Looking for artists, carpenters, interior designers and beautiful humans to create something special on the beach in Sardinia, Italy

Country

Italia

2919 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    71  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    433

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    68.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Fancy doing some manual tasks, creating art and a sense of community, loving on my amazing pets and making memories and friendships to last a lifetime all right on the Mediterranean sea? This is the place for you!

    I'm Sarena, a 42 year old Brit following my dream of living in the Med, refurbing stunning properties. Right now I'm renovating villa number two, on the beach (the Mediterranean sea is right at the end of the garden) near Pula in South Sardinia. I'm having the renovation work done by a construction team but need help creating super stylish interiors

    I'm looking for artists, creative souls and people with carpentry skills to help create beautiful, unique pieces of art, furniture and decor, to upcycle and restore antiques and flea market vintage finds.

    WHO I WOULD LOVE TO HOST
    Artists, qualified or experienced DIYers, plasterers, builders, carpenters or other trades are so welcome and an interior designer would obviously be my absolute ideal. I've also had amazing experiences hosting spiritual coaches and working on myself with them so if that's your thing, I'd love to have you here.

    Some of my best Workawayers in the past have been the "if I don't know how to do it, find an online tutorial and have a go" types. Some of the tasks will be messy, some will be creative, some will be mind numbingly boring but there will always be a cup of tea/glass of wine ready (whichever you prefer) and the right kind of people for this place are the ones who have fun whatever we have going on.

    I prefer a slightly older group so only accept volunteers aged 30 and older. I know there's loads of wonderful, very mature younger folk out there but for me personally I find I have more fun and get more out of exchanges with people with a little more life experience under their belt.

    I've been hosting since 2015 and used to host groups of 8 people at a time. Nowadays life is more sedate and I'm looking to host 1-3 people max.

    The help is only part of Workaway for me. We'll be living and socialising together so if you're not up for laughs, hugs, in jokes and a lot of wine, read no further. This is not the place for you. I'm into yoga, hiking, healthy food, personal development, all the music, kitchen dance parties and would love to host people with similar interests. Happy optimists with a can do, solution based attitude and wicked sense of humor only please.

    I give preference to people looking to stay for longer periods (1 month +)

    THE HELP
    I ask for the standard 25 hours a week

    I'm totally flexible on the hours you do. Volunteer for longer hours some days to have more days off to go and explore the island, volunteer a couple of hours in the morning and a couple in the evening... however you want to do it is just fine with me. I don't count hours and leave it up to you guys to manage your time

    I would definitely prefer independent folk who are happy to do their own thing in their downtime rather than needing me to be a tour guide. In the evenings though I love to have a glass of wine (or two or three), chat and laugh over dinner, hold impromptu kitchen dance parties and play silly games.

    I honestly don't care about your nationality, race, sexual preferences or religion. All are welcome. I do however have an issue with racism, homophobia and intolerance and if you're a vehement anti-vaxer, flat earther or conspiracy theorist we're not going to see eye to eye


    THE ACCOMMODATION AND FOOD
    I have two adorable 10 year old Devon Rex cats Bowie and Blue. Booze the 7 year old Pointer/Setter cross and Baloo the 5 year old spaniel cross as well as Crawford, a 14 year old spaniel I recently rescued from a pound who's still traumatised after 11 years in a cement box. All of them are just about the sweetest, most affectionate souls you will ever meet and are ALWAYS looking for a cuddle or a game of ball so you really do need to be an animal lover to stay here. Seven ex-battery chickens also became part of the family in April 2018 and supply us with fresh eggs every day.

    I eat the same food as my workawayers so I make sure it's tasty and nutritious and mostly vegetarian. Cheap wine is included and abundant. Life is too short to worry about where your next glass of wine is coming from! Beer and other alcohol isn't provided for free but you're more than welcome to buy your own. Breakfast is DIY but I provide cereal, bread, jams, eggs, yoghurt etc. I like to try and get everyone eating together round the table for lunch and dinner though. I provide big portions at meal times and tea and biscuit breaks but other snacks are not included.

    I generally cook unless someone else fancies doing it but I love, love, love it when somebody else is happy to take over kitchen duties. Maid service is not included though, and I do expect everyone to do their bit in keeping the communal areas (kitchen, living room, bathrooms) clean and nice and to tidy up their workspace/equipment at the end of the day. I'm your host and friend, not your mother.

    You will have your own room unless you want to share and we'll be living in a big rented villa just 100m away from the villa I'm renovating, right on the beach.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I get several requests a week from people who are doing workaway just to declare residency in the villa and obtain Italian citizenship. I don't reply to those requests so if that's your reason for applying, please don't bother. I'm not down for all the legal and burocratic complications and implications of registering total strangers as legal residents in my home

    I also won't respond to the many people who try to cheat the system and contact me outside of workaway to save the subscription cost. Workaway is a brilliant platform that has brought so many amazing people and experiences into my life. They deserve the subscription fee, so please don't bother spamming my website, email and Facebook with your requests. Contact me through workaway or not at all.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'd have a room to yourself and a bathroom shared with me and other Workawayers in a big, cosy house

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    THE LOCAL AREA
    The local beach is at the end of the garden and the local marina, bar and pizzeria are less than 10 minutes away on foot. As most of my Workawayers don't have a lot of cash, we tend to stay in and socialise here... Although that can get quite wild sometimes :). During the spring, summer and autumn we spend a LOT of time at my friend Bobo's beach bar a 5 minute walk away. He organises regular, delicious lunches and dinners which are always fun and a good chance to meet the locals and tourists. He also does party nights if you fancy a dance and organises loads of well priced outings on the boat checking out stunning beaches and generally getting pretty drunk on the way.

    The cute town of Pula is within easy reach by car or bike. The famous beaches of Nora, Santa Margherita and Chia are easily reached by car. There's kayak hire within walking distance of the villa and the area is great for walking, mountain biking and horse riding. I've also got bicycles so you can be a little more independent and explore alone if you want.

    Nightlife isn't exactly buzzing in the village. Think more dinners with friends, long walks, swimming in the sea, mushroom hunting, wild asparagus foraging and bike rides. Cagliari is within easy reach by bus though if you're in need of a proper night out at any point.

    GETTING HERE
    Sardinia has 3 main airports. Alghero and Olbia are 3.5 hours away, Cagliari just 40 minutes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Must get on with dogs, cats and not chase the chickens

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)














































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 357781588319