Our homely school needs volunteers in Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

99 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/12/2021

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    First I should introduce myself for you to better understand my offer. I'm a teacher. I chose teaching at an age of 12 when I was a school student myself. I'm still in the same field even after completing my PhD. I run a small school in Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka which is on the edge of the city of Colombo closer to the Mount Lavinia beach. The student population is multicultural as Sri Lanka has different ethnic groups. They are always keen to learn and respect their teachers. One of the best qualities of Sri Lankan students is the respect they have for their teachers.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As a teacher, you can also learn a lot from the fellow teachers about the local culture, traditions and even the local language. Mount Lavinia has the best beach in Colombo where you can spend quality time. Since it's in Colombo the capital city of Sri Lanka, you can have might life and socializing in the evenings and do shopping. You can also do short trips at your leisure and involved in cultural exchange programs in community centers locally. Our parents organize visits at their homes and family gatherings for you to spend a day, learn their unique cultures, cuisines, local traditions as our school has a population of different communities living in Sri Lanka.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Unlike many other private schools, mine is not aimed at making profits or it doesn't. However, I'm determined to run it for the betterment of the society. Mine is the only school in the whole world to teach Dhivehi (Maldivian) language. It is taught to make sure that the Maldivian students who study here don't miss their mother tongue and also when Sri Lankan students learn Sinhalese, they will get an opportunity to learn their mother tongue otherwise the period will be unproductive for them. Alright, a bit of introduction is over.
    I'd like to welcome volunteers from all over the world to help in my school from whatever the ways you can. Although I have outlined some ways below, you may come up with some other ways if you think you could help me.
    1. Volunteer teachers of English and any other subjects in the English medium for the kids of ages from 3 to 16. You can use the existing materials and methods or do it in your own way as you like it.
    2. Volunteer teachers of other foreign languages including Dhivehi, Arabic, Persian, French, German or any other language
    3. Teacher of Music, singing, Art & Craft and Drama
    4. Any other ways you can help build and develop my school for the betterment of the future generation
    5. Carpentry, painting, roofing, gardening etc

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Árabe: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Persian (Farsi): Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido
    Sinhalese: Fluido
    Tamil: Fluido
    Urdu: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying with me in my house. You will be provided a shared living space and limited internet access as there isn't any unlimited internet package in Sri Lanka. Some meals will also be provided.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your leisure, that is afternoons and also on weekends you can travel around the city, travel to other parts as most closer cities and villages are reachable easily from Colombo.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 8 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 383513322896