Join three generations living off-grid nestled in the hills of Mid Devon, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

160 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 27 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hey all, my name is Adele and i live with my partner (Chez), sons (teenagers) and extended family, off grid on a 2.4 acre piece of land nestled in the hills of Mid Devon. We have 3 generations living here and each family unit has its own space. We live independently but enjoy an occassional meal together and help each other out when needed.
    We are all working to develop and utilise the land the best and as creatively as we possibly can. I bought the land with my parents in February 2009. Whilst my children and I moved on in 2010 my parents, sister and family joined us in 2016.

    What do we have here? A gaggle of homes, a borehole that gives us beautiful spring water, showers, solar and wind power, firepits, polytunnels, greenhouses, wildlife ponds, gardens, workshops, trampolines, Reedbed systems, allotments, dogs, guinea pigs, chickens, hatching chicks, and at points of the year...lambs and pigs.

    Whilst my partner and i will be your hosts, at any point it can be all hands on deck to help out.

    We are currently looking for enthusiastic people to get involved. If you are wanting to gain experience in any of the following these are the projects we shall have coming up. Hedgrow clearence, felling work in the woods, Allotment/polytunnel preperation and seed sowing, building a new chicken run and of course we continue to do all the basic things that are needed in order for the homestead to run.

    We are everyone friendly, chilled but motivated and we are really excited to bring new people far and wide into our home, ALWAYS on the look out for new recipes and keen to hear stories from lands beyond the horizon and to learn new skills that you may have picked up along the way that we can maybe utilise and implement into our own space.

    We dont really do the money thing but we eat really well and are subjected to crying and laughing hard in equal measure.
    It is an amazing place to live with stunning views, if you like gardens and allotments, thinking outside the creative box, then i think you will like it here.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have a pretty large skill base here on the land with three generations of family plus partners living here. If you have no experience in living offgrid then hopefully you will develop a deeper understanding of what that means, if you have some experience then maybe we can exchange ideas and you can take different methods with you on your next journey?
    Our skill pool varies from carpentry, garden design, welding, stain glass work, a wealth of plant knowledge, mechanics and always pushing the creative upcycling.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would welcome people with knowledge and skills in gardening, carpentry, tree surgery, hedge laying, wall building, anything that is related to living creatively off grid. Our needs may vary throughout the year as specific things come up but gardening, building, tree and hedge help are nearly always needed.
    What is really essential is that people dont leave their common sense behind, we are happy to teach what we know but we cant help with the loss of common sense!!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Depending on when it is in the year, the accomodation can be anything from fully kitted out trucks to bell tents. We get pretty busy during the summer season with either visitors needing the accomodation to trucks going out for festival work but whatever it is in, we will always provide beds with clean bedding, a gas cooker, and a burner. We strive for you to be comfortable and well fed . We generally eat together, this is not an obligation for you but afterwards we do like to have some downtime in the evenings to reboot for the next day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live near the city of Exeter, which has big shops, independent shops and a wealth of history to learn..(eg.The last 'witches' were burnt here in Exeter!! )
    We are half hour from the nearest beaches although we are almost surrounded by them to the south and the north. There are stunning walks very close by or if you want to go furthur, there is a good bus service from the nearest village which is a mile away. The village also has two pubs and a well stocked shop. We also have a really good farm shop about a mile and a half away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can accommodate up to a large van or small trick and you will have access to your own bathroom.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 384732892163