Join our eco-minded community and help on our small hobby farm, Denman Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

162 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    64.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a small 3 acre hobby farm, mainly vegetables, soft fruit, fruit trees, chickens and rabbits plus 2 dogs and 2 cats. 5 minutes from the beach with ocean and mountain views all round. Located on Denman Island BC a vibrant eco-minded community of about 1200, including many artists and potters and, Covid-permitting, a rich music and entertainment calendar. We are close to wonderful mountain wilderness areas and the wild Pacific Rim coast. Mike is a retired architect, Selinda a retired language teacher, interpreter and high-end clothing store owner. We are non-vegetarian/omnivorous and passionate about food.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are originally immigrants from England and Portugal, resident in BC since 1982. We love to engage in cultural exchanges with our helpers learning and teaching about today's issues in each of our countries and in the World at large.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Mainly garden maintenance and harvesting in season, including preparation of veg beds, compost turning, pruning, use of chainsaws and other power tools. House maintenance including painting, window washing, use of ladders and heavy lifting. Potentially construction of a new greenhouse. Potential for electrical systems maintenance and help with computer issues.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Large private bedroom with small en-suite bathroom attached to the main house, including a kitchen sink, fridge and microwave, but with no cooking facilities. 3 meals a day eaten together with the hosts.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have bikes that helpers can use in their free time. There are numerous swimming beaches and 2 lakes on the island. There are many great walking trails (beach and forest) on Denman and nearby Hornby Island. We are 90 minutes drive from the ski slopes and advanced hiking trails of Mount Washington.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good wifi connection and most guests can pursue on line business with ease

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We do not accept pets at this time.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 399174122316