Come and help out with childcare in a vibrant and diverse area of West Auckland, New Zealand


Nueva Zelanda

30 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    Come and experience life out in Glen Eden West Auckland, gateway to the Waitakere Ranges and Karekare, Piha beach.
    Mieszko is mostly English from the North with Polish/Irish heritage, he has known to friends as the Polish English Jordy,
    He is a big football fan that has travelled and loves to socialise.
    Mieszko does not speak much polish so if you do, well fantastic because we would love the kids to learn, their grandfather in the UK speaks fluent Polish.
    His work keeps him pretty busy as he is transforming Down town Auckland as Portfolio Delivery Director. He can give you great tips of life in the city and where to do and hang out for some culture.

    Kerri is as Kiwi as they come, and works as an Early Childhood teacher for Play and Learn in one of Auckland glorious and oldest parks Cornwall Park.

    She has been teaching for 20 years and has lots of experience and knowledge.

    Kerri's sister is interested in sustainability and has gotten the family into composting and thinking about waste and recycling so we care about the environment.
    Kerri also loves beaches, swimming, fishing and anything that is outside.
    Kiwi's love to use the BBQ if the weather is nice and cook outside and relax with a beverage so that is a fun part of summer.
    Kerri has carpal tunnel syndrome and osteoarthritis, although you would not no this by knowing me.
    Im energetic and I don't sit still for long unless im sewing or painting or learning Te reo Maori.

    When she is not working you may find her in the garden or running errands for the kids or reading, or fixing stuff in her shed.
    This summer is almost over but Autumn is very lovely too, and our house has an internal heating system for winter.

    Aniela is 6 and she is a very happy go lucky young lady, she enjoys drawing, drawing and drawing, with occasional running, dancing, fashion, friends and bike riding and scootering.
    She doesn't like tidying her room.
    At the moment her passion is monkey bars.
    Also I don't like people drawing for her, if you draw for a child they can become less confident about their own drawing.
    I also don't like colouring books with template or worksheets.
    Ive bought her up to reuse, repurpose, and be creative.

    Lukasz is 4 but wants to be five and thinks he can do anything a 5 year old can, his favourite pastimes are jumping and generally living life on the edge, football, bike riding and scootering.
    He is a loud, crazy, fun and innovative boy, he is musical, and big on ideas and has more energy than most boys.
    You must be able to try to respect his ideas, and have sound reasoning skills and be able to compromise, he has been bought up to reason and problem solve.
    I don't believe children learn by being told everything that can go wrong in life, let them make mistake and learn how to fix those mistakes and there is a pretty high chance they will be active thinkers that don't repeat those mistakes.
    He doesn't like wearing shoes.

    Both kids are pretty busy with school, Kindy, Swimming but also just love adventure and down time.
    Our children help with everything, they unpack groceries, are responsible for their rooms, help in the garden, fix stuff, they are independent.

    Kerri's Dad helps out with childcare as well, Ian's passions are travel and he is widely travelled chances are he has been to your homeland.
    He also used to teach English as a second language and would be helpful with travel tips.
    He has also worked in the car industry all his life and has only just retired, so he has just helped the current workaday find a car.
    If you have time to listen his stories are elaborative.
    My Mum loves animals and has dogs and shows them in dog shows and does agility, you will see a bit of my parents if my dad is not away traveling.

    We like to think we are really easy going and friendly and would make anyone feel at home and relaxed.
    We don't have many house rules, just be open and communicate and be honest.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    To the West of Glen Eden is Oratia where you will find farmers markets and vineyards, To the East is New Lynn with trendy eateries and shopping malls.
    Southwest is a Suburb called Titirangi.
    West Auckland has stunning Fauna and Flora and trees, it is a diverse area with so much to offer.
    We are not far from the centre of Glen Eden and a 15 m walk to the train station, bus services at the end of our road.
    There is so much to do and see in Auckland, we don't consider ourselves close to Auckland CBD, but its only 40 minutes on a train.
    We have an Auckland transport Hop card set up for you to use on your time here, its Kerri's so she will share it and top it up sometimes.
    Im sure you could learn a thing or two about Infrastructure and Urban town planning from Mieszko and he will chew your ear off if you want to talk about football, and from Kerri Learn about Children's development and why children are becoming risk adverse and what skills children need to survive nowadays to grow up to be contributing to society.
    Auckland is a vibrant diverse town, if your open to learning then you can learn what ever you want.
    We have close friends in the neighbourhood, and I think you learn by listening to people and hearing there stories.
    We would rather go out than stay indoors so there is always going to be something to do and visit with us.

    It could all just be really fun...... come stay awhile we are open to someone staying awhile.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    You main role would be to take Aniela to school and pick her up after, the school is 10 minutes walk away.
    There is an electric car if you are a keen driver.

    Also general help around the house.

    The children have been learning Polish so if you speak Polish then we would love to teach them some more, us as well.

    Cooking wise, you would make dinner on a Monday and a Wednesday. We typically have a food box that has all the food and recipes of how to cook the meal.
    We don't have much in the way of foods with sugar in the house but they can have treats on weekends and I don't mind if you buy your own sweets but you have to keep them in your room and not eat them in front of the kids.

    We will provide basic food, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, breakfast and Lunch in NZ is very casual and you just find your own from what we have.
    There are usually plenty of leftover in the fridge for lunch.
    Kiwi's do not have a big sit down lunch, we will eat out in the garden, or grab some food to take with us or mostly forget to eat lunch.
    I hear that is different from other cultures.

    I am trying to use a refill station for most baking ingredients, like flour, baking powder, cleaning products, so if a container of rice or something gets low please tell me before it runs out.
    If you like to bake please bake for us, id love that.

    Because we have both travelled and Kerri has worked as a Nanny in England and America in her past before kids we know what it means to be a good host and enable a workaday to develop there own life away from home and have days where we won't need you at all, it would be just about achieving a balance between us all to keep everyone happy.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Maori: Principiante
    Polaco: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    It’s is so beneficial to be exposed to new languages I love this for my children. We would love to learn more Polish and begin learning Spanish.

  • Alojamiento


    Single dwelling house Small study off the garage with desk and chair, single bed bed wardrobe, Internet, tv, your own access through the garage if you want but most people just use the main access with us.
    You would share a bathroom with the children with a bath and a shower.
    You could help keep it clean.
    There is a fridge in the garage as well for your drinks and any special foods you buy.
    We like all food but Aniela is diary intolerant so she has rice milk and olive oil spread.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    It would be ideal to have someone very responsible and independent and with initiative when it comes to caring for our house.
    We have lovely indoor and outdoor spaces so just treat it as your home and look after it.
    Mindfullness is a must, someone that is Able to think about others and has maybe come from a big family and has a lot to teach us as well. Must be female.
    We want to learn from you, teach us your language.
    We are so close to the train and bus services I imagine they would like to just go off and explore but we do have 2 cars in the family if you are a confident driver over 25, any younger and you are not insured on our policy.

    There is a great initiative called EcoMatters and they have a hub in New Lynn where you can purchase sustainable products, this is where I refill my shampoo and conditioner and cleaning products.
    They also have a bike hub where you could buy a cheap bike or go to fix your bicycle and access free use of tools and maps, this is where my children have got there bikes from.
    Google them.
    Ecco matter and bike hub New Lynn

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.5)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 487157335297