Help us with gardening and home projects in Jerslev, Denmark

Country

Dinamarca

10 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 15 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a small family of two plus a dog and a cat. We are Mona (49) and Uffe (55) and have lived in the countryside on a former farm in the north of Jutland for the past 4,5 years. We have a (big) loving dog named Kalle. He is half Riesenschnauzer and half Border Collie and is a very happy and active dog. We also have a cat named Ronja. She is minding her own business and tries to avoid the dog as much as possible. She is only allowed to be inside in the laundry room - or outside of course.
    Mona works part time two days a week as a teacher teaching German at an exceptional teaching facility for elementary school. Mona is fluent in both Danish, German, and English. She is born in Germany but has lived in Denmark since 1996. She spent a year as an au pair in the United States in 94/95. She also teaches basketmaking in her workshop at home. You will have the opportunity to learn how to make a basket with willow, while you stay here.
    Uffe works as a machinist/engineer maintaining the machines in a place where they make reinforcing steel for construction work among others. Uffe is an early riser and mostly leaves the house around 5 AM. He has trouble sleeping at night and you will often find him sitting in his office during the night when he can't sleep. Uffe has worked on container ships traveling all around the world during his education starting when he was only 17 years old. So, he has visited many countries in the world.

    We have only lived in our home for 4,5 years and we are working on many projects at the same time: garden projects, building projects and all the other fun stuff that comes along on our way. We are both limited concerning our health. So sometimes things don't get done as quickly as we want, because we are in bad shape and need to go slow. Mona has suffered from arthritis since she was a teenager but is coping quite well considering. Uffe is mainly just worn down from a lifetime with hard physical work.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you would like to learn about willow – planting, harvesting, soaking, basketmaking – this is a great opportunity to do so. Also, Mona likes to share her knowledge about gardening, but is also interested in learning new things in that area as well. We are trying to practice gardening in the “no dig” concept but are still learning and gathering experience.
    We like to talk about travels, even though we don’t travel a lot ourselves anymore. Instead, we would like to invite the world to our home. If you enjoy spending time outdoors – no matter, what the weather might be like – and you enjoy the solitary of living “off the grid”, this is the perfect place for you to be. If you would like to spend some time in the capital of North Jutland, Aalborg, we can easily arrange transportation to either Aalborg or the nearest train station in Brønderslev.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a garden in the making that Mona really likes to get some help with. In the fall we have a lot to do harvesting and getting the garden ready for winter. Mona also grows her own willows for basketmaking. These are harvested during the winter (November-January) and is hard, physical work. You need to have good knees, a good back, and strong hands. All willows are cut with pruning shears by hand. They also must be sorted and bundled. Especially the willow harvest is something, we really need help with.
    There could also be other work around the house and garden that we would like to get some help with. However, at this time of year (winter), the willow harvest is our priority.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Danish: Fluido
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our home is not a big house with a lot of room for guests. However, Monas office has a small bed for guests (200 cm x 70 cm with a good mattress). You would have your own toilet and a small sink but must share a bathroom with us. We have a washing machine and a dryer which you are free to use. We try to keep our house clean but remember that we do share our home with pets. “Gardening forever – housework whenever” hits the nail on the head in this home. But feel free to grab the vacuum cleaner whenever you like.
    You will have access to our Wi-Fi during your stay. You are welcome to join us during mealtime when we are at home. Otherwise, the kitchen is at your disposal.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The northern part of Jutland has a lot to offer for tourists. Even though the winter might not be the most attractive time of year for tourists, we still have lots of attractions worth seeing. About twenty minutes north of us you can visit the town Hjørring which in 2021 has the title of being “Christmas Town of the Year”. There are shops, a mall, a movie theatre, an art museum, historic sites, and lots of other interesting things to experience in and around Hjørring.
    If you prefer to enjoy nature rather than city life, there are lots of opportunities here as well. Only 30 minutes by car from our place you can get to either the west coast or the east coast. If you travel about an hour north, you reach Skagen – the top of Denmark and quite a special place. We will do our best to help you find sights and activities to your liking.
    We don't go out a lot ourselves. We enjoy staying at home, working on building projects, gardening, walking the dog, and just relax once in a while. Uffe smokes e-cigarettes (odorless) in and around the house. All other kind of smoking must be done outside.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have lots of room for parking a campervan or motorhome. You will be able to connect to both water and power.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 456329125254