Help feed newborn calves on an Irish dairy farm

Country

Irlanda

330 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a dairy farm based in Kilkenny, We have lots of animals including - Dogs, hens, cats, peacocks and cows! We live in a house built in the 1700’s which is set in the countryside surrounded by beautiful trees and a walled garden.

    There are six of us in the family, ourselves & our four grown up children who come and go as they travel, study and work on the farm. We love where we live, enjoy farming, country lifestyle and working with animals. We also enjoy visitors and welcome their stories and lifestyles.

    We are new to Workaway so we currently have no reviews however we have been hosting volunteers through another online volunteer exchange platform for the past 2 years.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    An opportunity to experience farming, Irish country lifestyle, work with animals & practice English. We live near the historical medieval city of Kilkenny and encourage our visitors to experience the rich cultural diversity there.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a number of projects which we would love some help with:

    - Spring calving (February - April)
    Spring is a busy season on the farm when all of the new calves will be born.
    We will need help feeding, caring for & looking after our newborn calves! This is hard physical work in all weathers.

    - Farm chores - Includes herding and moving livestock, managing grassland, cleaning, power washing sheds after the winter.

    - Gardening - Last year we started an organic vegetable garden so we need lots of help weeding, strimming, planting, watering, harvesting etc.

    - Housework - Cooking, cleaning, tidying, dusting, painting, vacuum cleaning etc.

    - Maintenance/repairs - Around the gardens, grounds, farm & house. Pruning, weeding, clearing, chopping timber, cutting the lawns, cleaning & organising sheds.
    We also have a couple of small plastering projects if someone has experience in the area.

    People with carpentry/stone wall building/plastering skills would also be more than welcome.

    - Eco compost heater - We are considering building a Jean Pain style compost powered water heater at some stage in the future. Ideally this would use farm waste to generate hot water for the house or farm, however we are open to suggestions on this project! If anybody has any experience in this area and would like to take this project on that would be great!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Irish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in our home in a large double room (couples/friends), or in a single room. Bathroom facilities are shared.
    All food is provided & assistance with cooking welcomed, we would love to share your traditions too!
    Wifi is provided & a large open fire!
    No Smoking please

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are regular buses to & from Dublin city & airport. (Approx 2 hours)
    We are 12 miles from Kilkenny City and 2 miles from the nearest village where there is a good bus service. Bicycles are provided as well as occasional lifts to town or we can drop you to the bus.

    Kilkenny is a beautiful medieval city with lots of artistic and craft based traditions and has many major Irish tourist attractions such as Kilkenny Castle, Butler Gallery, St. Canices Cathedral & Round tower (One of the only 2 climbable towers in the country), Smithwicks Irish Ale Brewery, Black Abbey, Rothe House & The Kilkenny Design Centre.
    We are also close to Dunmore Caves, Castlecomer Discovery Park, Jenkinstown Woods & Heywood Gardens.

    Other attractions around Kilkenny include Woodstock gardens, Reptile village, Jerpoint Abbey & Kells Priory. We also have plenty of brochures/ local tourist information to help you plan your days off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 446661484751