Help with house improvements, decorating and gardening, borrow a bicycle and explore Oxford, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

39 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We feel lucky to live in the city of Oxford in a 3 bedroomed house with a large garden, half an hour's walk from the historic University and Museums. From mid-March we're particularly looking for someone with experience of house decorating (painting) and some gardening.

    Janet works as a community musician - running singing groups, Wyon as a counsellor and charity worker (specialising in work with refugees and the homeless). We are widely travelled and we both like good conversation, music, community building, meditation, wild swimming (mostly just Janet when it is cold) reading, writing, sharing and caring. We are vegetarian and can also cater for vegans (no meat cooked in the house).

    We are going to be workaway guests ourselves when we go travelling from June 2019 - so we need help getting the house and garden ready to rent out when we are travelling. We like to live harmoniously, tolerantly, and peacefully and trying not to be judgemental of others, or indeed ourselves ... we would hope that any guests would have similar aspirations and intentions!

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will be happy to advise you on good places to go in and around Oxford. We can lend you a bicycle to help with this. Oxford's historic centre with the University Colleges and Museums is half an hour on the bus from our house and about the same if you walk (because you avoid the traffic jams!). There is a nature reserve 5 minutes' walk from the house and our garden is frequently visited by deer, fox and many birds. As one of the most popular tourist sites in the UK, Oxford is a great place to visit. It is steeped in history with many wonderful old buildings, museums, great parks, cafes and restaurants, There are two universities here so there are lots of activities going on, especially in term time. It is also easy to visit London from here - there is a bus stop nearby for a regular coach which takes you to central London in 60-90 minutes. Whatever your interests there is almost certainly something for you and we would be glad to point you in the right direction if we can.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We mainly need help with gardening, decorating, and house improvements. We can offer some supervision, but would prefer you to have some previous experience/skills so that you can work independently at least some of the time. We are particularly looking for someone able to decorate at the moment.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own decent sized single room - which also has a door to the outside. There is wifi, TV in our lounge which you can share with us, and facilities to listen to music.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Every evening and many lunches we share a meal together and would hope that you will want to join us, when you are around, as part of the family. It is a non-smoking household and we don't tolerate drugs or excessive drinking. You can get a bus into central Oxford from a bus stop about 10 minutes' walk away. There's also a good coach service to London which takes about an hour to get there - stop is about 20 min walk away (or short bus ride).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    maximum 4 hours per day (on average) 5 days per week.

Guest room
Entrance to garden
our garden across the road with rainbow fence made from scrap.



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 412151813955