Enjoy our peaceful farm, learn about animal husbandry, help with weeding, mending in Port Macquarie, Australia

Country

Australia

37 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/03/2020

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live on a beef cattle farm on the mid-north coast. It is located 40 minutes drive from Port Macquarie town and beaches and 20 minutes from Wauchope and the nearest train station. This place is a really good option for someone on their way between Sydney and Brisbane who wants to break the trip for a few weeks. We have hosted many travellers in the past and really enjoy sharing our beautiful part of the country with them. Our property is very peaceful, with few neighbours and the opportunity to explore the local bush and countryside.

    We are a middle aged couple with a grown up family. My husband works from home and I work in Port Macquarie during the week as a teacher. We have horses, goats, chickens, dogs and cows . We have a 2nd farm near Kempsey where we run cattle so sometimes we go over there to work as well.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our property is regularly visited by local wildlife such as wallabies. As a biology teacher and ecologist I love to share my knowledge of our unique Australian animals. I always ensure that our visitors have an opportunity to visit the local Koala hospital and am happy to take you into the bush to teach you more about the Australian environment. We practise sustainable farming, and people who stay with us learn about animal husbandry, how to care for cattle and horses. We often have cows calving and like to share this experience with people who have not been around many large farm animals before.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Usual chores include general farm/house maintenance such as weeding, pruning, cleaning windows, fixing fences etc. Sometimes you may have to work alone but often you will be working with one of us. if you have other experience such as with tractors or chainsaws please let us know.

    We welcome people with previous horse experience but unfortunately there is little opportunity for beginner and novice riders because none of our horses are suitable. I currently only have one horse who can be ridden and she is for experienced riders only. I have a yearling at the moment who would benefit from getting to know other people and having them around while I handle him and start his training.

    We are particularly looking for someone or a couple over the Christmas period, late December- January, as I will be on school holidays.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in our house with us, we have 2 spare bedrooms, one with a single bed and one with a queen bed. They are both near to the downstairs bathroom which will be yours during your stay. We will supply all food, though you can prepare your own breakfast, often we will share lunch and we are happy to cook dinner. Many of our travellers will cook a meal or two from their country for us during their stay which we always enjoy.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are not near public transport, however as I work in town I am always happy to drive people into town for their day off. Port Macquarie is a great tourist town with lots of activities and things to see such as the beaches, coastal walk and koala hospital.
    It is expected that you will keep your own room and bathroom clean aswell as helping with general household chores such as cleaning up after dinner. It is expected you will do your own washing but of course you are welcome to use our washing machine and clothes line.
    We cannot accept smokers for health reasons.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 466323142566