Almost 80 year old ex-pat artist, anthropologist, disabled USA veteran, social entrepreneur, living in İkitelli, in Küçükçemece, İstanbul, Turkey

Country

Turquía

515 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    966

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a single, Swiss-New York native. lived in north and south america, and in the middle east since 1986. [expat half my life]

    Fulbright Fellow in applied linguistics Turkey in the 1980s, taught in Turkey, in the Arab Gulf, in the Ministry of Higher Education of Oman - including setting up educational websites in the 1990s, and in Palestine in 2005.

    anthropologist, applied linguist, football photographer, writer, social entrepreneur, soccer/football official. haiku-haibun haijin. culture-language. [i got a slew of degrees, certificates, professional experience and a bit of unprofessional experience ;-) ]. I have at least 10 cases of photographs, negatives & slides [several times was exhibited by Akbank Galerisi as one of Turkey's top dozen photographers]. boxes of research. Fulbright Fellow. in the 90s developed award winning educational websites. not a famous anything but . many years were spent taking care of isolated disabled elderly, street children, homeless, refugees, parolees, lgtbq and domestic violence survivors, certificates in crisis intervention, experienced PTSD counseling [used to manage a PTSD self help peer group elist].

    77 years old, disabled [spinal disease: C-T-L-S; asthma, allergies, TBI, partial temporal lobe seizures]. living on my USA VA disability and a SS pittance. NOTE: a 100% USA VA disability is a disability, and it doesn't come easily. it means somebody's gotta help me sometimes]. help me make the next 77 years more interesting than the first 77.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Compañía para ancianos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is not a tourist district: it's a very ethnic neighborhood. Languages most spoken in the neighborhood are Turkish, Kurdish, Arabic, very rarely some English and an occasional German speaker, in a typical Istanbul industrial [proletariat] neighborhood that includes both a modern contemporary shopping center and a traditional weekly outdoor market [as well as an organic market on Sundays outside the shopping center] -

    the whole spectrum of contemporary urban Turkish life from the furthest left to the furthest right. from the most up to date to the least so, including refugees. - within reasonably easy and cheap public transportation to Istanbul's cultural centers by subway, metro, public bus, minibus, taxi, and tram. Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the walls of Rome, Mimar Sinan's masterwork, the Bosphorus, and contemporary culture

    photographically a treasure house of color and cultural diversity. local sports clubs [football]. if you want there is MacDonalds Burger King KFC Dominos Starbucks to be had, but mostly döner, lahmacun, köfte-kebab, etc. and even felafel now

    for 2 thousand years plus, Rome / Istanbul / Constantinople / Byzantium a been a crossroads of culture art and commerce. before the Common Era, centuries before Constantine, Küçükçekmece was an international port [ port excavations now discovering just how important this area always has been ].

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    #1, disabled physically: housework. I do my own cooking, shopping, laundry. dress and bathe myself. almost 100% of the time. there is a cat. who sometimes makes kittens. potted plants in the front yard. I live in a house with an adopted family upstairs, who help.

    Can you help me digitize & organize more than half a century of photography? help with new cyber information for a photographic artists?

    Organıze my fıles and records:?

    Clean up, help with the dishes, vacuuming, dusting, organizing 75 years of collected life, maybe help shopping, maybe hanging laundry to dry, watering the plants, if possible help with physical therapy. no chıldren to care for. lots of children playing outside.

