Come and join a small manor farm turned into a cultural hub in Puglia, Italy

Country

Italia

417 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    1071

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi everybody,

    We are Simona and Sandro, an Italian couple that has been living all over the world for the last few years. Simona works in education and Sandro is a science journalist. We decided to settle down in Apulia, that is also the region we come from. Simona's family has an old manor farm down there that we have been completely renovated and called La Controra - some minor details are still to be done actually! - in order to move and live there with the idea of combining our jobs and interests with a much more relaxed life-style and to bring something new to the community.

    About the town, Manduria - where we're staying - it gets busier in the summer and you would have plenty of opportunities to enjoy local festivals, the marvellous sea, concerts and events around here and in the major cities in the nearby (Lecce is only 40 km away and it's one of the pearls of Barocco in Italy. A place you can't miss!). Having a car would be easier for you. However,if you don't have it and you need mine from time to time, we could share it once we get to know each other - refilling the fuel and driving safe are the only requirements!

    You would have a private room here at La Controra. According to the time of the year we could give you a room with private bathroom - bigger and brighter, with more comforts - or a smaller room with a bathroom located a few steps up and shared with the co-workers. This depends if you're coming in the busy high season or in the low season.

    We would love to meet simple and curious people with a true love for any form of knowledge, art or science and who care about themselves and the environment. We really like the vibrant atmosphere we get from the cities - where we often have to be back for work - but in the end we love spending our nights chatting about music, films, literature or planning new activities with a glass of the local red wine, some good local food and nice friends around.
    If you are an artist of any kind, it would be also nice for us to organize some small events in Manduria where you can exhibit/perform or maybe just some occasions to exchange your skills with local people and local artists. Or, it would be great if you'd like to make something for us here in order to make our place special :)

    Mostly, we'd ask you to help us in running the place. We both work so it might be you have to clean and tidy the co-working space, arrange the place for some workshops or activities, do some gardening or diy work.

    If you find yourself having a similar profile, please do not hesitate to contact us for more info!

    Looking forward to meeting you,

    Simona, Sandro & the cats!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you've never been in the south of Italy, you'll be amazed and baffled at the same time. Get ready to be plunged into the wild nature, beautiful seaside, old traditions, a very rural environment and some peculiar (and a little bit messy) streets. You'll love Lecce, Taranto and Bari - the biggest cities around here - but you'll never forget the small white villages like Ostuni, Cisternino, Locorotondo, Ceglie, full of history and culture. Here in Manduria you can learn a lot about wine and oil making - there is a great museum just a few minutes walking from the house - about history - we had the US army here during the II World War and there is a strong relationship with relatives of the old veterans, a museum and old memorabilia. Finally, you can relax on one of the best Italian seashores and learn a lot about marine envirnoments.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Some general maintenance but especially help to run the place (clean and tidy the art space for workshops and classes). Some diy projects as well.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Chino (mandarín): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I'd be interested in learning German (I know some bits of it), Norway or Swedish or maybe just to go back on my Chinese. Anyway, this is not the main purpose of our hosting.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private room in a flat shared with us or the whole flat next to ours but with less comforts.

    I will provide fresh fruit and vegetables for workawayvers on a daily basis and I will fill the cupboard with breakfast goods for their arrival. I will also offer them some typical food from our local cusine (a meal twice per week). For all the other meals, they should buy and cook themselves: I have a two-flame basic cooktop where they can boil water for pasta, rice or whatever they prefer to cook. A tanker truck brings us water periodically but we prefer not to drink it. Therefore, I usually walk to the closest fountain (5/6 minute walking) to fill in bottles or tanks and have dinkable water. They should do the same for themselves.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You'll basically have all your day off except for the time you'll spend feeding the cats and taking care of them.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    It would be great for us to host digital nomads. La Controra is a bnb and co-working/art space that we'd love to fill with people travelling to Manduria from all around the World, work here, share their knowledge and do some networking.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day 5 days a week (MAX 20 hours per week)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 448352422612