Help us make new from old with a recycling pioneer life in Yamaguchi, Japan

  • Japón
  • 611 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes



  • Descripción


    Welcome to our page!!

    We cultivate our expansive land in Yamaguchi, Japan through hard work and a forward thinking mindset. We live in a historic Japanese house that we are in the process of remodeling ourselves. Some of our ongoing projects include erecting new buildings, rennovating land for a large campsite, and preparing farmland for growing fruit and tea. Through these projects, our goal is to create an environment where people from all walks of life can work and live together. We live an old-fashioned life!

    Traditional culture and ways of doing things are important, but it's also important to embrace new and better ways of doing things. We become smarter and wiser people by accepting different schools of thought, introduced by the new people who come to stay with us. We embrace new ideas and are always making changes!

    Do you like the outdoors? Do you work hard and play hard?
    Would you rather have fun getting your hands dirty as opposed to sitting behind a desk all day?
    If you answered yes to any of these questions, we want YOU!

    Note: We are usually very busy during the day and can only check messages in the morning and at night. You can contact us by phone in the days before your arrival.

    The minimum length of stay for workawayers is one month. However, we prefer to accept people who can stay longer.

    We would ask workawayers to help with our various projects for around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. If there's a job you prefer, or if you have any specific knowledge or interest in a job, we can accomodate your preferences.
    In exchange, we provide all the food and work clothes you might need, and you will have a private room in our main house.

    If you have your international driver's liscense, we may ask you to drive a vehicle as part of your work. On your days off, you may borrow one of our vehicles if one is available, in exchange for a small donation of 500 yen going toward afghan refugee families. On long trips, we ask you to pay for the fuel you use.

    Meat is stored in the freezer because we always buy meat that is close to its expiration date. Some ingredients may already be expired by the time you find them.
    We buy food that is close to expiring in order to reduce food waste and save money. We feel very strongly about not wasting food, so we try to use everything we buy.
    Of course, inedible foods are fed to the dogs and chickens.
    If you don't have enough of the foods you like, we can go shopping together once a week.
    You are in charge of making your own meals. Occasionally, someone may volunteer to make dinner for everyone. Please share your personal cuisine if you feel confident!

    The bathroom is being renovated and may feel like it's half outdoors, as you can see in the photo.
    During the winter, the inside of the house is very cold. This is because it’s in the process of being renovated, so the house is not very airtight.
    Inside the house we have our feet on the ground, and we mainly work outside, so dust tends to accumulate.
    There is a henhouse next to the main house, so you will most likely wake up in the morning to the sound of chickens.
    It's a tought living environment for people who are used to city life. We use a fireplace instead of electric heating, so there's not that much temperature control. We have hot water bottles you can use.

    We ask that everyone work together to cook, clean and maintain the house. If you enjoy working together with others this is the kind of place where there are lots of chances for you to consider what you can do for others and the house as a whole.

    We are looking for people who want to grow and become better, who is willing to cooperate with others and challenge themselves.
    We are looking forward to meeting you and sharing some of our lifestyle with you. We hope to learn from you, as well!

    everyone are not perfect so we respect for strive!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are making a simple life which is based on necessities.
    We'd like to help make your dreams and wishes of your trip to Nippon real.

  • Ayuda


    [Contents of main help]
    +Orchard management
    (Cutting the grass, burning vegetation, planting trees, and cutting/moving firewood)

    (Adding to and maintaining the main house, making camping huts, and more..)

    (Taking care of chickens, making the campsite, household chores, maintaining the forest, demolishing abandoned houses and so on...)


    We generally have activities that involve Recycling and Updating.

    We really need your help to clean-up and tidy-up. In the city we have an old, abandoned house. We have dense brush in the forest, and we do periodic thinning to have good air movement in the forest.

    We live a pioneer lifestyle, so we have to set basic lifelines by our self.
    We have many houses and places. We have a lot of empty properties, so we often start projects from almost nothing.

    + we demolish old, abandoned houses for income, if you are lucky you may find something interesting.
    + the house we live in still needs a lot of renovations, so if you are interested you can help with construction.
    + fruit orchards need to be maintained and grass needs to be cut, this is one of harder jobs, especially in the summer!
    + sometimes we go and maintain the forest

    We also need someone who loves house keeping. (We currently really need someone who can)
    We are happy to ask someone to spend a few hours a day and keep the house in shape.
    For example
    +cooking simple meals, we like very simple meals
    +cleaning the kitchen, toilets, bathroom, and common space
    +gathering up trash

  • Idiomas hablados

    Japonés: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    Traditional Nippon style house.

    + basic private room separated by patched shoji or fusuma.
    + two kitchen and shower, two toilets
    + futon sleeping on tatami mat
    + no air conditioner/heater

    NOTE: The accommodation is quite basic, the building was renovated/built by us, so be prepared for "pioneers" style sleeping.

    We offer you basic Nippon food ingredients.
    There is a local grocery nearby bicycle distance, if you need a anything extra.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are the reception, we'd like to be an open house for everyone.
    We want you to have a good memory of Japan!

    ARRIVAL INFORMATION - To get here please come to the train station, then you can call us using the public pay phone there - it will cost 10 yen every 6 sec, and we will come around in 10 minutes to pick you up.
    Or if you are fine with walking about 3km from the nearest station, we will give you the address - let us know.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Internet is weak, so you can only use it around the kitchen. But it is a public space so don't be shy.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 486877965793

Comentarios (24)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.3)

Come and help with projects on our remote island farm surrounded by beautiful sea and nature in Ama-cho, Japan
Help our family live a self-sufficient life near Niseko, Japan