    I am a 75 year old USA disabled vet living on disability compensation [low-income]: a USA VA disability rating of 100% is the real thing. it means you are seriously disabled, unable to work.

    my disability does not mean a life as a potted plant. does not mean i don't work. does not mean i'm looking to throw out everything of my life. it means i need help. --- so 77, with your help, is only the beginning, godwilling with your help.

    photographer, writer, educator, activist, living in a working class ethnic suburb of Istanbul. a very traditional working class ethnic neighborhoodö now wıth about 20% Syrian Arab/Kurd refugees ( Syrıan Kurd restaurants, barber shops, beauty salons, sweet shops..) i've never lived in any ex-pat quarters. in palestine, i lived in the village, not in the faculty building. even where i didn't speak the local language, i learned *️something*️ - if even for just a few days and weeks i was there, laz, gurcu, hemshin, kurdish, arabic, brazilian portuguese, bulgarian, serbian, bosnak, greek, in oman there are languages whose names i don't know, lawati, i'm no 'linguist' i forget faster than i learn it but people are family.

    we're located near a modern shopping center, a lot of public transportation, 10 minutes from Ataturk Airport by taxi, a few minutes from the Mall of Istanbul

    I am older, way over-educated, disabled and living on disability. I have a wide variety of photography and internet projects. I really need help putting my place in order, just like you might expect from any physically disabled nearly 80 year old

    maintaining records, cataloging my work (including photography, writing, recording, ethnic and performance documentation, political organizing.)

    I need help with housework. note 100% usa VA disability: that's all the money i got.

    I was an educator, involved in wide range of Internet projects, on-line teaching, political organizing and social networking, psychological support groups, scientific research, education web sites- since the 1990s in the middle east and turkey including some awards here and there. Fulbright Fellow. FIFA football. linguist. anthropologist. Interested in food and cuisine, hospitality (grew up in a hotel, have owned a B&B in Pamukkale, a restaurant on South Street, Philadelphia, helped manage a well publicized bakery in NYC that trains homeless as an NGO), hosting (BeWelcome, formerly involved in hosting volunteers, Hospitality, etc.): come and help me give back

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Turco: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    i am an applied linguist, language teacher trainer, linguistic anthropologist. my command of german has suffered over years of not speaking reading and writing, and arabic no longer exists at all in my life. nor yiddish nor russian nor chinese

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    two bedroom first floor railroad apartment, several single beds, and a couch, and turkish style futons. it's on a back street in a very ethnic [kurdish & syrian]neighborhood. there is hot water, a bathroom with a shower, WC a la turca, a washing machine, well stocked kitchen, stove, an old refrigerator, small electric oven, sandwhich toaster, juicer, charming neighbors, personal private library, wi-fi, computers, peripherals, good cook.

    no smoking no alcohol no drugs.

    nearby very modern up-to-date modern shopping centers, local traditional outdoor weekly street markets, nearby weekly outdoor organic food market, kids playing in the street, futbol, very traditional, very ethnic, family neighborhood. recently about 20% Syrian Arab/Kurd refugees with all kinds of new Syrian shops. StupidCat is a street cat who's adopted us.

    and in our neighborhood, football is an asset. non-binary friendly. LGTBQ friendly. prayer rugs for prayer. no shoes indoors. no western style plumbing. WC a la turca. the apartment needs some repairs ... the building is very neighborly, virtually family.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    we are non-binary, non-binary friendly -

    this is Istanbul Turkey: what can't you do, see, experience, learn... I really know a lot about Turkey and the Middle East, its hıstory culture languages polıtics religion, its architecture, its holy sites, tourist centers, famous personalities and histories of its cultural treasures, its mores, - academically and practically,- having graduated in anthropology from UofP and having been a Fulbright Fellow here, and having never lived anywhere near Americans or Western Europeans for the last 30 years.

    my experiences are unique, including doing Haj twice, Ummrah a half a dozen times, and having traveled by car from Muscat to İstanbul and back many times, and having been in most of Turkey except the far southwest. I did not travel ever to Yemen, or Lebanon (although I've had a lot of frıends from Hadramouth). Otherwise covered the area. Including teaching in Palestine.

    I am dual Swiss-New Yorker. I know local artists, activists, ordinary folk, scholars, (including some pretty famous Turkish personalities), etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    wi-fi available

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    street parking. paid parking

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum a couple of hours a day, a few days a week. no minimum.










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 359774661124