.
    At the beach close by you can take some lessons and learn how to surf, windsurf and kitesurf or just go for it if you are a surfer already! :)
    The windmill is located alone in the countryside and not in a town, so you will enjoy the quietness and the solitude of nature.
    I look forward to meet new people and learn from each other.
    I am still beginning this project, so i am still learning and not yet able to teach about building and planting, but i will happily learn from you.
    i can speak portuguese (mother language), english, german and spanish, in case you might want to practice or learn any of these languages.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Regarding the help, I have been having volunteers who help gladly everyday for around 4 hours, others who work only for 3 or 4 days in the week, to have more free time, as long as you are looking forward to help with the needs we have, that will be agreed between you and me.
    There are times when i am free to come and work with you, but I will also need you to be able to work on your own at the agreed tasks, if I can't come.

    If you are skilled with things regarding maintenance, building, carpentry, that is perfect.
    If you know how to install renewable energy, that is wonderful.
    I would like to use solar and wind energy, but with a low budget.
    I would also like to build more rainwater harvesting systems.
    It would also be interesting to create a way of heating when it's cold, having a warm shower and isolating better the windmill.
    All these ideas might need sometime and good thoughts on them and I need the help of people who know about it, as I am not skilled with any of these.
    if you enjoy gardening and have knowledge about plants and permaculture, you can also give a help, I am planting some little trees, trying to make a living hedge, cleaning the land and cutting branches of the older trees.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You can either sleep inside the windmill, which is very small and very basic, but it is suitable for 2 persons, or camp under the pine trees. If you come with your campervan, you can use the windmill and sleep in the van, as you prefer. If you come with a car or van it will be perfect, as you can move around the area and be more independent.

    Remember: there is no electricity, no running water and no plug-in at the windmill. The staying here is very raw and basic. For warmer days it is very pleasant, but in the winter time it can be a bit rough :)
    I have a cistern that collects some rain water, that I am only using for the plants, as there is no filter system and we will drive to a fountain to bring some water for washing up and cooking.
    The dry toilet is a basic one, which must be kept clean and emptied by each user. There is a camping shower, for a refreshing shower outside.
    I would like to have some kind of heating for the colder months, but still need to think what suits better there.
    In the winter you might have some amazing sunny days, but it might as well get rainy, windy and humid, only suitable for people that don't mind to be there with harsher conditions.
    As the windmill is located some 5 km from the next little village, whenever you feel like going to "civilization" you will either need to walk down and uphill, take a bike or try to hitchhike, if you don't have a vehicle yourself and if I am not there.

    Regarding food, let's talk and agree what is best for you and me. My availability changes throughout the year and there are times where I won't be able to come to the windmill and bring you food everyday.
    I will provide you with some resources for you to cook for yourself or to eat raw, but whenever i can i will bring you a warm homemade meal.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your time off, you may want to walk or take a bike and go to one of the beaches for a swim or to do any kind of surf that you enjoy. They are located around 5km from the windmill.
    You might also go for walks in nature or visit the villages and towns close by.
    The windmill is placed a bit far from villages, but once you get there you can take a bus to arrive to the biggest towns.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    My place is perfect for people coming with their own campervans or cars, there is space to park and you will be more independent to move around and discover!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets are welcome, as long as they are used to be in nature, behave calm and respect any wild animal who lives there :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 4 or 5 days a week, or less time if that's better for you and me





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 512732354211