Cooking, gardening, helping and hiking in beautiful Boquete, Panama

  • Panamá
  • 849 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    Experience life in a small town in the mountains of Panama. Take a break from the fast-paced world and enjoy some peace and quiet surrounded by nature, go on hikes, read a book on a hammock, do yoga, and yes, help me out getting some things done on my ongoing projects.

    Hi, my name is Luis, I’m an environmentally conscious, nature-loving traveler from Panama and workaway host since 2016. I started hosting to learn more about vegan and vegetarian diets, but when I noticed how much I have in common with workawayers (slow travelers interested in unique experiences, learning, and expanding their worldviews), I kept it going with other things as well.

    Currently, the work exchange starts with cooking and helping keep the house clean, and from there it goes on to work in the garden, small building projects, sanding, painting, road repair, trail maintenance, and making furniture. No prior experience is required, as long as you enjoy cooking, love nature, and have the willingness to learn and try new things, you will be fine.

    The minimum stay is 2 weeks, and max. is 4 weeks. At the moment I can only host 1 person at a time, and I only host when it feels like a good fit for both. Therefore, it helps when your profile has a good description and pictures illustrating your interests. It is important that it feels right because staying here means living as housemates sharing all the common spaces, having meals together, and sometimes doing some activities together.

    If we manage to work something out, I will do my best for you to have a positive experience here. I’m usually available for casual interactions, answering your questions, language practice, and even profound conversations. I love to hike and I'll be happy to show you around and share some of the coffee produced locally, which is of the highest quality and quite amazing.

    Typical workdays start with breakfast around 7, work at 8 for 4 hrs, cooking at 12, and lunch at 1. The cooking is usually only for 2 or 3 people once a day and you are free to cook what you prefer based on the fresh ingredients available at the farmer’s market. Afternoons and weekends are open.

    The center of town is 30 minutes away walking from the house and there is a 200-meter elevation change, which is great for being removed from the sounds of town and being able to breathe the fresh air of the mountains, but not ideal for those who want to be in town all the time or go out at night. Being a mountain town, even going to the neighborhood grocery store requires a hike. Being in good physical conditions and enjoying hiking is highly recommended.

    I don’t plan too far in advance, so it’s usually best to get in touch no longer than a month in advance of your preferred date of arrival.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Interact with a local, learn about Panama's culture, nature, food and coffee.

  • Ayuda


    - Cooking vegan or vegetarian
    - Gardening and light trail maintenance.
    - Grocery shopping.
    - General home maintenance.
    - Keeping the main house clean.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You get your own room with private bathroom. Ingredients for meals included.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Boquete is one of the top adventure travel destinations in Central America. Temperature is like AC year-round, perfect for hiking in the lush green fairy tale looking cloudforest. There are also small farms everywhere producing high quality coffee.

    Most travelers will find it easy to get to Boquete. And once here the town is small and easy to figure out. One important thing to point out is that being a mountain town, there are lots of hills so walking on flat terrain is rare. If you are in good shape and enjoy hiking, you will love it here, if not, then this might not be the right place for you.

    There are stores to buy essentials close to the house, otherwise the town center is 30-40 minutes walking with supermarkets, internet cafes, public library, and farmer market where you can find a great variety of fresh fruits and vegetables.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hrs/week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 357992131844

Comentarios (19)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help develop our farm into a private protected area in Veraguas, Panama
Lovely hostel looking for creative helpers in the center of El Valle de Anton, Panama