Help on a small scale hobby farm in central Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

226 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    678

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 30 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our Eco Farm is an incredibly beautiful +16 acre homestead, where we are slowly growing in becoming self-sufficiency. We have over a dozen lay chickens, a pet crippled house chicken, 2 cats and a dog.

    We grow a yearly organic vegetable garden (mostly for personal use), medicinal herbs, many perennial flowers, and a beginning baby orchard of over 40 different fruit and nut trees and bushes. We might start up some mushroom logs again this spring for harvesting in 2022. We have grown meat chickens 2 x last year. We had 2 beehives that didn’t make it this past winter and need to re-organize this venture.

    We have a gorgeous spring fed pond that you can swim in from late May to early September. Ingrid is a Psychotherapist and a Natural Building Architect. She is experienced at teaching courses on these various related subjects, including general homesteading and Sacred Ecology. There may also be opportunities in supporting possible events and/or online training's.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn how to become a simple homesteader, gardening, (maybe bee care), chicken care, practical day to day skills of how to manage a large property, small-scale natural building and renovation skills, as well as possible holisitic wellness skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Due to Covid conditions I am not accepting overnight stays in the house anymore. If you have your own camper van or tent that is helpful. I do have an RV trailer that may be available that sleeps up to 4 people (1 bedroom and living room couch is a bed with a curtain to separate from kitchen area). We can set up an outdoor shower or swim in the pond. There will be an outhouse toilet and potable water available.

    I’m more focused in finding people who are interested in regular weekly VOLUNTEER hours, such as one to a few times a week in the mornings. Local people in the area of Uxbridge/Newmarket/Keswick/Markham/Port Perry is preferred. I may be open to others if there is some skill that doesn’t require constant supervision.

    Am also interested in 1 person or a couple, paid (min. wage) or volunteer for 25 - 30 hrs/week, who would like intern for a few months, starting in May - September. Again, prefer someone local who has own residence nearby. There may be a possibility to do your own cooking and have access the large 1 bedroom trailer with it's own kitchen (needs some updating while living there). Also seeking someone with the ability and responsibility that we can trust, to be able to manage the property on their own, keep things watered and weeded, and chickens healthy for a 2 weeks away vacation in mid-July and the occasional 3 - 4 day weekends off. We live with my mother, who has dementia, and there may be a need to sleep overnight on the property to support this occasionally.

    Looking for outdoor help, with mostly organic (& some Biodynamic/permaculture) gardening, homesteading, chicken care. We have lots of perennial flowers, a large organic veg garden & greenhouse, medicinal herbs, Lots of canning/dehydrating/food preservation starting in July, small orchard, lay chickens care, maybe start-up mushroom logs (May) and possible lavender harvesting (July - Sept). (We may experiment with soaps and/or ointment/beauty products. )

    I always have a number of natural building projects that are ongoing, from setting up 2 outdoor kitchen and outhouse areas in May/June, to updating a school bus retrofit (sleeps 4), finishing a small wood sleeping 10' x 10' bunkie (sleeps 4), renovating the inside of a 1 bedroom trailer (sleeps 4), to fixing up the chicken coops, a few large outside art mural ideas. Maybe build also a pond deck and small canopy area this summer.

    The expectation is 5 hours/day on weekdays (mostly 9 am - 2 pm), 5x/week on Monday - Friday's, sometimes Saturday's & Sunday's are switched to, if there is an urgent gardening issue (May/June planting mostly). If you are good at self-directed help, strong project management skills, with some experience in gardening or building, you will be at the very top of the list. Hours may be able to be flexible.

    We also have a very friendly and active border collie dog and 2 cats.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is an extra bathroom/shower in the coach house that may be used on weekends.

    We are often booked well in advance, but due to COVID we have lapsed in accepting people. We are considering people now again (Starting in April/May 2022). If you are interested, please contact me ASAP! I prefer a range of 1 -2 people max. at a time.

    April/May is about preparing and opening up the property mostly and some building reno work. May June can be busier for planting the veggie garden, and then in July/August may be more to concentrate on continuing small building projects. July/August/September is more about harvesting and food preservation processes. Although, things can often change at the last minute with workawayer visitors, so please still contact me just in case.

    I look forward to meeting you and working together soon!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located a 1 hour drive away from downtown Toronto, outside of rush hour traffic (we are north-east of Toronto east of Newmarket, 20 min south of Lake Simcoe). And we are about 1.5 hours driving away from some great wilderness, canoeing or camping areas up north in the gorgeous Canadian Shield area of giant rocks with crystal veins. Suggestions can be provided of where to sight see trips, local entertainment, etc...

    We tend to eat a very holistic, mostly organic diet, sometimes chicken & fish, with gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, or dairy-free options. We have several board games available, hundreds of books on all subjects of homesteading, natural building, holistic health, mental wellness, spirituality and healing that you may read here. We also have percussion instruments including drums, rattles, flutes, guitar for evening fun! Internet is available near the house, outside. There are old DVD movies available too. We also have 2 canoes that can be borrowed, along with wilderness camping equipment.

    I value my privacy greatly, so I expect boundaries to be honored such as in my home, quiet after 10 pm at night, clean up dishes after yourself if not eating with the group, etc.

    This is a NON-SMOKING house and property. If you smoke anything while you are here, you will be asked to leave. Alcohol use is minimal, although we do sometimes have some amazing honey mead to try that we have made and/or you may like to purchase your own beer or wine.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Lots of space surrounded by a forest and swimming pond. Possible use of school bus that sleeps up to 4.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a friendly Border Collie/Australian Sheppard dog, so it would have to be able to get along really well with him as he roams freely on the property.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Approx. 2-5 days a week, between 4-5 hours a day, depending on the level of skill and my availability to supervise








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 385916392483