Help us with childcare and surround yourself with oceans and mountains on beautiful Salt Spring Island, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 51 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 2 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas



  • Descripción


    My name is Alina and I am an early-30's magazine publisher who remotely publishes a beautiful coffee table magazine focused on the slow lifestyle here on the Gulf Islands. I have a lovely 15-month old baby named Willow who is adorable and awesome, and a little 3 year old dog named Lola who loves cuddles and tries to keep away from the babies. I live with Shelby, a late-twenties brand strategist and yoga teacher with an 19-month-old daughter named Aramaya, who loves to run around the house playing with all of the toys. In our off-time we love to hike, go to shows, travel locally (island hop), snowboard, make good food, and talk about life. In the spring and summer, it's beaches! We're big-time travellers and yes people, so it's a great time around here!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are so fortunate to be living in Canada’s top tourist destination, beautiful Salt Spring Island, and we know you’ll love it!

    While it is a baby house, you’d be living like our roommate with your own room and 5 hours of child care a day, 5 days a week. You’d have the rest of the time to peruse the oceans and beaches and mountains and art galleries and shows and restaurants and pubs and and cacao ceremonies and yoga classes and whatever else you’d like to try. Try cold-water plunging in the morning, the famous Saturday market in the afternoon, and ecstatic dancing in the evenings! Since the sun has been out the last few days, we go to the beach every day. Which is an awesome way to pass the time with Willow, too.

    The thing about Salt Spring Island, and why everyone loves it, is it has an amazing ocean island culture. It's very laid back, filled with all sorts of people (lots of hippies and travellers too!). My magazine tagline is 'slow the folk down', and thats just like how it is!

    One thing to note is it's a great time for some R&R but if you want to experience all Salt Spring has to offer, you do have to put the work in to find out what's going on.

    We also get off Salt Spring for Vancouver Island and other Gulf Island trips too, which you'd be welcome to join!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I'm one of the two awesome single mothers living here in a lovely new house with views of ocean and mountains and forest, walking distance to town with a 15-month old and a 19 month-old, and I'm looking for childcare+helping with dinner approx. 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. You don't need to have experience (I'm new to this too!), and it mostly requires keeping Willow entertained with all her toys, including going for walks and potentially taking her to kid's local programs. We'll show you how to do it! Drivers license is a mega plus but not a necessity, especially as we live close to town.

    Some assistance with Aramaya will be helpful, but you'll mainly be looking after Willow. The goal is to provide me with 3-4 hours in the morning of child care so I can get some work done from my room, and help with dinner.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You'd get your own room in this three-bedroom house (we're in the other two), and it's a cozy house with all areas close together. Shared bathroom. Your window looks out into trees and mountains and even with ocean glimpses. Keep in mind, it is quiet time around 8pm—relatively early in the house (as to not wake babies), and they wake early, so there is baby noise all around. But we're chill! :) There is also a wee dog named Lola who is the best. We will offer all the food you need to make your meals, but for the most part, won't be able to make them for you (we can barely feed ourselves!). It would be great if you'd help with dinner a few nights of the week. Alina is vegan but if you can follow a recipe, you'll eat some new and interesting meals!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Salt Spring is great because you get the busy town hub and then the rest is spread out like farmland, so it’s a fabulous mix of urban and rural (even though the islanders shuts down relatively early). It’s also a quick trip to Vancouver Island and Vancouver. It’s just such an amazing part of Canada! You’d also have built-in friends, as we spend much of the time hanging out, which is fun.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Bring your computer, and you're all set. This is a perfect gig for a digital nomad, as that's pretty much what we are too!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We dont yet have the ability to plug it in, but you're totally able to park it here!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    This is to be discussed. As long as they get along with kids and our dog, should be fine :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 417517457419

Comentarios (1)



Be surrounded by gorgeous vistas near Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Experience the Yukon and help around our family home in Whitehorse, Canada