Come to the sunny state, Florida, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

427 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/07/2021

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

     

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    * We currently are not in need of assistance with our rental property however we could use help on our residential land and home.

    We are a retired couple that has lived on 7 acres in Ocala (horse capital of the world) Florida for 36 years and still love the occasional outing to the surrounding beaches, rivers and camping in the state parks. Stu is originally from Rochester NY and I (Dawn) am from Kingston Jamaica. We LOVE company and consider conversation a past time in itself! We have a daughter and granddaughter both of whom are Workawayers themselves.

    We could use help with an abundance of maintenance and projects so if you're considering the sunny state then consider us!

    We are 2 miles from Canyon Zip Lining Tours (zip line above old lime rock quarries), 2 hours from St Augustine (oldest continually occupied city in the US), 1.5 hours from world famous Daytona Beach, 1.5 hours from Orlando (Disney theme parks), 1 hour from the Gulf of Mexico (boating, fishing)/ Crystal River (swim with manatees)/ Cedar Key Island (old Florida fishing village), 30 minutes from Santos Bike Trailhead (all terrain trail biking), 40 minutes from Gainesville (University of Florida, nightclubs), 30 minutes from Rainbow River State Park (our favorite river/park) and 25 minutes from the beautifully breathtaking Silver River State Park with crystal clear spring fed water where you are sure to spot our famous manatees, gators, snapping turtles and rhesus monkeys. We have no problem driving you to a few excursions depending on your length of stay. There is no public transportation however as we are in horse country on the outskirts of Ocala but if you enjoy or are interested in kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, kite surfing, fishing, theme parks, camping, gator/monkey sightings, bird watching, manatees, biking, dolphins or just plain old hiking, it's all near us!

    While we can accommodate a couple of rides to a desired beach or state park, you would be on your own as far as extended day or overnight trips. I would strongly encourage a camping stay at a desired destination but we would not necessarily be camping at that time. Having a car of your own is very advantageous for those less content to simply enjoy the host's property but we strongly encourage a trip to our local rivers if you're here.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers will be exposed to the nature and history of our special part of Florida. On a boat ride on the famous Silver River you can see where the first Tarzan movie was filmed and also see Seminole Indian canoe relics still underwater! Remnants of the famous movie "The Creature from the Black Lagoon" are also there and highly visible underwater. St Augustine will expose you to the oldest longest inhabited city in the country and the oldest street in the United States, Aviles, where ghost mini series have been filmed based on actual ghost sightings.

    We are in the subtropical region of Florida and even we are sometimes surprised at the wildlife that call central Florida home as more and more species of animals migrate north from south Florida which is tropical. There is a wealth of Florida plant and wildlife that exist on our property. Our property is home to Cuban tree frogs, broad head skinks, American five-lined skinks, corn and milk snakes, a wide variety of beautiful song birds and screeching owls, mammoth moths, and gopher tortoises (a protected species that we observe but do not disturb) to name a few.

    A lot of the plant life is invasive and undesirable to us. The wild air potato vine is attempting to take over the entire property. I admire it's tenacity but would really like to be free of it, can you help?? Much of our weeds however are edible and for those interested in self sustaining practices such as "eating the weeds" there is much that can be learned as far as survival foraging in central Florida is concerned. We however are not experts in this area, there are a few people that provide "eat the weeds" tours locally however should you be interested in survival foraging.

    Our neighbors have horses, goats, chickens and turkeys. The horses and goats love our apple offerings.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Update:

    If you yourself know that you have a questionable work ethic, prefer living space that is your personal squalor and are incapable of living in the outdoorsy conditions described in the accommodation section, please do not apply to this host. We need the proverbial cogs in a wheel and if anyone has ever described you as lazy or desiring only to spread your philosophical world view on the North American continent, you will not fit in with us. We love dialogue but not combative dialogue and simply desire to have hard working and ethical people in our home and on our property.

    We are a retired couple with an exorbitant amount of property maintenance, simply put, we sure could use your help! A few examples include: weeding, pruning, mowing, watering, starting seedlings, fallen tree/limb removal (lots of this!), basic and deep cleaning, a few eco projects, sanding, painting, dog washing (we have 3 & 2 cats), pressure washing, de-cobwebing, orange/ tangerine/ grapefruit picking (we have a small orchard), fire starting (we love bon fires so start one every night if you like!), car washing and much much more! If you know basic electrical/ plumbing that could surely come in handy too! We ask for 20-25 hours of work a week, if you'd like to fulfill that in 3 days and spend 4 days camping at the beach or river, that's fine too, how you work your hours is entirely up to you.

    Being self motivated and able to work alone is a must. Much of the work we need done would be unsupervised and we just need to know that our help can work without our continued prompting & guidance.

    Arriving here:

    We are only able to pick you up from the local Greyhound bus or shuttle station. So if you fly into Orlando, Miami, Jacksonville or Gainesville you will need to arrive in Ocala by bus or shuttle.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodations are modest and include one of the following: a small camper with a/c, microwave, tv (dvd/vhs only) and toilet; a tiny house that sleeps 4, a/c, fan, propane heater in winter with an outdoor shower/compost toilet ; a bunkhouse that sleeps 2 with an outdoor shower/compost toilet; or primitive tent camping (3 tents available)

    We are a very country- casual family. Most of our meals are cooked and eaten in our 1st floor open air outdoor kitchen. That said everyone must pitch in to keep it clean, on a windy day it deposits nice layers of dust, it is not unlike primitive camping in that regard. You are welcome to cook for yourself or eat with us, we usually cook every night and graze on left overs for lunch the following day. You won't go hungry here, there is always plenty of food.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️Staying here is NOT for the faint at heart and will not be unlike primitive camping. If you have a dirt phobia or are terrified of all manner of insects and small reptiles, please do consider another host. If our Workawayers are unhappy, we're unhappy.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️Absolutely no drugs of any kind, moderate alcoholic beverages are okay but only at the end of a working shift.

    *️*️*️Side note: if you are into mountain/ trail biking we can loan you a Trek mountain bike and can take you to the Santos Trailhead to bike the very best trail in our neck of the woods.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have wifi but only on the front end of the property. Food is provided but please first note any special diet restrictions/ preferences.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.3)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (4.3)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 422271243157