Strawbale house and organic garden on San Juan Island, USA

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are long-time islanders. Mike & Robin built their small home on their Mt Dallas 10 acres many years ago & daughter Rose, who was born & raised on San Juan Island, has more recently built her own straw bale home next door with her husband Paul. We are trying to live in harmony with the Earth, growing food for ourselves and others, recycling what we can and producing a minimum of waste. It is a beautiful life in a beautiful place.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Rose, Mike, & Robin have traveled in many parts of the world and we have learned so much from our travels. One thing it's taught us is gratitude and that we wish to share our beautiful home with other travelers.
    Rose is a mental health care professional and an herbalist, she has also worked as a Vipassana meditation instructor.
    Robin and Mike, Rose's parents, live next door to Rose. Mike is a cabinet maker & Robin is an antiques dealer and artist. We all have lots of skills, life experience, and love to offer, we are also reasonably conversant in Spanish.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    This summer, besides the usual maintenance, gardening, & firewood chores, we will be needing help with a few building projects. Some carpentry skills would be appreciated but it's nothing that's too complicated. Mike is a skilled carpenter & will be able to work with a helper. As for the other chores, people who can work without supervision would be greatly appreciated as we are also working and can't be around all of the time.

    We also care for a big organic raspberry patch and a large garden. Come grow food sustainably with us! Seasonally, much of our meals come from the garden and the forest. We harvest cultivated and wild plants for medicine for ourselves and the community.

    Projects for 2024;
    -A small shed
    -Remodeling the bathroom
    -Building a small greenhouse
    -Seal exterior wall of the straw bale house.
    -A few outdoor painting projects
    -Harvest cherries, apples and plums. Make cider.
    -Cut firewood for next winter.



    Finally, there are all of the hard but enjoyable and satisfying tasks of being good stewards of our land. Pulling invasive species, general weeding, mowing, clearing, fence and building maintenance, trail work, firewood, etc. There are so many ways to get your hands dirty here.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Would like to learn Italian...

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a private one-acre field in the back of the property surrounded by trees. Bring your own tent, camper van, and/or car. You will awaken to frog and birdsong every morning! All accommodations are fairly rustic, but also clean and quiet. Suitable for couples, friends, or individuals.

    Fresh well water onsite. Outdoor sink and shower with on-demand heater plus a pond. There is an outhouse onsite.

    Ample camp kitchen with propane stoves & oven under a circus tent! We will stock the kitchen with basic ingredients plus veggies and fruit from the garden. There is the use of a freezer & refrigerator nearby. Thursday nights are an outdoor family potluck.

    There are many farms nearby for buying additional food, as well as a food-coop, weekly farmer's market, and two grocery stores.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The San Juan Islands sit in one of the most beautiful corners of the Pacific Northwest. Roughly midway between Seattle and Vancouver, B.C., it is a 1 hour ferry ride from the mainland. Hike, swim, lounge on the beaches, ride bikes, kayak, explore! Two National Parks, a State Park, a County Park and other public lands nearby with many trails & beaches to enjoy. Right down the road ¼mi/500m is the Ihiya Biological Reserve which was created by Rose. Mike makes the maps for the local Trails Committee and is happy to share them with you. We also have bikes you can borrow if you'd like to. Our place is about a 10 minute drive from Lime Kiln Whale Watch Park.

    During the summer the island has frequent live music venues, an arts festival, a County Fair in August, and outdoor live Shakespeare, this time it's A Midsummer Night's Dream. Nearby is the wonderful Alchemy Art Center which hosts art & yoga classes.

    In the past we have taken Workawayers hiking, to concerts, to the county fair, to garage sales, looking for whales, geocaching & to parties. We've hosted their visiting friends & families & shared potluck dinners. We've even had a talent show night around the campfire which was a lot of fun.

    We are located about six miles/10km from the small town of Friday Harbor. Just about anything you may need is available there. (if they don't have it do you really need it?)

    We try to recycle as much as possible and have recycling bins available. No illegal drugs or cigarettes/vaping onsite, please. Alcohol in moderation.

    There is internet available near the main houses. It's pretty slow. Cell service is sketchy, T-mobile is the best (2 bars). For others you may have to go into town.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    plenty of space for tents, campervans and recreational vehicles. Water but no other hook-ups.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets that are well-behaved are fine! They have to be able to get along with other pets and farm animals. We'll talk over the details when we are connecting about your visit.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, flexible

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 366548656627

Comentarios (12)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

















Wolf-dog sanctuary in east TN needs volunteer to help with animal care, fundraising and daily operations, USA
Help around our place, inside or out. in lovely Montana, USA