Help with some home projects and explore peaceful Hawai’i, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

84 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Aloha workwayers

    I have a home in the Pahoa area with a small jungle like garden.
    I am a traveler at heart and used Workaway many times to volunteer my time on various projects all over the world and it has always been an enriching experience.
    I am looking forward to be a host and help travelers get a glimpse of local Hawaiian culture and experience the special beauty of Hawai’i’s nature and culture.
    The help I need involves the garden and the house nothing complicated but some skills appreciated.
    This is a very peaceful place, with lots of birds to watch and listen to. The house is very comfortable and I have a very quiet lifestyle.
    I love to listen to music and dance.
    Although some neighbors are sometimes noisy overall this is a very quiet place and it’s wonderful to stare at the garden breathe it in and experience a meditative state.
    People with a quiet lifestyle early to bed early rising and attentive to details are especially welcome.

    One note of importance to me is that
    I have chemical sensitivities and I ask that no one uses perfumes colognes or body care products with strong scents as well as laundry detergent with chemicals but you can use mine to do laundry anyway.
    Also only non smokers please and no incense.
    I do use essential oils.
    It is important to note that you must have enough data on your cellular service if you need to spend extensive time on the internet as I unfortunately have no wifi service and use my own cellular service on my phone to access internet.
    Also the local libraries - although currently closed due to Covid - are all providing free internet service to card holders and it is easy to sign up for one online.
    Looking forward to talk with you and work out a plan! 🌈🌺🌴

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    So much to do and explore on Hawai’i island
    One of the highlights of Hawai’i is water and its many waterfalls and of course the ocean.
    Keep in mind that the community in Puna had a devastating volcanic eruption two years ago and many are still rising from the ashes in this community and that we lost incredible pristine places of nature.
    But there is still much to be grateful for and to enjoy and hiking across the crater floor is one amazing experience of many.
    Privacy and respect of people properties are keys if you venture off the beaten path.
    Hawaiian culture, history and language are all fascinating to me and I can point out more than a few things to explore and learn.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Aloha Workawayers
    I would welcome some help with small home projects such as painting installing blinds staining a concrete porch and some roof tasks (involving moving and climbing ladders along the roof line but not involving any danger).

    I would prefer a male or a couple as I have a neck injury and it is hard for me to carry or move heavy things.

    The garden is always a work in progress and there is lots to do there too. In fact it’s about 50/50 between house and garden help.

    No specific skills required but an attention to details and moving through space inside the house with gentle care is needed.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Italian: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is two story, one of the bedrooms downstairs will be yours and you can have your own bathroom too. Unless I have a guest in the other bedroom downstairs but that happens rarely.

    What would work best for me is an arrangement for a room in my home and no food which ultimately gives you more time for exploring the island and even hop over to another island for a few days.
    The equivalent 10 to 12 hours or 2 hours a day 5 days a week can be done in 3 days then you have 4 days off to explore!!
    All that said if someone needs an arrangement that includes food too I am flexible and open to discuss any alternative.
    Having a car is definitely recommended on the big island, there isn’t any adequate bus schedule or routing to see remote places.

    I still like to share my food with my guests and share meal cooking from time to time as cooking for each other is a great way to make food more interesting.
    You will find that I am more generous than not!
    .
    I don’t eat a lot of meat and don’t mind if you do
    I don’t subscribe to the horrendous exploitation of animals in the meat industry so I only eat sustainably produced pastured raised grass fed meat which we have locally here on Hawai’i island.
    I also don’t subscribe to plastic packaging and always try to be mindful of not buying food that’s packaged in a ton of plastic. Unfortunately Covid has increased the use of plastic packaging in food stores tremendously again.
    In Hawai’i in particular it is really important to ward for plastic and choose wisely because all that plastic put in the land field easily end up in the stomach of wildlife and it is really tragic.
    So your mindfulness would be really appreciated.
    For the same environmental reason I try not to use a lot of electric current, if I walk out of a room I turn off the light and I also do not use fans. Hawai’i has most of the time a pleasant breeze and the house is well insulated so there is no need to use fans.
    Electricity also costs 30 to 40% more than it does on the American continent too, something to take into consideration for your host wallet but the environment as well.

    I have a healthy lifestyle and eat healthy and find that a no sugar diet is amazing
    Lots of wonderful fruit here to satisfy that sweet tooth.
    It is still nice to indulge in something sweet as in cake or pie once in a while and as a French I can definitely make pastry!

    And a few things to clarify about house living
    I like to have a clean house especially the floors so we don’t wear shoes in the house and if we walk outside barefoot then we wash our feet before returning inside as not to track garden soil and dirt into the house.
    Use of kitchen is self explanatory we wash dishes after we use them, wipe stove if we spill and keep counter surfaces clean to avoid cockroaches
    Which we haven’t had any yet in 2020!
    Also please keep your own space clean and your bathroom should be cleaned at least once every two weeks. Thank you for your consideration
    All that said I have no ocd tendencies and life is to be enjoyed not spent scrubbing. Lol
    Hawai’i is just a high maintenance place in general it sometimes rains a lot here and things can easily happen and build up in a bad way if we don’t pay attention. So once again attention to detail is necessary.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I can point out many things to do and will happily help you research or research for you what interests you

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Depending on situation

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Flexible 10 hours a week up (up to 12 hours if you like to work very leisurely and this can be done over just 3 days so you have more time to explore the island

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 474149841761