Cultural exchange and help with a fishing project on Mfangano Island, Lake Victoria, Kenya

Country

Kenia

actualizado  

44 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am Irene Kizia, 23 years old female living in Africa,Kenya,Mfangano Island.I am a student at Maseno University taking my degree programme on History studies and Kiswahili. Both my parents are alive and staying at our Rural home where they help orphans and the vulnerable in the community.I love hiking ,watching and reading wide on different historical books and documentaries.I love nature and the beuty it offers.i love singing and currently learning how to play a guitar.

    As a history student,i would like to learn new cultural practices and learn various languages across the world ,hence prompting me to be a host of various workaway tourists and also teach them English and Kiswahili as our main languages in Kenya.

    The main economic activity in Mfangano Island is fishing, i would gladly welcome the workawayers to also come and enjoy our fishing techniques.

    My place has got serene environment to be admired.It has got playing grounds for good exercise.The locals are friendly and very welcoming to visitors. Mfangano Island is located at Lake VICTORIA, Africa's largest fresh water lake.And offers very affordable means of living to both the locals and visitors.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Workawayers will enjoy the rich cultural heritage of the Abasuba and Luo communities of Kenya,by visiting archaeological sites,museums attending culturally organized events and also participate in the cultural exhibitions.

    The travelers can also get a view of wild animals in the nearby Maasai Mara National Park.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Apart from learning new cultural practices and languages,i have passion in helping the orphans, poor and vulnerable in the society .It is my desire to get Workawayers who also have passion and love working with the kids to show them compassion and love.
    Currently i have over 20 children within my care and fully depend on me. The children are amazing and fun to play with .

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Within the Island the visitors will be staying in our family guest house which can accommodate utpto 6 visitors.The guest house is a self contained room ,fully furnished and equipped with fully functional kitchen

    I will provide food for Workawayers except for special diets.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    during our free time, together with the helpers can go hiking in the mountains of the Island,relax in the warm beaches of Takawiri with white sands,visit caves and archeological sites.
    From the main Land to the Island the helpers will use FERRY to cross over and once within the island,the main mode of transportation is by road using motorcycles.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I am currently helping to create online learning materials for kids.Though it is very difficult because of limited network. however i would like to be taught how to create a website ,so that i can have one for my project

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we have a very large compound with good security for all the visistors

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    dogs and cats

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 359316229185