Join us in building a place to come to for peace and simplicity in Asturias, Spain

Country

España

127 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    15  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 13 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are renovating a farmhouse in beautiful Asturias on the north coast of Spain. We are trying to create a retreat centre where visitors can enjoy the peace and tranquillity of this area and join us in a simple way of life. We use solar power, have our own well, grow our own food and are off grid apart from the Internet.

    We want a lifestyle which is sustainable, and is a part of the local community. As much as possible, we are working with what already exists, reclaiming and renovating rather than building new. We have done a lot of work on part of the house, we have a basic kitchen and bathroom with hot water and life here is fairly comfortable, particularly in the summer.

    We are retired teachers, we have lived in Asturias for over 5 years and we love the relaxed, healthy life here. We are still learning Spanish, but know enough to join in life in our local community. We are Christians, Sunday is a special day which includes going to our local church.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Everyone is very friendly, you will get plenty of opportunities to practice your Spanish if you want to. Before lockdown the local monthly exchange market was a very good place to meet a lot of like-minded people from the surrounding area – we expect this to return.

    The building work we are doing is based on sympathetic renovation of what exists, using recycled and eco-friendly materials. We work with lime mortar rather than cement where possible.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with the buildings and the land. Nobody had lived in the the house for at least 40 years when we bought it so there is lots to do there. Outside we are working on drainage, pathways and fencing. Depending on the season, there is lots to do in the huerta: planting, harvesting, strimming and weeding. There is also field maintenance, clearing weeds with scythe etc. Plus, there is always fetching, cutting and stacking firewood.

    We are interested in a variety of helpers. Do you have knowledge or interest in traditional building techniques, particularly carpentry, or roofing? Are you more interested in seeing organic food growing and being preserved? Or are you happy to just be the muscles moving big wooden beams, trundling wheelbarrows and digging?

    We need help working on the next part of the house. So rebuilding and repointing the stone walls is the current main concern. Some of this is on the house we live in, but we are also working to rescue the beautiful original house which still has a roof but is threatening to fall down soon.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Welsh: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As part of the project you would become part of the family for your stay. We have a stationary motorcaravan available for visitors. There is also a room in the house which is currently a storeroom, but will be available eventually. We will provide food, often mostly from the garden. There is a bathroom with hot shower and a washing machine.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live about half an hour drive from the cities of Gijon and Oviedo and also from the lovely beach of Rodiles. We are surrounded by trees and hills so it’s very quiet and tranquil here. The nearest village is only 2km and has two bars with a small shop attached, a bank and a pharmacy.
    You are welcome to borrow a bicycle to go to the village or explore the area. The bus service from here is limited but frequent buses and the FEVE railway go from Infiesto or Villaviciosa, each about 10 km away. We would usually be happy to give you a lift. There is plenty to do in Asturias, surfing, horse riding, walking. The Camino de Santiago passes through Villaviciosa on its way to Santiago de Compostella in Galicia. from here
    In Asturias you are surrounded by nature. The mountains, forests and beaches are beautiful and unspoilt. Many people come to live here because they are seeking a simpler way of life. The Asturian people are proud of their area and heritage. They are also friendly, quick to laugh and party and also very patient with the foreigners who have come to live here and are struggling to learn to speak Spanish.
    We have two horses, our dog Dora and two independent-minded cats, to occupy our time. Dora is very friendly and mostly well behaved. From the house you can walk for miles through woods and fields and she will be very happy to go with you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours per day, 5 days per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 482274322956