House-sitting an off-grid permaculture home in Matarranya, Aragon, Spain

Country

España

590 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    66  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    458

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 18 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi! We're looking for people who want to live in our tiny off-grid farm in Matarranya, Aragon in August-September 2021.
    And while you're here, keep our dog & cat company, and keep 8 chickens + 2 alpacas alive and happy :-)

    We are Axel (Dutch) and Sandrine (from Belgium), and we moved to Spain to live a simple life - working for ourselves, growing our own food, spend more time doing meaningful or fun things.

    Our house is 100% off the grid; this means we have electricity from our own solar panels and water from our own well. Our property is 3,65 hectares (9 acres) with about 50 olive trees, 200 almond trees, and a few other fruit & nut trees. We have alpacas, dogs, and a bunch of chickens - and "farm stay" style guest accommodations. 

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're happy to share our skills, knowledge and experience with you, and hope for the same in return. 

    Axel has worked in sound, light and climate control - both technical and sales automation.
    He likes building (both traditional building with stones from the land, and carpentry) and is into the technical side of living off the grid (alternative power and such).

    I (Sandrine) run my own online business strategy & marketing agency from home (online). I love helping other entrepreneurs and digital nomads in their business ventures.
    I love cooking and baking with local and seasonal produce and have a permaculture design certificate.

    We love to share what we know with our volunteers, and hope to learn many things from you as well. Especially new recipes!

    We speak Dutch / Flemish with each other, but are happy to speak English when others are around. We both speak some Spanish, usually only when we go out to town though. I speak French (Axel doesn't, which is why I write in English even to French-speaking people) - Axel speaks some German and likes to learn bits of other languages. 

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Throughout the year, we host volunteers in exchange for general help around the property.
    - working on rainwater retention,
    - rebuilding crumbled terrace walls,
    - setting up garden beds,
    - planting, watering & harvesting,
    - cleaning up alpaca pastures,
    - harvesting & processing olives & almonds,...

    It could also include some house sitting, so we can go to the city for the day - or even visit our families up north.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    THIS IS FOR YOU IF
    - You have a positive attitude and hands-on mentality, you're not afraid to get your hands (and feet) dirty, and you would like to experience off-grid life - and maybe start a project of your own one day
    - You’re outgoing: not afraid to speak your mind, ask questions and communicate in a positive and open way.
    - You speak either English, Dutch or Spanish fluently. We find it difficult to communicate about work and safety if there isn’t at least a language in common.
    - You are respectful of other people's property and clean up after yourself

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    HOUSE SITTERS

    At times, we'll be looking for house sitters to stay here while we travel. This mostly means doing the daily chores (feeding
    & watering the animals, watering the garden) + picking up on any problems that may arise + enjoying a bit of a holiday outside of that.

    House sitters need to have their own mode of transportation (in case of emergencies).

    *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️

    Please be aware that we're 7 minutes by car from the nearest village - this is not a place to come if you want to be around people or need a vibrant nightlife. We don't leave the farm too often - a few times a week, usually for a shopping trip or to visit friends. If you're applying for house-sitting, you need a car (non-negotiable) in case of emergencies.

    Unfortunately, we can't accept volunteers with pets of their own (we'd love to, but past experiences have been less than ideal - it's not your dog, it's our dog + alpacas ;-))

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation includes a bedroom and the (shared) use of the sitting room/kitchenette downstairs.
    During warmer months (May-October), there's the option for you to live in the Maset; this is a little stone building about 2 terraces down from the big house. The Maset is the ultimate off-grid experience, as it has its own solar system, a composting toilet and sun-heated water. It's also super-private, as it's got its own access road...

    We share lunch (the main meal of the day) on working days. We also provide you with basic foodstuffs for everyday life, and you have access to your own kitchenette. Our chickens are prolific layers & Sandrine bakes fresh bread (almost) daily.
    Snacks, alcohol and special food are on your account.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are between Lledo and Cretas, in Aragon - close to Catalunya, and about 2 hours by car from Barcelona airport.

    There are plenty of things to do around here if you like nature: hiking in the national park (or in the hills around here), cycle the Via Verde, or visit the local villages and castles. There’s ibex, vultures and other wildlife. In the nearby village of Cretas, you can rent bikes or book a more adventurous way of exploring Els Sports: kayaking, horseback riding, climbing, “multi-adventure”. 
    This is not the place for you if you need a vibrant nightlife.

    We believe good (two-sided) communication is key to you having a good stay here.

    When applying, please mention
    - What languages you speak
    - If you're not travelling alone - names and ages of everyone in your party (including children and animals, if any)
    - Your mode of transportation
    - When you'll be (or won't be) available

    (about 90% of people who contact us haven't read all of our profile, and don't bother answering these questions. Please take the time to do this, so you know what you're applying for - and we know you've read this :-))

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I used to be a digital nomad myself, and now run my own online marketing business from home - we've got a solid internet connection + good wifi connection in the guest living room.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Access to our property can be a little more challenging in winter or when it's just rained, but we've got a couple of great parking spots with amazing views on the property... one of them being next to the "maset", which has got its own off-grid power system.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours maximum

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)












































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 425112938112