Tree planting and help with our vegetable gardens on Wolfe Island, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple who recently moved to Wolfe Island Ontario from Quebec. Gary is a retired biologist who worked his whole career in conservation and land management. Sophie is currently working part time for the Hotel on Wolfe Island. Four years ago, we purchased a 41 acre property on Wolfe Island. We recently built our retirement home and plan to mostly live off of our land, growing our own vegetables and enjoying the nature around us. Gary recently received a foundation grant to convert 38 acres of our agricultural land into native grasses and wild flowers.
    We have lots of hobbies. Sophie loves to read, cook, crochet and knit and plans to start growing willow to get into weaving baskets. Gary also loves to read, cook, bake bread, hunt for deer and wild turkey, fish, and plans to resume brewing his beer. We live on the water and enjoy kayaking, canoeing and swimming in the St-Lawrence river.

    We have two grown children who come to visit from Montreal, Quebec and we have an Australian Labradoodle named Cobble. Gary speaks English. Sophie Speaks French, English and understands some Spanish.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a tight-knit community on the Island. We have ongoing activities through the year: seasonal market, musical concerts, summer yoga classes, a lovely sandy beach and lots of spontaneous gatherings. We are also a ferry ride away from the city of Kingston which has movie theatres, restaurants, shopping, concerts arts and cultural events. This is a nature lover's paradise. Wolfe Island is the biggest of the thousand islands and offers beautiful landscapes, great wildlife, a large bird population, bicycle trails and striking water views. Travellers would learn how to use their skills, practice English and/or French and experience discovering a very original place.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love to have help building raised beds for our vegetable gardens, Planting 3 acres of gardens (tree planting, shrubs, ornamental and vegetable gardens) , building a compost shed, a covered wood shed, a kayak rack and cleaning the beach. Our helpers should have basic carpentry and or gardening skills and have some physical strength.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am fluently bilingual in French (my mother tongue) and English. I learned Spanish when I was in High school and love to get a chance to practice although I am very rusty. My husband Gary only speaks English.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a 500 square foot apartment with a queen sized bed, bathroom with shower and a small living room above our garage. We also have a guest bedroom in our house with two twin beds and bathroom with shower. We like to prepare and serve meals in the main house or outdoor when the weather permits. Workers can participate in the meal prep if they want but Sophie and Gary are more than happy to take care of meals. We love to eat lots of vegetables, meats of various kinds, homemade yogurt and lots of fruit. We like to focus on local and organically grown food as much as possible. We are happy to accommodate someone who is vegetarian or vegan. We have a laundry machine and a clothes line or dryer on the property.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During their time off, helpers can kayak, canoe and swim. On the island, they can also discover Big Sandy Bay and its sandy beach (one of the biggest sand beaches on the Great Lakes), on weekends, music is played on the patio at the hotel and there is a 9 hole golf club on the island. We have two ferries leaving Wolfe Island. The Wolfe Island ferry travels to and from Kingston every hour and one can tour the city of Kingston, Fort Henry, Queen's University, Downtown Kingston. The Horne's ferry operates from May to October and travels to Cape Vincent New York. There you can stroll around the picturesque and historic village of Cape Vincent and its shops. It is also important to know that we live 20 km from the village or the ferry so we will have to shuttle our helpers when they wish to go somewhere on their time off. Also, cell coverage is not great on the island. We are so close to the U.S. border that our phone will go to roaming unless we are on the North side of the island. However, since we have internet, phones will work well with Messenger, FaceTime or Skype. Wolfe Island is very windy. Helpers will have to plan for different clothing to accommodate to wind, mud (spring or fall). Our island can also be very buggy in the Spring. We are early risers and like to be very active during the day, so we are probably not a good match for a night owl. We absolutely insist on a non smoking environment.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our WIFI is decent enough. We are going to get an upgrade soon. We are able to watch Netflix on our TV so it's not too bad. We have an office at home with a printer and are fully equipped for someone who needs to work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can accommodate a van or a camper up to 30 feet and can provide a 30 amp trailer plug in. However, there is no trailer dump station on the island.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Potentially depending on the pet.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 452637287762