Help at my small resort and farm in Blackman Eddy, Belize

Country

Belice

141 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am retired and run a small resort in the village of Blackman Eddy in the Cayo district of Belize. I was born and brought up in Placencia in the south then at age 17 went to live in the UK where I spent most of my adult life, returned to Belize in 2001.
    I have dogs, cats, birds and love to do my bit for the environment, I also have a small garden where I grow vegetables and fruits. This area is a little neglected as my workers have other things to take care of, my paying guests also need attention and that part is top priority at the farm/resort.
    I like to cook but do not have the time, I don't eat lots of meats and I am sort of semi-vegetarian. I am a tidy freak and don't like untidiness, it actually makes me grumpy. If you come to help please don't eat in your room any meals or snacks
    and leave your room as if a bomb has hit it, always live tidy, We have creepy crawlers like ants, bugs etc. and love any food droppings left behind and then we could get an infestation.
    I don't smoke or take any kind of drugs legal or illegal, I am a Buddhist and try to live by the teachings.
    If you smoke cigarettes and drink alcohol I have not got a problem with that, for smoking we have a huge verandah and ashtrays available. You can drink alcohol if you wish also.
    When you come or if you want to let me know beforehand how long you wish to stay, that would be great because that helps me to plan my life and other schedules, also theres help I could do with and I shall stick to my side of the Workaway philosophy, 5 hours per day. You stick to it too and if you don't I will ask you to find somewhere else to stay, I advise you not to come if you are a freeloader and just want a place to stay and don't want to help. The help is not hard.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    While you are here we shall do our best to make you feel at home.
    There are other full time workers here, Miguel does manual labour and Rosa my housekeeper.
    If you like to cook feel free, I tend to eat on the go. My kitchen is well equipped and have everything you need but be a clean and tidy cook.
    If I am going to town I can give you a ride, other than that you have to get the bus.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Any kind of help pertaining to a farm/resort.
    Additionally whatever the volunteer can offer, they may have something to share i.e
    Artist,may be musical or have a hobby.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Double bedroom with ensuite bathroom WiFi and all facilities. outdoor patio, hammocks, garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I live close to the highway(400yds), busses are every half an hour except on Sundays.
    20 minutes by car to the town of San Ignacio and Belmopan.
    There is also the Mennonite community in Spanish Lookout(10mins) you can get just about anything there. There are no busses that go there but hiking is an acceptable way and quite safe to do. There is always a ride if I am going there for supplies you can tag along.
    You can do a lot of stuff by yourself, Mayan temples, caves, rivers etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 449956498797