Build a deck, garden, help with older children, painting on the Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada



41 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Descripción


    We are a family of five living on the Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada. We live in one of the most beautiful areas of Canada and are a short ferry to Vancouver. The Sunshine Coast boasts a small-town feel, ocean and mountain views at every turn, unlimited outdoor recreation, and artisans aplenty.

    Our family consists of a 13.5 year old responsible girl who loves to dance, an 11 year old boy who is sweet and dedicated to hockey, a 7 year old absolute doll who likes to play and two professional parents (law and vet med). We live on a 5 acre hobby farm with ocean views in a comfortable upscale home which has an outdoor heated pool, basketball and hockey nets, fields, garden, chickens, goats, dogs and cats. We are a 5 min walk to ocean access, which are so common and countless no matter where one goes on the Coast.

    We are an open and inviting family looking for someone or a couple who are good-natured. We are positive, hard-working, straightforward, and kind. We aren't always around as we work quite a bit and we do like to have balance between hosting and having private family time too :)

    We would consider hosting a couple as we are also looking for some gardening/lawn care help, as well as needing a deck built around our pool, interior and exterior painting, and processing fruit from the trees in late September. Year round, we could use the extra help to cook and clean and projects as they come up - so feel free to check in with us anytime!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    It's easy to fit right in with our family if you are open to an enjoyable experience and respect boundaries. We would love for our children to learn about another culture and hopefully even some language. We are outgoing and living the life of a regular Canadian family who go to the lake, play basketball outside, invite a bunch of kids over for road hockey/golf/swimming, host BBQs, work outside to keep the grounds, and we are constantly keeping busy.

  • Ayuda


    We need help for multiple positions, from childcare, cooking and cleaning, building a deck, interior and exterior painting, food processing in the fall.

    We need help with our children for the summer holidays, from late June until early September (or a portion of that time) and would love to have someone stay on longer. Our dates are flexible.

    Primarily, we need someone to love and nurture our children, to make sure they do their chores, to clean house and to make sure the children swim safely. We could also use help to build a deck around our swimming pool and general gardening and lawn care. Our gardens/lawns span approx 2.5 acres of our 5 acre property. We could even use some help in late September processing fruit from our fruit trees outside.

    The right fit for us would be someone who is mid 20s to 40s and can keep up with the children, create fun times and memories for the children and their summer, who is responsible and will make sure they are watched over and don't get sunburns and stay safe while in the pool. The right applicant would play with our children, treat them respectfully and would ensure they treat each other respectfully as well. We need someone who can make dinner, provide nutritious food to our children, take them on outings to the lake, and host our children's friends at our house often.

    We are a loving family who abide by house rules. The right fit must be willing to follow those in a way that facilitates effective co-parenting of our children, provides a safe environment for all, and is respectful of our parental beliefs.

    We are a drug-free and cigarette-free household. This is strictly enforced. Alcohol is enjoyed responsibly.

    Work hours would be 20 hours per week, likely stretched over four days per week.

    Key attributes/training for the right fit are:
    - post-secondary education (or current pursuit of post-secondary education) preferred
    - valid international driver's license with a clean, claim/accident-free history, and 4+ years experience preferred
    - non-entitled mindset is a must
    - easy-going and flexible but responsible; loving but firm
    - clean and tidy is a must
    - strong cooking skills, safe food handling, ability to cook for 6
    - strong swimming skills
    - first aid certification is a must
    - healthy, with no communicable diseases is a must
    - experience caring for multiple children and the multi-tasking inherent therein (being part of a large family would count!)
    - moderate English skills a minimum
    - willing to share culture, especially food!
    - warm and open personality, fun and outgoing - it's not just a job, it's an experience!
    - must be motivated and hard working: create opportunities and fun, rather than wait for them to be presented
    - must like animals and be prepared to house-sit, water garden

    If you think this may be something you're interested in, please send us a message and include your resume and references. Please be prepared to provide a criminal record check, medical check and driver's abstract.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    If single person: private approximate 12 foot x 12 foot newly finished lilac bedroom with double bed, window, personal tv, central air conditioning. Located in basement. Shared bathroom (rarely used by family) with shower. Second living room located on basement level with pool table and PS3.

    If a couple: 700 sq feet separate dwelling, clean but slightly dated, with ocean view.

    Meals are your responsibility on days that you work, and self-serve on days that you do not. We often eat dinner together as a family and you're welcome to join us from time to time/most nights.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's a lot to do around here with your time off if you are outgoing and seek out the opportunities that are ripe for the picking. There are many, many beaches on the Sunshine Coast within a few min drive and the warmest lake in BC is located approx 40 min from our house. There's forest trails at every turn, mountain biking, golfing, swimming, shopping, artisan studios, restaurants, quite a number of summer festivals, and as mentioned, Vancouver is a relatively short distance away (35 min drive to ferry, 40 min ferry, then 40 min bus to downtown Vancouver). Vancouver can be a day-trip, but for sight-seeing, overnight trips are better.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 376124992849