Help us to restore our home in a beautiful rural countryside in Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

Francia

12 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a middle-aged English couple living with our two friendly dogs and two cats in idyllic rural France in an area called the Tarn. Our mission is to continue the restoration of our lovely home and its peaceful surrounding gardens and land. Deep in beautiful countryside we are located close to historic villages and market towns, and the landscape is perfect for discovering by biking or hiking.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We garden using a cross between the no-dig and permaculture methods and as organically as we can manage, which may be of interest to others. Using power tools is an essential part of our work and we will teach you how to use them safely.

    We love conversation and to learn about the lives of other people, as well as to share our own experiences. We speak English at home and are happy to help you improve your command of the English language.

    Our home is surrounded by wildlife and we are trying to do what we can in order to conserve and improve our land to benefit that.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The help we need is very varied at the Moulin .... so we need someone who is as equally prepared to get stuck into chopping wood as they are to do a bit of cooking or household chores. Some of the chores are strenuous and will involve handling power tools like strimmers and chainsaws - we won't let you do this without ensuring that you are competent in their use and with the correct protective wear. Largely we'll be working alongside you - but there will be times when you need to do the tasks alone.
    Other times we might ask you to make marmalade, pot up plants or do some therapeutic weeding. Sometimes we get a bit fed up with cooking and might ask you to use your shift to prepare the evening meal.
    Its very varied but all of it is important and we're always very appreciative of your hard work.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We speak English fluently and have a good understanding of (slowly spoken!) French.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two rooms available - one a single and one a double with access to a bathroom separate to our own. The living space is shared with us but as our home is spacious you will also have plenty of privacy. We have a swimming pool which is available to use if the weather permits.
    We have wifi but no mobile phone signal but we have good access to the internet - good enough for working.
    Each morning we will put out a breakfast of cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurts and juice for you to help yourself .Lunch and dinner are uusally prepared by us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Although we are happy to collect you from our local station, we think you will find life here easier if you have your own transport. There are no buses or taxis available in our local village, but you can borrow a bicycle and the hiking in the area is lovely. Our nearest village with a bakery, cashpoint and shop is 6kms and our nearest big town is about 24kms away. If we are planning a trip there ourselves we will happily take you with us.

    Locally there are lovely hilltop villages to explore with their weekly markets, the town of Albi with its historic cathedral and busy shopping streets and the gorges and rivers of the Aveyron. We will show you them during your time off.

    We would prefer you to plan your arrival here on a Saturday or Sunday, so that you are ready to start your working week on a Monday. We do not work weekends.

    Our working day begins at 8.30 and we finish at 1.30 for lunch, with a coffee break mid morning. We expect that you would follow the same working pattern as it leaves your afternoons free. During the summer months working in the afternoon is not viable due to the heat.

    Dinner is usually around 7.30pm. We enjoy a varied diet but, due to needing to consider our health more, we are trying to follow a more plant-based diet. We'd love some help with that!

    We are really proud of our home and hope that you will enjoy it and respect it as much as we do. It is important to us that we fulfil our part of the deal by making sure your surroundings are comfortable, that you are happy and that you see something of our region. In return we ask for your help and your humour!

    We cannot welcome smokers, sorry.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have an acceptable internet connection which we have used to run our own remote business. However, our mobile phone signal is non-existent in the house so we use WIFI.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 445522198968