Help with DIY projects, olive & almond trees care, permaculture and more on a beautiful Off grid finca in Calaceite, Spain

Country

España

57 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there!

    We are Hermine and Paul, a French-Irish couple who moved to Matarrana region in August 2020.

    We visited and lived in many different places before coming to Spain. Former Workawayers ourselves, we helped people in Spain, Italy, Germany, USA, Morocco… We enjoyed our time very much and are now happy to be hosts! We quit our jobs in 2019 and have bought a piece of land next to the pretty town of Valderrobres in February 2021.

    At the moment, we live in a house located 8km away from the lovely village of Calaceite. It is really pretty and peaceful. The house is completely off grid: electric system powered by solar energy, water pumped from the river below, heating in winter provided by a wood burner. The house is comfortable: it has an equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi, a bathroom with hot shower, a terrace, some home grown vegies, fruit and nut trees. There is a double bedroom available for workawayers, the other rooms are shared.

    We live right at the border with Cataluna. The closest bigger cities are Alcaniz (Aragon), Tortosa and Tarragona (Cataluna). There are many hiking paths around, as well as the river Algars for swimming, and the Natural Park of Els Ports (Beceite) is also nearby.


    THE HELP WE NEED:

    We could do with help in different areas, for all kind of projects!

    On our new land: We are right at the beginning of our eco-construction adventure. We are finishing some outdoor dry toilet and have quite a few other projects lined up :)
    *Clearing the land and pruning the olive & almond trees
    *Build a few stairs out of stone to go from one terrace to the other
    *Help with the construction of a water tank
    *Help with rebuilding a stone wall
    *Help with preparing the future permaculture garden area
    *Watering our new fruit trees and vines
    *Building a chicken coop
    ... and maybe you'll have ideas based on your interests and skills!

    In Calaceite:
    *We have about 200 olive trees and 30 almond trees and always need some hands to help us pruning / harvesting. Shelling almonds is also a nice task to do inside during the ridiculously hot Spanish afternoons :)
    *Clear the land after the storm Filomena damaged many trees
    *Cut and stack firewood for next winter
    *Help with the vegetable garden
    ...
    There is room for people with specific interest in permaculture or techniques for rejuvenating the land. We would be glad to hear your suggestions, and why not let you experiment your ideas!


    A TYPICAL SUMMER DAY:

    In summer we tend to get up around 7 to get some work done when it is still nice and cool. We eat something around 9 (everybody makes his/her own breakfast) and do some more work until about 14 when we stop for a long lunch break. You can then indulge in a Spanish siesta, go for a swim in the river, or shell some almonds if you are really bored :) We usually resume work between 18 and 20, depending on the weather and the activities of the day. Dinner is usually had around 20/20:30. We take turns to make food and do the dishes.

    We haven't yet experienced the summer on our new land; we may try to work a continuous day as the journey takes about 30 minutes. We are quite flexible with the working time. We do expect around 25h a week of helping plus some cooking and chores but will organise the week in concertation with our guests. It is important that you get enough time to chill out and discover the beautiful countryside of the Matarraña region.


    MORE ABOUT US :)

    *Paul is crazy about running and being outside. He is a problem solver, needs to keep busy and enjoys physical work. He is enthusiastic about all jobs that require lifting, sawing, digging, cutting, assembling, you name it! He is also a great (vegetarian) cook and makes tasty jams, breads and curries.
    *Hermine discovered permaculture while workawaying and enjoys growing food :) When not in the garden, she will be found playing with our 3 adorable cats, helping Paul with his latest project or cleaning around the house. Sometimes running too, or volunteering at the animal shelter of Alcaniz. She is fluent in French, English, German, and speaks good enough Spanish to communicate with the neighbours.
    *We are both vegetarian, almost vegan. We avoid dairy products and only eat eggs from chicken we or our friends own. You will not have any meat or fish served during your stay (but you are welcome to purchase and cook your own).


    WHO WE ARE LOOKING FOR:

    We are open to all profiles, no matter the age, race, background, language, gender, nationality, etc! We prefer hosting couples but it is not mandatory, we've also had brilliant single helpers :) You need to be motivated, enjoy being outside and working with your hands. We also expect you to be able to work autonomously. We like to give our workawayers interesting projects they could take the lead on.

    It would be a plus if you had experience in woodworking or building. Some electrics or plumbing skills are always welcome, as well as permaculture and gardening knowledge. We always love learning from our guests!
    Basic English is required.

    Having your own car would make your stay easier as it would give you autonomy. The public transport isn't great around here. Just know that the last 5km to get to the house are on a bumpy dirt track (so far all our guests have made it, even with small hire cars, but it isn't a very easy drive)

    HOW LONG?

    For an initial stay, we can host you for one to three weeks. If everything goes well and you'd like to stay a bit longer, we would be happy to discuss it.

    Feel free to ask us any question. Now that the restrictions have been lifted and we are allowed to welcome visitors, we will answer them quickly again!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are both open minded and eager to learn about other people's culture, way of life, language, cooking, experiences. You can use your stay to improve your English with Paul, wour French with Hermine, your Spanish with the locals. It is also a good introduction to what it means to live in the spanish countryside and to tend to a simple life off the grid.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    See above: help with olive and almond trees, stone building, woodworking projects, clearing out the land, preparing firewood, gardening, fruit picking, cooking, etc. We will always do our best to match your interests with the tasks we will ask you to help with.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The workawayers will have their own double bedroom (double bed, room to put your clothes and things, beautiful views) and have access to every part of the house. We provide the food and are happy to do the shopping, but we expect some help with cooking and cleaning.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you have or hire a car, you should know that the road to our house is bumpy. It is a dirt track with rocks and holes and not the easiest to drive (even though some of our guests recently made it driving a little Ford Ka)

    If you want to use public transport, we could collect you from the neighbouring towns of Alcaniz, Tortosa, Gandesa, or Mora la Nova.

    You will have one or two days of rest per week (depending on how you wish to organise your work). You could use this time to go hiking (lots of trails), go swimming (beautiful reservoir 15mins walk away, usually nobody there but us), discover the local towns and their delicacies (great wine, olive oil and pastries), explore the natural park of El Ports or simply chill out in our hamac under an olive tree!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have enough room for you to park a big camper van in front of the house, no problem at all. Alternatively you could park it at the campervan area at the entrance of the village and we would pick you up (our track isn't brilliant!)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We can only accept pets that are cat-friendly as we have three of them!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 363773711318