actualizado   Última hora

Help with a registered non-profit garden zoo for endangered birds in the lovely Scottish Borders, UK

  • Gran Bretaña
  • 1169 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 26 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hi and thank you for looking at our profile.

    Mark & Owen and their sons have been developing a conservation breeding facility for endangered birds in the lovely Scottish Borders. We are a registered not-for-profit organisation with saving rare birds and promoting a more sustainable way of living at our heart.

    We need people who know gardening to help make our vegetable garden functional and beautiful. I personally love vegetable gardening but simply don't have the time to get stuck in and grow food. This would be an ideal workaway for a couple or two friends; gardening is much more fun with more than one person. Sadly we won't be able to join-in as much as we would love to. There are bigger projects which would benefit from more hands. We are currently building a nesting cliff for the endangered northern bald ibis which we would like to finish this spring in time for the breeding season. Mark is planning to start a gardening club with the local school and village, it would be fun to join in with this club, meet local people and celebrate teamwork and big achievements.

    There is an opportunity for someone to be involved in animal care, I can provide a huge amount of animal care experience for the right person who wants to take animal care further into their lives. For a select few volunteers, animal care can be their main role with us.

    Whilst this workaway placement won't be working directly with the birds, you will be working amongst them and you will have connection with fascinating species and characters.

    We encourage volunteers to take two days off a week. Most of our volunteers go exploring Scotland, relaxing in this beautiful countryside or get involved with Edinburgh's wonderful culture and history. From Edinburgh you can catch tour buses for a day or multiple day tours round the Highlands and Islands.

    This is a welcoming place with no prejudice.

    If you would like to be a part of this adventure with the opportunity to further conservation work and promoting a more sustainable way of living, then do get in touch.

    Thank you for reading!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a great opportunity to live amongst a variety of wonderful birds and animals.
    The village is very friendly. They are currently renovating the village pub which will hopefully open again soon.
    There are regular buses to Edinburgh with all the shopping, culture and history you could wish for! The same buses go south, further into the Borders where there are old towns and villages to explore.

  • Ayuda


    We have built a not for profit organisation with the skin on our fingers. Our key objectives are to promote a more sustainable way of living and the conservation of the natural world. Getting the gardens tidy and functional is this year's project, we would also welcome thoughts and ideas from experienced gardeners.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Greek: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a cabin which stands away from the house so you will have your own privacy and space. It has a large double bed, sitting room, kitchen area, internet, water and electricity.
    We also have a caravan / trailer which is ideal for a solo traveller. It is clean, cozy and has great views of the countryside. It has wifi, electricity and drinking water. There is also an immediate outdoor area for yoga, sitting, relaxing outdoors.
    We will get the groceries you need to make your own breakfast and dinners. If you need luxury items such as alcohol or magazines, then we are happy for you to join us when we go shopping. Lunches will either be cooked by me in the house or, you can have lunch in the visitor centre, free of charge.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a pretty village with many lovely walks through rolling Scottish Borders countryside. There is a regular bus service which can take you further down into the Scottish Borders where there are fascinating towns and villages which are incredibly rich in culture and are historically important. And of course a good bus service direct to Edinburgh city centre.

    Mark and I are open to all cultures, religions, gender, sexuality etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have ample room for campervans, and somewhere to properly empty septic waste and a nearby tap with drinking water.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have accommodated people and pets before. It is paramount to have in mind that this is the birds' home. Their health and wellbeing takes priority above pets.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 368619246757

Comentarios (35)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Join our fun and friendly family on a beautiful farm near Newmarket, Cambridgeshire, UK
Fun and easy-going German, English family interested in exchanging cultures in the Midlands, UK